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INTRODUCTION 
 Purpose of the Housing Manual 
 DMH Housing Mission 
 Shelter Plus Care* 
 Rental Assistance Program* 
 Veteran Programs* 
 Policies and Objectives* 
 Federal Laws and Policies*  
 Access to Information* 
 DMH Housing Staff Contact Information* 
 Return to Table of Contents 

Purpose of the Housing Manual 
This Manual establishes policies and procedures not found in federal or state regulations for 
the Missouri Department of Mental Health’s (DMH) Shelter Plus Care (SPC) programs and 
Rental Assistance Program (RAP).  Our aim is to provide standard concepts, definitions and 
procedures to enable efficient program administration and standardized collection of 
performance data. The policies are the same for both programs unless otherwise noted. 

When the Manual does not otherwise explain an issue, DMH Housing follows the 
appropriate provisions of the McKinney-Vento Act, as amended by the HEARTH Act, and 
the Code of Federal Regulations.  This Manual is subject to change depending on changes in 
funding contracts as well as changes in federal laws and regulations. 

Where DMH receives funding to operate a specific government-funded housing program 
that has its own regulations and manual, those materials will govern the operation of that 
particular program and override any conflicting provisions in this Manual. 

DMH Housing Mission 
DMH is dedicated to combating the stigmas associated with mental illness, developmental 
disabilities, and substance abuse disorders.  The mission of the DMH Housing Unit is to 
assist Missourians challenged by mental illnesses, substance abuse and developmental 
disabilities in obtaining and maintaining safe, decent, and affordable housing that meets their 
individual and family needs. The DMH Housing Unit believes that housing is a key to 
helping Missourians with disabilities and their families attain self-determination, self-
sufficiency and re-integration into the community. 

Shelter Plus Care* 
DMH Housing has been involved in providing affordable housing for persons with 
disabilities since 1994.  In that year, DMH received three grants in a new program called 
Shelter Plus Care from the U.S. Department of Housing and Urban Development (HUD).  
DMH’s first few Shelter Plus Care (SPC) programs provided rental assistance to homeless 
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individuals and families in St. Louis and Kansas City.  Since 1999, DMH has greatly 
expanded the scope of its SPC programs, which in 2015 consisted of 43 grants serving 
counties where 70 percent of Missouri’s citizens live. 

Prior to 2012, Shelter Plus Care was the name HUD gave to one specific funding source 
established by the McKinney-Vento Homeless Assistance Act of 1987 and associated 
regulations.  As of July 2012, under the HEARTH Act and its regulations, Shelter Plus Care 
ceased to exist by that name and became part of a larger single source of funds called the 
Continuum of Care (CoC) Program. “Shelter Plus Care” continues to be DMH’s name for its 
43 permanent housing programs funded under HUD’s CoC Program. 

Below is a list of DMH’s SPC grants and areas served as of August 1, 2015.   

Shelter Plus Care 
Grant Area Processing Center/Grant Code 

Rental 
Units 

Budgeted 

Grant Amount 
(as of 

7/1/2015) 
St. Louis Region 

St. Louis County Queen of Peace Center (SZE)—Families 12 $634,320 
St. Louis County Queen of Peace Center (SZL)—Families 9 $477,240 
St. Louis County Places for People (SZA)—Chronic only 14 $113,429 
St. Louis County Places for People (SZF)—Chronic only 8 $289,260 
St. Louis County St. Patrick Center (SZN)—Veterans, Chronic only 7 $268,380 
St. Louis County Queen of Peace (SZQ) 20 $931,200 
St. Louis City  St. Patrick Center (SCY) 39 $412,364 
St. Louis City Queen of Peace Center (SCS)—Sponsor-based 77 $734,409 
St. Louis City Queen of Peace Center (SCL) 146 $1,611,211 
St. Louis City  St. Patrick Center (SCQ)—Chronic only 70 $558,245 
St. Louis City St. Patrick Center (SZB)—Chronic only 43 $1,050,840 
St. Louis City Queen of Peace Center (SZC)—Families  23 $194,603 
St. Louis City Places for People (SZP)—Sponsor-based 9 $372,240 
St. Louis City Queen of Peace (SZS)—Chronic only 35 $968,643 
Regional Total 512 $8,616,384 

Kansas City Region 
Jackson County SAVE, Inc. (SCV) 50 $587,394 
Jackson County SAVE, Inc. (SCE) 100 $1,116,294 
Jackson County SAVE, Inc. (SCK) 162 $1,866,747 
Jackson County SAVE, Inc. (SCM) 25 $286,565 
Jackson County SAVE, Inc. (SCI) 26 $289,631 
Jackson County SAVE, Inc. (SCD)—Chronic only 15 $131,623 
Jackson County SAVE, Inc. (SZD)—Chronic only 10 $86,973 
Jackson County SAVE, Inc. (SZG)—Chronic only 12 $511,560 
Jackson County Kim Wilson Housing (SCO) 9 $89,002 
Jackson County Kim Wilson Housing (SCZ)—Chronic only 35 $320,560 
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Shelter Plus Care 
Grant Area Processing Center/Grant Code 

Rental 
Units 

Budgeted 

Grant Amount 
(as of 

7/1/2015) 
Jackson County Kim Wilson Housing (SCX)—Chronic only 21 $190,526 
Regional Total 465 $5,476,875 

Other Cities and Rural Areas 
Bootheel Area Delta Area Economic Opportunity Corporation (SCB) 17 $126,361 
Branson Area Ozark Area Community Action Corporation (SCT) 17 $135,502 
Central Missouri 
Area Central Missouri Community Action Agency (SZM) 11 $358,260 

Farmington Area  Eastern Missouri Action Agency (SCF) 21 $161,773 

Hannibal  Area Vandalia Housing Authority (SCH) 22 $161,831 
Jefferson/Franklin 
Counties COMTREA (SZH) 9 $402,660 

