Mental Health Commission

The Mental Health Commission, composed of seven members, appoints the director of the Department of Mental Health with confirmation by the state Senate. Commissioners are appointed to four-year terms by the Governor, again with the confirmation of the Senate. The commissioners serve as principle policy advisors to the department director.

The Commission, by law, must include an advocate of community mental health services, a physician who is an expert in the treatment of mental illness, a physician concerned with developmental disabilities, a member with business expertise, an advocate of substance abuse treatment, a citizen who represents the interests of consumers of psychiatric services, and a citizen who represents the interests of consumers of developmental disabilities services. E-mail the Commissioners at

Photo of Mina Charepoo

Mina Charepoo is a board certified practicing psychiatrist at the Washington University School of Medicine.  After completing medical school at Drexel School of Medicine in Philadelphia, she moved to St. Louis, Missouri where she was accepted to Washington University's Department of Psychiatry's residency program.  Dr. Charepoo has been practicing adult psychiatry since 2003.  She lives in St. Louis with her husband and their three children.

Photo of Teresa Coyan

Teresa Coyan attended Missouri State University, where she received her undergraduate degree in 2005 in Business Management with an emphasis in Entrepreneurship.  In 2010, Teresa received her MBA through Webster University. She started working at CoxHealth in 2008 and has had several roles over the years with the organization. She is currently the Vice President of Public Affairs where she serves as the liaison between CoxHealth and local, state and federal legislators, business leaders, and the community. Teresa is also active in a variety of community organizations including the Governmental Relations Committee for the Springfield Area Chamber of Commerce, where she is a former chair; the Foundation for Springfield Public Schools, and Discovery Center Springfield. She was part of the Leadership Springfield - Class 27 and was previously a member of the Board of Public Utilities. Teresa is married to Justin Coyan and they have two children, Connor and Kinley.

Photo of Brian Neuner

Brian Neuner is a journalist by degree and served as Sports Director at KOMU-TV for 11 years. He then was drawn into the Columbia, MO, community to serve as the UMB Bank Vice President and President for eight years. Brian continued to diversify his skills and spent time as a Business Development and Public Relations Director until landing in his current position as Chief Development and Marketing Officer for Special Olympics Missouri. With his volunteer time he is committed to improving health care in Mid-Missouri. Brian served on the board of Children’s Hospital in Columbia, the Dean’s Advisory Board at the University of Missouri Sinclair School of Nursing, and served as an officer, including chair, for the Boone Hospital Center Board of Trustees. Brian is married to his wife of 30 years, who is a pediatric nurse, and they have two daughters. His first introduction to mental health was through his mother-in-law who was an administrator at Fulton State Mental Hospital for more than 25 years. Brian has also been involved in programs like the Thompson Center for Autism and Step-up for Downs Syndrome. His combined professional and personal experience drives him to be an active voice and advocate for Missourians with mental illness and intellectual and developmental disabilities.

Dennis Tesreau, Mental Health Commission

Dennis Tesreau is an attorney with the firm of Wegmann, Stewart, Tesreau, Sherman, Eden & Mikale, P.C. at Hillsboro, Missouri. Dennis has extensive experience in Municipal Law, including City Attorney for the City of Herculaneum and former Prosecuting Attorney for the City of Herculaneum and City of Hillsboro. He currently serves as Director of the Community Advisory Committee with the Missouri Foundation for Health, is former Director of Community Mental Health Board of Jefferson County, former Board Member of the Children’s Learning and Rehabilitation Center, and former President of Jefferson County Bar Association.

Photo of Lynn Unnerstall

Lynne Unnerstall is a retired inventory control analyst. She is married and the mother of two sons. In 1996, her younger son was hit by a drunk driver at the age of 18 and sustained a traumatic brain injury. In order to learn what options were available for her son, Lynne became involved with the Missouri Brain Injury Association and served on the board for nine years, including two years as President. She has also served as President of the Friends Foundation which helps fund requests from various service providers of persons with developmental disabilities to help enhance their lives. She currently serves on the Board of Advocates for Community Choice (ACC), including three years as President. ACC promotes the choice of options in both living location and type of employment. Lynne is interested in local, state, and federal policies and budgets that affect those with developmental disabilities.