Contact: Debra Walker, Director of Public and Legislative Affairs, 573-751-1647 or


DMH Children’s Chief Medical Director receives American Psychiatric Association Recognition

Dr. Laine Young-Walker to be honored as Distinguished Fellow

[May 2, 2018, Jefferson City, MO] — The Department of Mental Health (DMH) is pleased to announce Laine Young-Walker, MD, Chief Medical Director for Children’s Services, will receive the Distinguished Fellow honor during the American Psychiatric Association (APA) Annual Meeting in New York City, NY, May 5-9, 2018.  She was nominated for her excellent work in the field of psychiatry by fellow members and the Board of Trustees for the Missouri Psychiatric Physicians Association, a District Branch of the APA.

The Distinguished Fellowship is awarded to outstanding psychiatrists who have made significant contributions to the psychiatric profession in at least five of the following areas: administration, teaching, scientific and scholarly publications, volunteering in mental health and medical activities of social significance, community involvement, as well as clinical excellence.

Distinguished Fellow is the highest membership honor the APA bestows upon members.

  • Fellow status is an honor that reflects dedication to the work of the APA and signifies allegiance to the psychiatric profession.
  • The individual must be a current APA General Member or Life Member in good standing.
  • Have Certification by the American Board of Psychiatry and Neurology, the Royal College of Physicians and Surgeons of Canada, or the American Osteopathic Association.
In addition to her position at DMH, Young-Walker serves as Associate Dean for Student Programs at School of Medicine and is the Division Chief of Child and Adolescent Psychiatry in the Department of Psychiatry at the University of Missouri-Columbia.

She has received numerous awards and recognitions throughout her career in psychiatry including most recently the Lifetime Achievement in Child and Adolescent Psychiatry from the UMC Child Psychiatry Alumni and its partners.  She was also awarded a $3 million grant from the Missouri Foundation for Health for a three-year pilot program that connects primary care physicians with on-call child psychiatrists for consultation regarding the use of medications for mild to moderate mental illness in children and adolescents they see in their practices.  The first year of the pilot program will focus on the St. Louis area and then expand to Mid-Missouri in years two and three.




Missouri Department of Mental Health Notification of HIPAA Disclosure

[February 16, 2018, JEFFERSON CITY, MO]—The Missouri Department of Mental Health is in the process of notifying 1,000 individuals that their personal information may have been mailed to an incorrect address by the Department.  The disclosure was caused by a clerical error in printing mailing labels.

The type of information released only included participant name.  No medical or financial information was released as a result of the inadvertent mailing.

The clerical error impacted the mailing labels on survey questionnaires mailed on January 16, 2018.   The Department has since identified and corrected the error.

In compliance with federal and state privacy laws, the Department has sent written notices to individuals affected by the mailing.  Individuals who receive a notification from the Department may email or call toll-free 1-800-207-9329 to address any concerns.



Missouri chosen for Employment First State Leadership Mentoring Program

Vision Quest and CORE members selected to impact system changes

[January 19, 2018, JEFFERSON CITY, MO] –Missouri was recently selected as one of 18 states to participate in the Employment First State Leadership Mentoring Program (EFSLMP) for FY 2018.  The national Office of Disability Employment Policy (ODEP) selected Core and Vision Quest states to receive intensive onsite and virtual technical assistance to further their efforts to increase competitive, integrated employment outcomes for all individuals with disabilities.

Selected as a Vision Quest state, representatives from DMH, other state departments and veterans’ facilities will engage in a series of small working groups, consisting of three to four states per team, to focus on analyzing, developing and implementing policy recommendations related to Employment First systems-change efforts for veterans with disabilities.  As a CORE state, department representatives will work with national experts to develop techniques for staff to improve employment opportunities for individuals with significant disabilities.  The workgroups began their efforts in December 2017.

Missouri’s teams consist of staff members from DMH Divisions of Behavioral Health and Developmental Disabilities, Department of Social Services – MoHealthNet Division and Rehabilitation Services for the Blind, Department of Elementary and Secondary Education – Vocational Rehabilitation, and Department of Economic Development – Workforce Development.  The Harry S. Truman VA Hospital and the VA St. Louis Health Care System are also represented on the Vision Quest group.

The ODEP chose the following 18 states: 

Vision Quest States: Missouri (Mental Health and Employment); Georgia (Mental Health and Employment); Illinois (Mental Health and Employment); Louisiana(Workforce Innovation and Opportunity Act [WIOA] Implementation); Michigan (WIOA Implementation); Ohio (WIOA Implementation); Tennessee (Mental Health and Employment); and Utah (WIOA Implementation).  

Core States: Missouri (Capacity Building); Arkansas (Employer Engagement); District of Columbia (Capacity Building); Iowa (Capacity Building); Maryland (Capacity Building and Provider Transformation); Michigan (Capacity Building); Ohio (Capacity Building and Provider Transformation); Pennsylvania (Employer Engagement and Provider Transformation); Tennessee (Employer Engagement and Provider Transformation); and Utah (Capacity Building and Provider Transformation).