Joplin Area  Economic Security Corporation (SCN) 24 $193,913 
Joplin Area Economic Security Corporation (SZJ)—Chronic only 1 $28,140 
Kirksville Area  Housing Authority of the City of Kirksville (SCA) 14 $107,361 
Kirksville Area Preferred Family Healthcare (SZR)—Sponsor-based 12 $340,800 

Nevada Area Pathways Behavioral Health (SZK) 7 $212,880 
Outer KC Metro 
Area Kim Wilson Housing (SZI) 9 $442,080 

Poplar Bluff Area Ozark Foothills Regional Planning Commission (SCP) 23 $159,392 
Rolla Area Missouri Ozarks Community Action, Inc. (SCR) 18 $132,814 
Springfield Area Ozark Area Community Action Corporation (SCG) 17 $140,729 
St. Joseph Area  Kim Wilson Housing (SCJ) 30 $249,098 

West Central Area Missouri Valley Community Action Agency (SZO) 10 $327,420 
West Plains Area Ozark Action, Inc. (SCW) 17 $123,324 
Regional Total 279 $3,804,338 

TOTALS 

43 grants  1256 
households $17,897,597 

The map below shows the counties in Missouri served by DMH’s SPC programs.  
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Return to Top of Introduction 

Rental Assistance Program* 
DMH received funds from the Missouri Housing Trust Fund (MHTF) in 1996 to provide 
long-term rental assistance to persons with mental illness, substance abuse disorders and 
developmental disabilities.  That funding ended in 2002 and DMH has since used its own 
funds to operate what is now called the Rental Assistance Program (RAP). RAP is a 
transitional rental subsidy program limited to two years of assistance and designed to assist 
people who are served by the Department of Mental Health who are experiencing a housing 
crisis to transition to permanent housing.  The map below shows the counties served by 
DMH’s RAP program. 

In 2013, DMH Housing began using RAP funds to also pay one-time assistance in order 
prevent homelessness and eviction.   
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Veteran Programs* 
DMH Housing has two programs specifically designed to provide supportive housing for 
homeless veterans: 

• Shelter Plus Care.  DMH Housing has one Shelter Plus Care grant that is limited to 
chronically homeless veterans located in St. Louis County.  Applicants must be 
considered chronically homeless per HUD’s definition, and be disabled per HUD’s 
definition (see Chapter 2, “Eligibility for Shelter Plus Care”).  Most Applicants 
typically apply through a St. Louis VA facility, but some have applied through 
other mental health services agencies in the St. Louis area such as Places for People.  
The grant began operation in 2012. 

• VA Grant and Per Diem Program. DMH has partnered with St. Patrick Center of 
St. Louis in its Project HERO since 2009.  HERO stands for Housing, Employment, 
Recovery, and Opportunities, and through DMH’s VA Per Diem grant, provides 
transitional rental assistance for up to 50 resident male veterans who have been 
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homeless and have serious mental illness, substance abuse disorders, or a dual 
diagnosis of these. The two-year program also provides intensive case 
management that includes financial and employment counseling. Project HERO is 
located in a beautifully restored building at 4011 Delmar in St. Louis.  Complete 
information about Project HERO is available at: 

http://www.stpatrickcenter.org/our-programs/project-hero/ 

Information about the Department of Veterans Affairs Grant and Per Diem 
Program is available at: 

http://www.va.gov/homeless/GPD.asp 

Policies and Objectives* 
DMH Housing shall comply with the personnel policies of DMH and of the State of Missouri. 
All housing assistance programs administered by DMH Housing shall comply with 
applicable federal, state and local laws, rules and regulations. 

DMH Housing fully complies with federal, state and local nondiscrimination laws and 
operates in accordance with the rules and regulations governing fair housing and equal 
opportunity in housing and employment. 

Specifically, DMH Housing shall not deny any family or individual the opportunity to apply 
for or receive assistance under DMH’s housing assistance programs because of race, color, 
gender, gender identity, sexual orientation, religion, creed, national or ethnic origin, age, 
family or marital status, disability, or source of legal income. 

To further DMH’s commitment to full compliance with applicable civil right laws, DMH 
Housing will provide federal, state and, where practical, local information to all Participants 
regarding housing discrimination and any recourse available to them if they feel they have 
been the victim of discrimination in housing.  Such information will be made available as 
part of the information packet each program Participant receives at their initial program 
intake meeting. 

Information about state landlord-tenant law is available in a publication from the Missouri 
Attorney-General’s office called, “Missouri’s Landlord-Tenant Law.”  This publication 
(revised April 2015) is available at the Web site of the Missouri Attorney-General at: 

http://ago.mo.gov/docs/default-source/publications/landlord-
tenantlaw.pdf?sfvrsn=4%20 

http://www.stpatrickcenter.org/our-programs/project-hero/
http://www.va.gov/homeless/GPD.asp
http://ago.mo.gov/docs/default-source/publications/landlord-tenantlaw.pdf?sfvrsn=4%20
http://ago.mo.gov/docs/default-source/publications/landlord-tenantlaw.pdf?sfvrsn=4%20
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Federal Laws and Policies* 
DMH Housing complies with the requirements of the McKinney-Vento Act as amended by 
the HEARTH Act, and with the Code of Federal Regulations.  In particular, DMH Housing 
strives to ensure that all children in households assisted by its Shelter Plus Care programs 
connect to appropriate services in their communities such as Head Start, or are enrolled in 
their school of origin to avoid disruption of their education.  

For all households with children assisted by DMH Shelter Plus Care programs, Processing 
Centers provide information to both the Program Participant and to the Case Manager 
regarding the local school districts’ Homeless Coordinators and the Missouri Department of 
Elementary and Secondary Education’s (DESE) efforts to ensure full access to a free and 
appropriate public education for children in households experiencing homelessness. This 
includes ensuring full and equal access to all federally, locally and state-funded pre-school 
programs, food programs and before-and-after school care programs, as well as ensuring that 
homeless children are not segregated in any way from their peers. 

