SATOP Help Desk
Individuals seeking information regarding SATOP requirements and completion status may call or email the SATOP Help Desk at (573) 522-4020 or firstname.lastname@example.org. Email inquires will be responded to within 24 hours.
*Due to COVID-19 the SATOP Help Desk will be open Monday to Friday, 8:00 am to 12:00 PM and to 1:00 PM to 4:30 PM.*
What is SATOP?
The Substance Awareness Traffic Offender Program (SATOP) serves more than 16,000 individuals annually who are required to complete the program as a result of an administrative suspension or revocation of one’s driver license due to a Driving While Intoxicated (DWI) or Driving Under the Influence (DUI) offense, court order, condition of probation, or plea bargain. SATOP is also required of individuals charged with minor in possession and zero tolerance offenses.
The Department of Mental Health (DMH), Division of Behavioral Health (DBH) certifies and provides compliance monitoring on all SATOP agencies in Missouri. The objective of SATOP is to reduce the number of repeat DWI offenses by individuals who complete a state-certified DWI program; and to provide individuals an opportunity to address alcohol and substance use.
DWI/DUI classes offered via the internet DO NOT meet Missouri's SATOP requirements.
More information: SATOP service levels and fees
The Division of Behavioral Health is not issuing new contracts to provide SATOP services at this time.
- Missouri Residents
1. Find a SATOP assessment agency in your county by clicking here.*
2. Contact the agency to schedule and complete a SATOP assessment:
- Pay a $126 assessment fee at the time of the SATOP assessment
- Pay a $249 supplemental fee at the time of your assessment (required by Missouri statute 302.540, RSMo.)
3. Complete the education/treatment program recommended by the SATOP assessment. The education/treatment program must be completed within six months of the assessment. Find a SATOP education/treatment agency in your county by clicking here.
For a guide to SATOP Completion requirements click here.
NOTE TO MISSOURI RESIDENTS: If you have successfully completed a treatment program, the program may meet the requirements of SATOP. Program requirements are outlined on page two of the SATOP Comparable Program Completion Form. Find the SATOP Comparable Program Completion Form by clicking here.
- Out of State Residents
Missouri requires the completion of a comparable SATOP program in the state you currently reside.
1. Print the SATOP Comparable Program Completion Form by clicking here.*
2. Find a state-certified DWI agency in your state by clicking here.
3. Contact an agency to schedule and complete an alcohol and substance use assessment.
- Assessment fees may vary by agency.
- Assessment information must be completed in Section II A of the SATOP Comparable Program Completion Form by the providing agency.
4. Complete the education/treatment program recommended by the alcohol and substance use assessment. The education/treatment program must be completed within six months of the assessment.
- Education/treatment program fees may vary by agency.
- Education/treatment program information must be completed in Section II A, III, and IV of the SATOP Comparable Program Completion Form by the providing agency.
- Regardless of the assessment recommendation, Missouri requires a minimum of ten hours of alcohol and substance use education.
5. Mail a completed SATOP Comparable Program Completion Form and $249 supplemental fee to Missouri Department of Mental Health, Controller's Office, SATOP, PO Box 596, Jefferson City, MO 65102-0596.
- Supplemental Fee must be paid in the form of a signed money order payable to the Mental Health Earnings Fund. Required by Missouri Statute 302.540, RSMo. For more information regarding Missouri statutes click here.
For a guide to SATOP Completion requirements click here.
*You may call the Division of Behavioral Health at 573-522-4020 to request a paper copy of the SATOP Comparable Program Completion Form to be mailed to you.
- Program Description and Fees
SATOP Service Levels
Assessment Screening Process Offender Management Unit (OMU): Missouri law requires all persons arrested for an alcohol- or drug-related traffic offense to complete an assessment screening at an OMU. The result of this evaluation determines the appropriate level of placement for each consumer.
Offender Education Program (OEP - Level I)
A 10-hour education course designed for lower risk consumers in understanding the choices they made that led to their intoxication and arrest. The service level fee is $200.00.*
Adolescent Diversion Education Program (ADEP - Level I)
A 10-hour education course for minors who may have received Abuse and Lose, Minor in Possession, or Zero Tolerance offenses. The service level fee is $200.00.*
Weekend Intervention Program (WIP - Level II)
A 20-hour level of service designed for repeat or high risk consumers using intensive education and counseling intervention methods over a weekend of structured activities. This program is conducted in a restrictive environment. The service level fee is $474.46, plus $6.70 for materials.*
Clinical Intervention Program (CIP - Level III)
A 50-hour outpatient counseling program consisting of individual counseling, group counseling, and group education. Ten hours must address impaired driving issues. The service level fee is $1083.43.*
Serious and Repeat Offender Program (SROP - Level IV)
An outpatient program consisting of at least 75 hours of treatment in no less than 90 days. Services must include a minimum of 35 hours of individual and/or group counseling. Successful completion of the treatment is left to the discretion of the program’s clinical staff based on the specific needs of the consumer. The service level fee is $1522.50 - fee may vary based on services provided.