Complete information on DESE’s efforts with homeless children and runaway youth is 
available at: 

http://dese.mo.gov/quality-schools/federal-programs/homeless/serving-homeless-
children 

Access to Information* 
DMH Housing strives to maintain complete information about its programs and affordable 
housing resources in Missouri generally at its Web site.  The main page of the DMH Housing 
Web site is located within the Department of Mental Health’s Web site at: 

http://dmh.mo.gov/housing/housingunit/ 

Users of this manual are encouraged to use the information presented at the Web site and to 
suggest changes and additional content whenever appropriate.  Send suggestions for content 
and comments to DMH Housing at housing@dmh.mo.gov.  

DMH Housing also maintains a social media presence.  Follow us at: 

• Facebook: https://www.facebook.com/dmhhousing 

• Twitter: https://twitter.com/@DMHHousing 

DMH Housing Staff Contact Information* 
See below for complete contact information for each DMH Housing staff person and the 
areas and subjects they cover: 

http://dese.mo.gov/quality-schools/federal-programs/homeless/serving-homeless-children
http://dese.mo.gov/quality-schools/federal-programs/homeless/serving-homeless-children
http://dmh.mo.gov/housing/housingunit/
mailto:housing@dmh.mo.gov
https://www.facebook.com/dmhhousing
https://twitter.com/@DMHHousing
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DMH Central Office, 1706 East Elm Street, P.O. Box 687, Jefferson City, MO, 65102: 

Liz Hagar-Mace, Housing Director 
Phone: 573-522-6519 
E-mail: liz.hagar-mace@dmh.mo.gov 
Contact Liz with questions about:  

• DMH Shelter Plus Care Programs 

• DMH Rental Assistance Program (RAP) 

• Statewide housing and homelessness issues  

• The Governor's Committee to End Homelessness  

• The Missouri Balance of State and Springfield Continuums of Care 

• Affordable and permanent supportive housing development 

Edwin Cooper, Affordable Housing Consultant 
Phone: 573-751-8208 
E-mail: edwin.cooper@dmh.mo.gov 
Contact Edwin with questions about:  

• DMH Shelter Plus Care grants in non-metropolitan and rural areas of the state 

• Development and funding of supportive housing projects for people with 
disabilities statewide 

• Housing and homelessness issues in rural/non-metropolitan Missouri  

• The Balance of State Continuum of Care  

Return to Top of Introduction 

Dirk Cable, Housing Development Officer 
Phone: 573-526-3125 
E-mail: dirk.cable@dmh.mo.gov 
Contact Dirk with questions about:  

• DMH Shelter Plus Care programs in the Joplin area  

• DMH Rental Assistance Program (RAP)  

• The Joplin area Continuum of Care  

• Shelter Plus Care invoice processing and other DMH Housing data issues  

• DMH Housing Web site, social media, publications, and manuals  

Maggie George, Housing Development Officer 
Phone: 573-522-2120 
E-mail: maggie.george@dmh.mo.gov 

mailto:liz.hagar-mace@dmh.mo.gov
mailto:edwin.cooper@dmh.mo.gov
mailto:dirk.cable@dmh.mo.gov
mailto:maggie.george@dmh.mo.gov
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Contact Maggie with questions about:  

• Status of applications for Shelter Plus Care (all programs throughout the state) 

• Status of Shelter Plus Care applicants waiting for assistance (all programs 
throughout the state) 

• Eligibility for Shelter Plus Care generally 

Melissa Presley, Administrative Office Support Assistant 
Phone: 573-751-9206 
E-mail: melissa.presley@dmh.mo.gov 
Contact Melissa with questions about:  

• General information about the DMH Housing Unit and its activities 

• DMH Housing unit events, meetings, and conferences 

• Status of Shelter Plus Care applications 

• Monthly invoice processing for all DMH Housing assistance programs 

• Obtaining DMH Housing forms, publications, and related information  

In St. Louis, 5400 Arsenal, M.S. A-419, St. Louis, MO, 63139  

Judy Johnson, Affordable Housing Consultant 
Phone: 314-877-3375 
E-mail: judy.johnson@dmh.mo.gov 
Contact Judy with questions about: 

• DMH Shelter Plus Care programs in the St. Louis Metropolitan region  

• Other Department of Mental Health housing assistance programs in the St. Louis 
region 

• Housing and homelessness issues in the St. Louis region  

• The St. Louis City and St. Louis County Continuums of Care 

In Kansas City, 2600 East 12th Street, Kansas City, MO, 64127 

Amy Copeland, Affordable Housing Consultant 
Phone: 816-482-5765 
E-mail: amy.copeland@dmh.mo.gov 
Contact Amy with questions about: 

• DMH Shelter Plus Care programs in the Kansas City Metro region and the St. 
Joseph region 

• Other Department of Mental Health housing assistance programs in the Kansas 
City and St. Joseph regions 

mailto:melissa.presley@dmh.mo.gov
mailto:judy.johnson@dmh.mo.gov
mailto:amy.copeland@dmh.mo.gov
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• The Kansas City Regional and St. Joseph Continuums of Care 

• Housing and homelessness issues in the Kansas City and St. Joseph regions 

• Development and funding of supportive housing projects for people with 
disabilities in the Kansas City and St. Joseph regions 

 
 Return to Table of Contents 

 Return to Top of Introduction 

 

 



  MO DMH Housing Manual August 2015 – Chapter 1 
 
 

13 
 

CHAPTER ONE—General Obligations of the Key Parties 
 Obligations of DMH Housing* 
 Obligations of Case Managers 
 Obligations of Provider Agencies* 
 Obligations of Processing Centers* 
 Obligations of Landlords* 
 Obligations of Participants* 
 Return to Table of Contents 

The success of DMH’s housing programs relies on the diligence and cooperation of all the 
parties involved in the housing assistance process.  This chapter explains what 
responsibilities and obligations rest with each party.  The parties consist of: 
 

• DMH Housing – a unit within the Missouri Department of Mental Health that 
administers the funds for Shelter Plus Care and RAP 

• Case Managers – employees of mental health service provider agencies that 
coordinate supportive services for program participants 

• Provider Agencies – DMH-contracted mental health service provider agencies 

• Processing Centers – social service and housing agencies contracted with DMH to 
locally administer Shelter Plus Care and RAP programs 

• Landlords – owners and/or managers of rental properties who lease to Shelter Plus 
Care and RAP Participants 

• Program Participants – persons with disabilities who have been found eligible to 
receive housing assistance through the Shelter Plus Care and RAP programs 

Obligations of DMH Housing* 
• Manage Priority Lists.  DMH Housing establishes and manages priority lists for all 

SPC programs unless written contractual agreements are made with another 
agency to do so.  Sponsor-based and project-based SPC programs manage their 
own lists. 

• Monitor Program Performance.  DMH Housing monitors each housing program's 
performance and ensures contract compliance.  DMH Housing makes site visits to 
Processing Centers to review Programs and provides ongoing, up-to-date technical 
assistance. 

• Ensure Uniformity.  DMH Housing ensures uniformity of practice among the 
Processing Centers, fulfillment of funding contracts and adherence to applicable 
laws.  DMH Housing must give its approval to any changes or additions to the 
materials and procedures used for a DMH housing assistance program. 
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• Determine Eligibility.  DMH Housing reviews all applications for eligibility and 
notifies Case Managers whether or not an Applicant is eligible. 

• Make Referrals.  DMH Housing coordinates the referral of Applicants who have 
been found eligible for assistance to the appropriate Processing Center. 

• Monitor Program Expenditures.  DMH Housing monitors the on-going 
expenditure of all program funds to ensure the maximum use and effectiveness of 
funds.  This includes monitoring the amount of tenant-paid rent contributed to 
each program and the value of supportive services being provided to Participants. 

• Monitor Service Delivery.  DMH Housing monitors the delivery of mental health 
services and supportive services to Participants to help ensure Participants’ 
housing stability. 

• Monitor Zero Income.  DMH Housing monitors Participants who report $0 
income.  Zero Income Participants are tracked by DMH Housing to ensure that 
they apply for benefits and/or employment in a timely manner.  

Obligations of Case Managers 
• Assess Applicants’ Housing Needs and Goals.  The Case Manager must assess an 

Applicant’s needs for housing and the Applicant’s ability to live independently as 
part of a Service Plan prior to submitting an application. 

• Help Complete and Submit Applications.  The Case Manager assists the 
Applicant in filling out an application for housing assistance; and helps the 
Applicant through other paperwork that will initiate participation in a Program.  

• Attend Intake Meeting.  The Case Manager must attend the initial intake meeting 
with the Applicant at the Processing Center. 

• Assist With Housing Search.  The Case Manager assists the Participant in the 
process of locating a unit within 30 days of the Program voucher issue date.  If 
more time is needed, the Case Manager must notify the Processing Center and 
show in writing why it is needed.  Requests for extensions of time are reviewed by 
DMH Housing staff on a case-by-case basis.  

• Provide Initial Housing Case Management.  The Case Manager must maintain a 
level of in-person contact with the Participant commensurate with what is 
described in the Service Plan submitted to DMH Housing as part of the 
Application for Shelter Plus Care.  The Case Manager must notify the Participant, 
DMH Housing, and the Processing Center when a new Case Manager is assigned. 

• Deliver Supportive Services.  The Case Manager provides supportive services as 
established by the Participant’s Service Plan, and arrange for additional supportive 
services as necessary to assist the Participant in their independent living situation. 
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DMH Housing strongly recommends a minimum of one home visit per quarter by 
the Case Manager, or more as needed. If the Participant moves services to a new 
service provider, the Case Manager must assist in the transition to the new 
provider. 

• Transfer Support Services to New Unit.  The Case Manager ensures that the 
Participant gets moved into the new unit, and that all benefits and appropriate 
services are properly transferred. 

• Manage Clinical Issues.  The Case Manager manages any clinical issue that arises 
and work with the Processing Center and DMH Housing when a clinical issue 
affects the housing situation. The Case Manager will notify the Processing Center 
when a Participant has become non-compliant with their support services plan. 

• Increase Participant Income.  The Case Manager ensures that Participants who 
report zero income apply for benefits and/or employment in a timely manner.  
Case Managers may be asked to verify that the Participant is actively engaged in 
activities that will enhance their ability to gain employment, is seeking 
employment, or that benefits were denied and an appeal has been filed.  

• Follow Up.  Follow up on other specific situations requiring case management 
action outlined in this Manual, i.e., due process hearings, family composition and 
income changes. 

Return to Top of Chapter 1 

Obligations of Provider Agencies* 
• Assure Long-Term Support Services.  Service provider agencies must assure that 

Participants have access to supportive services they need to obtain and maintain 
housing stability. 

• Document the Financial Value of Support Services.  The service provider must 
have a means for documenting and, if requested by DMH Housing, reporting on 
the financial value of services received by a Participant in a DMH housing 
assistance program. 

Obligations of Processing Centers* 
• Maintain Participant Files.  The Processing Center must maintain a complete file 

record of each Participant’s enrollment in a Program.  Participant files must be 
maintained in a manner that makes the information accessible and legible to DMH 
Housing and other authorized parties, such as HUD, for purposes of conducting 
audits and program reviews. 

• Conduct Applicant Intake Meetings.  The Processing Center arranges Program 
intake meetings to educate Applicants on the policies and procedures of the 
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Program for which they’ve been approved.  Processing Center staff reviews and 
updates the DMH referral information during the intake meeting and informs 
DMH Housing of any major changes. If the Applicant’s household has children, 
the Processing Center provides information to assist the Applicant and the Case 
Manager access information about school enrollment and other educational 
programs such as Head Start. 

• Verify Program Eligibility.  Processing Center staff are responsible for verifying 
and documenting in detail certain aspects of Program eligibility for a new Program 
Participant.  These consist of household income and household composition. 