Traditional Treatment (Level IV)
Consumers presenting for SATOP services having multiple alcohol- or drug-related traffic offenses, or those at a high risk to reoffend, may receive a recommendation for more traditional substance abuse treatment. This treatment may be in the form of a residential or outpatient program but must be completed at a state-certified or nationally accredited substance abuse treatment provider. The service level fee may vary based on services provided. For more information regarding substance use treatment please visit DBH Treatment Services.
For more information about these types of programs, you may contact any Division of Behavioral Health District Office or search the Provider Directory of Adult Substance Use Treatment Programs or Provider Directory of Adolescent Substance Use Treatment Programs or Treatment Facility Locator.
Financial assistance may be available for consumers enrolled in the WIP, CIP, and SROP or other state contracted treatment program.
*All fees are subject to change
- Frequently Asked Questions
I got a DWI, how do I get my license back?
In order to have your driving privileges reinstated, you must complete SATOP. SATOP consists of an assessment and completion of a program. After successful completion of the recommended program, a completion form will be sent to the Department of Revenue. In addition to the SATOP completion certificate, the Department of Revenue has additional requirements. Please contact Revenue at (573) 526-2407.
Where do I go to do SATOP?
SATOP programs can be completed at any state certified SATOP agency. A listing of SATOP agencies by county can be found at: UNDER CONSTRUCTION
What is the supplemental fee?
The supplemental fee is required by state statute (Chapter 302, Section 302.540) for individuals required to complete SATOP. The fee is deposited into the Mental Health Earnings Fund and is used to provide financial assistance based on a Standards Means Test for eligible participants in the program.
I completed a program a couple of years ago and now the business is gone. What can I do?
You are encouraged to contact the Division of Behavioral Health (DBH) at (573) 522-4020 to request a record search of their database for completion information. It is the responsibility of the individual to keep copies of all receipts and completion paperwork one receives from an agency.
I received a recommendation to do a program, but can’t/don’t believe that I really have a problem. What are my options?
Option 1: You may obtain a second opinion by completing another assessment at a different SATOP agency as long as the individual did not start their SATOP program. Another assessment fee is required at $126. A second opinion recommendation is final. There is only one supplemental fee required per offense.
Option 2: A person can file for a judicial review in an associate circuit court in the county where the assessment was completed. The judge will make a decision on whether or not to change an offender’s program placement.
I’m a resident of another state, but got a DWI while in Missouri. Do I have to come back to complete the program in Missouri?
No. In order to complete SATOP, one must receive an assessment at a state certified or nationally accredited agency and complete the recommended program. The individual must complete a Comparable Program Form and submit to central office with the supplemental fee of $249. The minimum acceptable program is 10 hours of drug and alcohol education, but is based on the assessment.
I’ve moved to a different state since my offense. How can I meet SATOP requirements?
In order to complete SATOP, one must receive an assessment at a state certified or nationally accredited agency and complete the recommended program. The individual must complete a Comparable Program Completion Form, which can be accessed at: UNDER CONSTRUCTION and submit the completed form to central office with the supplemental fee of $249. The minimum acceptable program is 10 hours of drug and alcohol education.
I live in Missouri and completed a substance use treatment program. Will this meet SATOP requirements?
If the program was either a state certified or a nationally accredited substance use treatment program and you met the following requirements:
- Minimum of 120 hours of treatment services
- Minimum of 40 hours of group and/or individual counseling
- The agency completed Sections II, II, and IV of the Comparable Program Completion Form
- Submitted supplemental fee
My DWI was dismissed (or I was found not guilty) in court. Why do I still need to do SATOP?
Even though a case may be dismissed in court, there may still be administrative action taken by the Department of Revenue.
DMH Certification Standards:
- Fact Sheets
- Myths about Alcohol
- CDC National Impaired Driving Fact Sheet
- National Institute on Alcohol Abuse & Alcoholism
- National Institute on Drug Abuse