• Recertify Participant Eligibility.  The Processing Center must annually recertify 
eligibility for all Participants and maintain accurate documentation of eligibility.  
DMH Housing may require additional recertifications to be made whenever 
Participants experience changes in circumstances that substantially affect their 
overall eligibility for the program. 

• Conduct HQS Inspections.  To ensure that all Participants live in safe and decent 
housing, the Processing Center must conduct a Housing Quality Standards (HQS) 
inspection of a Participant’s chosen rental unit before the Participant moves in.  All 
units rented by Participants must be re-inspected annually by the Processing 
Center. DMH Housing staff may do quality control inspections to verify that HQS 
inspections are being done properly. 

• Review and Approve the Lease.  The Processing Center reviews and approves any 
lease or occupancy agreement signed between a Landlord and a Participant 
enrolled in a program.  The purpose of the approval is to ensure that program-
required lease provisions are included in the lease, and that the lease complies with 
Missouri landlord-tenant laws. If the lease does not meet these standards, the 
tenant cannot receive assistance for that unit.   

• Submit Timely and Accurate Monthly Invoices to DMH Housing.  In connection 
with paying rent subsidies to Landlords in a timely fashion, Processing Centers 
must submit accurate monthly invoices for rents and related costs to DMH 
Housing on a schedule set by DMH Housing.  Processing Centers must be 
equipped to submit invoices electronically in a manner that protects Participants’ 
personal information. 

• Provide On-Going Housing Administration.  The Processing Center is responsible 
for handling local housing administration, including adjusting total tenant 
payments, making interim HQS inspections, handling damage claims by 
Landlords, giving 30-day move-out notices to Landlords, etc. 

• Coordinate With Responsible Parties.  The Processing Center coordinates with 
Case Managers, Landlords, and DMH Housing as needed on issues involving unit 
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habitability, emergency situations, security, tenant compliance and Landlord 
compliance with Program requirements 

• Conduct Landlord Outreach.  Processing Centers encourage Landlords of decent, 
safe, and affordable housing to lease units to Program Participants, and to 
publicize their available units. 

• HMIS Data Entry.  When HMIS data entry is part of a Processing Center’s 
contract, the Processing Center must have at least one trained staff person 
designated as a user of the local homeless management information system.  
Processing Centers are obligated to accurately enter required Participant data in 
their Continuum of Care’s HMIS in an ongoing and timely manner; to arrange staff 
training for HMIS with the Continuum’s HMIS provider when needed; and to 
respond to DMH requests for HMIS data reports in a timely manner, including 
HUD Annual Progress Reports. 

Below is a list of agencies contracted with DMH to do Shelter Plus Care and RAP client 
processing as of August 2015: 

 
Agency Name Address Phone Numbers 

CMCA—Central Missouri Community 
Action 

807-B North Providence Road 
Columbia, MO 65203-4359 

573-443-8706 
FAX 573-777-5220 

COMTREA  227 Main St.  
Festus, MO  63028 

636-931-2700 
FAX  636-931-6441 

DAEOC—Delta Area Economic 
Opportunity Corp. 

99 Skyview Road 
Portageville, MO 63873 

573-379-3851 
FAX 573-379-5988 

EMAA—East Missouri Action Agency, 
Inc.  

PO Box 308 
403 Parkway Dr. 
Park Hills, MO 63601 

573-431-5191  
FAX 573-431-2426  
 

ESC—Economic Security Corp. of the 
Southwest Area 

PO Box 207 
302 S. Joplin 
Joplin, MO 64802 

417-781-0352    
FAX 417-781-1234 

HACK—Housing Authority for City of 
Kirksville 

100 Valley Forge Drive  
PO Box 730 
Kirksville, MO 63501 

660-665-8539  
FAX 660-665-1308   

KWH—Kim Wilson Housing 730 Armstrong Ave. 
Kansas City, KS 66101 

913-233-3356 
FAX 913-233-3357 

MOCA—Missouri Ozarks Community 
Action, Inc. 

306 South Pine St. 
PO Box 69 
Richland, MO 65556 

573-765-4509 
FAX 573-765-5624 

MVCAA—MO Valley Community Action 
Agency 

1415 S. Odell 
Marshall, MO 65340 

660-886-7476 
FAX  660-886-5868 

OACAC—Ozarks Area Community 
Action Corporation 

215 South Barnes 
Springfield, MO 65802 

417-862-4314 
FAX 417-873-3360   

OAI—Ozark Action, Inc. 
PO Box 588 
710 East Main 
West Plains, MO 65775 

417-256-6147   
FAX 417-255-2967 

OFRPC—Ozark Foothills Regional 
Planning Commission 

3019 Fair St. 
Poplar Bluff, MO 63901 

573-785-6402   
FAX 573-686-5467 

Pathways Community Behavioral 
Health 

1800 Community Drive 
Clinton, MO 64735 

660-885-8131 
FAX 816-318-3130 
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Agency Name Address Phone Numbers 

Places for People 4130 Lindell 
St. Louis, MO  63108 

314-615-9105 
FAX 314-535-6037  

Preferred Family Healthcare, Inc. 900 E. LaHarpe St. 
Kirksville, MO 63501 

660-665-1962 
FAX 660-665-3989 

QOP—Queen of Peace Center 325 North Newstead 
St. Louis, MO 63108 

314-531-0511   
FAX 314-531-5843 

SAVE, Inc. PO Box 45301 
Kansas City, MO 64171 

816-531-8378 
FAX 816-531-4817 or 531-0669 

St. Patrick’s Center 800 N. Tucker 
St. Louis, MO 63101 

314-802-0700 
FAX 314-802-1980 

Vandalia Housing Authority 1001 S. Maple 
Vandalia, MO 63382 

573-594-3712 
FAX 573-594-2861 

Return to Top of Chapter 1 

Obligations of Landlords* 
• Maintain Landlord-Tenant Relationships.  Landlords must comply with the 

provisions of leases and HAP contracts, and state, federal, and local fair housing 
statutes and ordinances.  Landlords must perform regular maintenance, and 
perform all management and rental functions as required by Missouri landlord-
tenant laws. 

• Report Landlord-Tenant Issues.  The Landlord must notify the Processing Center 
of any disputes between the Landlord and a Participant, and may request a 
meeting with the involved parties to attempt resolution. 

• Supply Vacancy Information.  Landlords and property managers working with 
Processing Centers should keep Processing Centers informed of vacancies in their 
units.   

• Evictions.  If the Landlord evicts a Participant, the eviction must be handled legally 
under the provisions of Missouri landlord-tenant laws, just as for any other tenant.  
The Landlord must give the Processing Center written notice of eviction at the 
same time the Participant is notified.   

• Discrimination Prohibited.  Landlords shall not discriminate against Participants 
on the grounds of race, color, creed, religion, gender, gender identity, sexual 
orientation, national origin, disability, age, marital status, or legal source of 
income. 

Obligations of Participants* 
• Cooperate In Fulfilling Program Requirements.  Participants assist DMH 

Housing and Processing Centers by providing information that certifies their initial 
and continuing eligibility and establishes what share of the rent they will pay.  
Participants must sign an information release that allows personal information to 
be shared, in compliance with HIPAA, with DMH Housing, Processing Centers, 
Landlords and applicable support services.   
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• Find a Qualified Unit.  Participants must select a unit which falls under the 
guidelines of the program and which passes a HQS inspection. Participants must 
allow the Processing Center to inspect the rental unit before initial move-in and at 
annual recertification. 

• Compliance With Lease and Household Obligations.  Participants must comply 
with all the terms of their lease as well as the terms of the Household Obligations, 
including allowing inspections of the unit. 

• Notify Processing Center of Communications With Landlord.  Participants must 
notify the Processing Center of any communications they receive from Landlords 
that may affect their continued tenancy. 

• Report Changes In Income and Family Composition.  Participants must report 
changes in this information to both the Processing Center and to their Case 
Manager, and are responsible for responding to requests from the Processing 
Center to update this information.   

• Comply With Program Policies.  Participants are required to know program 
policies and to abide by them.  These include, but are not limited to the 
requirement that the unit be used as the Participant’s primary residence; giving 
proper notice before moving out of a rental unit; and knowing that the Participant 
may be responsible for damages incurred in the unit.  

• Zero Income.  Participants who enter the program without any income must work 
with their Case Manager to increase income through obtaining benefits or 
employment.   

 Return to Table of Contents 

 Return to Top of Chapter 1  
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CHAPTER TWO—Applying for DMH Housing Assistance Programs 
 

 Eligibility for Shelter Plus Care* 
 Documenting Disability* 
 Documenting Homelessness 

 FORM—Applicant Homelessness History (Sample) 
 Shelter Plus Care Application Policies and Procedures* 
 Shelter Plus Care Priority List Policies* 
 Service Needs Assessment Policies* 

 FORM—SPC Application, Attachment B—Part 1, Service Needs 
 Eligibility for Rental Assistance Program (RAP)* 
 Rental Assistance Program Application Policies and Procedures* 
 Who Verifies SPC and RAP Eligibility? 
 Return to Table of Contents 

Eligibility for Shelter Plus Care* 
DMH Housing does not accept applications for Shelter Plus Care directly from persons in 
need of assistance. An application for Shelter Plus Care must be submitted by an agency that 
has the ability to verify an Applicant’s disability status and homeless status.  This means that 
an Applicant must have, at the time he or she applies, a relationship with an agency or 
practitioner that includes a complete assessment and diagnosis of the Applicant’s disabling 
condition. 

Eligibility for DMH’s Shelter Plus Care (SPC) programs is based on the following: 

Disability.  Applicants must have a disability as defined by HUD in 24 CFR Section 582.5, 
which states: 

(1) A person shall be considered to have a disability if he or she has a disability that: 

(i) Is expected to be long-continuing or of indefinite duration; 

(ii) Substantially impedes the individual’s ability to live independently; 

(iii) Could be improved by the provision of more suitable housing conditions; and 

(iv) Is a physical, mental, or emotional impairment, including an impairment caused by 
alcohol or drug abuse, posttraumatic stress disorder, or brain injury. 

(2) A person will also be considered to have a disability if he or she has a developmental 
disability, as defined in this section. 

(3) A person will also be considered to have a disability if he or she has acquired 
immunodeficiency syndrome (AIDS) or any conditions arising from the etiologic agent for 
acquired immunodeficiency syndrome, including infection with the human 
immunodeficiency virus (HIV). 

HUD defines a developmental disability, also at 24 CFR  Section 582.5, as: 

(1) A severe, chronic disability of an individual that— 

(i) Is attributable to a mental or physical impairment or combination of mental and 
physical impairments; 
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(ii) Is manifested before the individual attains age 22; 

(iii) Is likely to continue indefinitely;  
(iv) Results in substantial functional limitations in three or more of the following areas 
of major life activity: 

(A) Self-care; 

(B) Receptive and expressive language; 

(C) Learning; 

(D) Mobility; 

(E) Self-direction; 

(F) Capacity for independent living; 

(G) Economic self-sufficiency; and 

(v) Reflects the individual’s need for a combination and sequence of special, 
interdisciplinary, or generic services, individualized supports, or other forms of 
assistance that are of lifelong or extended duration and are individually planned and 
coordinated. 

Based on the above, DMH’s SPC programs are designed to serve persons with the following 
disabilities, and Applicants must have one of the following disabilities to qualify for Shelter 
Plus Care: 

• A serious mental illness; 

• An alcohol and/or drug use disorder; 

• A developmental disability; or 

• A diagnosis of AIDS or of HIV infection 

Homelessness. Applicants must be currently homeless as defined by HUD for Continuum of 
Care (CoC) permanent housing programs by 24 CFR Section 578.3.  HUD has stated that CoC 
permanent housing programs may serve only persons who are actually homeless, not at risk 
of homelessness, and therefore only paragraph (1) of the definition applies to permanent 
housing programs like Shelter Plus Care. “Homeless” under paragraph (1) of the definition 
means: 

(1) An individual or family who lacks a fixed, regular, and adequate nighttime residence, 
meaning:  

(i) An individual or family with a primary nighttime residence that is a public or private 
place not designed for or ordinarily used as a regular sleeping accommodation for 
human beings, including a car, park, abandoned building, bus or train station, airport, 
or camping ground;  

(ii) An individual or family living in a supervised publicly or privately operated shelter 
designated to provide temporary living arrangements (including congregate shelters, 
transitional housing, and hotels and motels paid for by charitable organizations or by 
federal, State, or local government programs for low-income individuals); or  
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(iii) An individual who is exiting an institution where he or she resided for 90 days or 
less and who resided in an emergency shelter or place not meant for human habitation 
immediately before entering that institution; 

Return to Top of Chapter 2 

Chronic Homelessness.  All DMH Shelter Plus Care programs give priority to individuals 
and households who meet the definition of chronic homelessness, and several individual 
programs serve chronically homeless households exclusively.  24 CFR Section 578.3 defines 
chronic homelessness as: 

(1) An individual who:  

(i) Is homeless and lives in a place not meant for human habitation, a safe haven, or in 
an emergency shelter; and  

(ii) Has been homeless and living or residing in a place not meant for human 
habitation, a safe haven, or in an emergency shelter continuously for at least one year 
or on at least four separate occasions in the last 3 years; and  

(iii) Can be diagnosed with one or more of the following conditions: substance use 
disorder, serious mental illness, developmental disability (as defined in section 102 of 
the Developmental Disabilities Assistance Bill of Rights Act of 2000 (42 U.S.C. 
15002)), post-traumatic stress disorder, cognitive impairments resulting from brain 
injury, or chronic physical illness or disability;  

(2) An individual who has been residing in an institutional care facility, including a jail, 
substance abuse or mental health treatment facility, hospital, or other similar facility, for 
fewer than 90 days and met all of the criteria in paragraph (1) of this definition, before 
entering that facility; or  

(3) A family with an adult head of household (or if there is no adult in the family, a minor 
head of household) who meets all of the criteria in paragraph (1) of this definition, including 
a family whose composition has fluctuated while the head of household has been 
homeless. 

For very detailed information on chronic homelessness, see HUD’s publication, “Defining 
Chronic Homelessness: A Technical Guide for HUD Programs,” at: 

http://www.hudhre.info/documents/DefiningChronicHomeless.pdf 

Note that this publication predates the definition of chronic homelessness shown above, but 
is still accurate in all other respects. 

Income Limit.  Applicants may have a maximum household income of 50% of their Area 
Median Income (AMI).  HUD publishes revised AMI’s annually at: 

http://www.huduser.org/datasets/il.html 

http://www.hudhre.info/documents/DefiningChronicHomeless.pdf
http://www.huduser.org/datasets/il.html
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Documenting Disability* 
An Applicant’s disability is documented in the Shelter Plus Care Program Application, 
Attachment A, “Verification of Disability,” or in the Rental Assistance Program (RAP) 
Application, Attachment A. HUD regulations require disability to be documented by a 
person who is licensed by the state to diagnose an eligible condition: a serious mental illness, 
substance use disorder, developmental disability, or AIDS/HIV infection. Although RAP is 
not federally funded, DMH uses the same standards in that program. 

The State of Missouri licenses (or recognizes the licensing of) these professions to diagnose 
the disabilities listed on Attachment A: 

• Advanced Practice Registered Nurse 

• Licensed Clinical Social Worker 

• Licensed Professional Counselor 

• Physician 

• Psychiatrist 

• Psychologist 

Some of the above professions may have forms of interim or partial licensure that also allow 
diagnosis. If DMH Housing receives an application with Attachment A completed by a 
professional with an interim or provisional form of licensure, DMH Housing will contact the 
person or agency submitting the application to request documentation that diagnosis is 
within that person’s scope of practice. 
Return to Top of Chapter 2 

Documenting Homelessness 
Homelessness documentation requirements for CoC permanent housing programs such as 
Shelter Plus Care are established by 24 CFR Section 576.500(b). DMH Housing requires all 
applications for Shelter Plus Care to document both current homelessness and homelessness 
history for the past three years so that each Applicant can be evaluated for chronic 
homelessness. 

To document current homelessness, submit the following with an Application for Shelter 
Plus Care:   

• For an individual or family with a primary nighttime residence that is a public or 
private place not designed for or ordinarily used as a regular sleeping 
accommodation for human beings, provide a written eye-witness observation from 
a case manager, outreach worker or other homeless services worker able to 
personally verify the applicant’s street homelessness. Describe in as much detail as 

http://dmh.mo.gov/housing/housingunit/shelterpluscare.html
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possible; include locations, dates, and in what way the situation constitutes a place 
not meant for human habitation. This document must be on agency letterhead, and 
must be signed and dated by the author. 

• For an individual or family living in a supervised publicly or privately operated 
shelter, provide a letter from the shelter facility verifying the date(s) of entry 
and/or exit and that the Applicant currently resides there; or, instead of a letter 
from the shelter, you may provide a printout from a Homeless Management 
Information System (HMIS) showing recorded shelter stays.  You must also 
provide a letter by the case manager or homeless outreach worker verifying 
personal knowledge that the Applicant is homeless. This document must be on 
agency letterhead, and must be signed and dated by the author. 

• For Applicants living in transitional housing programs, provide a letter from the 
transitional program verifying the date of entry and current residence; and 
documentation that the Applicant’s housing immediately prior to the transitional 
program was either emergency shelter or living in a place not meant for human 
habitation (shelter letter, HMIS printout, or written observation of Applicant’s 
former street homelessness from an eye-witness). 

• For an individual who is exiting an institution where he or she resided for 90 days 
or less and who resided in an emergency shelter or place not meant for human 
habitation immediately before entering that institution, provide a signed and dated 
verification from the institution that the applicant has resided there for 90 days or 
less and is about to exit the institution; and documentation that the Applicant’s 
housing immediately prior to the institutional facility was either emergency shelter 
or a place not meant for human habitation (shelter letter, HMIS printout, or written 
observation of Applicant’s former street homelessness from an eye-witness). 

Note that in many cases, documenting current homelessness requires more than one piece 
of documentation.  For a person who has recently resided in an institution for 90 days or less 
and who was homeless immediately prior to that situation, DMH must receive 
documentation for both the homelessness and the institutionalization. 

All letters described above must be on agency letterhead, and must be signed and dated by 
the author.  A letter missing any of these characteristics cannot be considered valid 
documentation. 

Current homelessness must be re-verified in the same manner as described above if the 
Applicant is referred for SPC assistance more than 30 days after their eligibility is established. 

To document homelessness history for the past three years, DMH Housing strongly 
recommends recording the Applicant’s periods of homelessness in a chronological format as 
shown in the Application for Shelter Plus Care, or on a separate sheet as shown in the sample 
on the next page: 
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FORM—Applicant Homelessness History (Sample) 
 

[Agency Letterhead] 
 
[Date] 
 
To DMH Housing: 
 
My client, Jane Smith, is homeless per HUD’s definition.  Jane Smith’s housing history for the past 
three years consists of: 
 
Beginning Date Ending Date Whereabouts Documented? 
8/1/13 Present Forest Avenue emergency shelter, Kansas City, MO Yes 
5/1/13 7/30/13 City Union Mission emergency shelter, Kansas City, 

MO Yes 

4/1/13 4/30/13 Staying with friends, Kansas City, MO No 
4/1/12 3/30/13 Salvation Army transitional housing, Kansas City, 

MO Yes 

12/1/11 3/31/12 Forest Avenue emergency shelter, Kansas City, MO Yes 
8/1/11 11/30/11 Rescue Mission, emergency shelter, Kansas City, 

MO Yes 

7/16/11 7/31/11 Staying with friends, Springfield, MO No 
5/1/11 7/15/11 The Kitchen, emergency shelter, Springfield, MO Yes 
3/1/11 4/1/11 Staying with family, Springfield, MO No 
11/1/10 2/28/11 Haven Shelter, emergency shelter, Denver CO Yes 

 
Please see the attached supporting documentation of these episodes of homelessness. 
 
Sincerely, 
 
[Case Manager Name], [Agency Name] 
 
Return to Top of Chapter 2  
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For homelessness history, you need not document stays with family or friends, or any other 
situation that does not constitute homelessness per the definition found earlier in this 
chapter.  Documentation of homelessness history can consist of: 

• Dated letters from emergency shelters stating the Applicant’s entry and exit dates 
to and from the shelters; 

• Printouts of HMIS data or reports showing dates of shelter stays; 

• Letters from persons other than the Applicant verifying by eyewitness account that 
the Applicant slept in places not meant for human habitation (e.g., a vehicle, an 
abandoned building, a park bench, etc.). 

• Letter verifying stays in transitional housing programs; 

• Letter verifying stays in institutional settings; and 

• Written statements by the Applicant self-reporting episodes of homelessness in 
places not meant for human habitation.  Self-reported statements are acceptable but 
should only be used to fill in gaps where no other documentation is available, and 
should not be used to establish an entire history of homelessness. 

Shelter Plus Care Application Policies and Procedures* 
The DMH Shelter Plus Care application process involves two parts: 

• Fill out and submit the Shelter Plus Care Program, “Part 1: Program Application”; 
and 

• Fill out and submit the Shelter Plus Care Program, “Part 2: Participant HMIS 
Information” form. 

Both forms are located on the DMH Housing Web site at: 

http://dmh.mo.gov/housing/housingunit/shelterpluscare.html 

DMH Housing can only accept the most current versions of both forms.  Before filling out 
either form, check the above link to ensure that you have the most current versions. 

The Program Application collects only information needed to establish eligibility for Shelter 
Plus Care.  The Participant HMIS Information form collects information that the federal 
Department of Housing and Urban Development (HUD) requires all CoC Program grantees 
to collect about individuals and families served by CoC Program funds. 

All Applicants first fill out the Program Application—or “Part 1”—and submit it to DMH 
Housing so that DMH Housing staff can determine an Applicant’s eligibility. 

http://dmh.mo.gov/housing/housingunit/shelterpluscare.html
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• Submit Program Applications by fax to 573-526-7797; or, you can scan a completed 
Application and email the PDF file to housing@dmh.mo.gov. To comply with the 
confidentiality requirements of HIPAA, emailed applications must be encrypted: you 
must either password-protect the PDF file itself, or be able to encrypt the email. 
Please no not email un-encrypted applications. 

• An Application must be complete in order to determine eligibility.  If an 
Application is found to be incomplete, DMH Housing will contact the Case 
Manager who submitted the Application and inform him or her that the 
application is incomplete; discuss what is needed to make it complete; and notify 
the Case Manager that he or she has 10 working days to submit the required 
information.  If the information is not received within 10 working days, the 
Application will be made inactive and destroyed.   

If an Applicant is found to be eligible, his or her name is placed on a priority list for the area 
he or she applied from (see “Shelter Plus Care Priority List Policies” in this chapter, below). 

When an Applicant is prioritized to receive assistance and funds are available to assist them, 
DMH Housing makes a “referral” to an agency contracted with DMH, known as a Processing 
Center, that administers Shelter Plus Care locally in the Applicant’s area. “Part 2,” the 
Participant HMIS Information form, is essential to making the referral.  The steps for a 
referral are: 

• A DMH Housing staff member contacts the Case Manager and requests that the 
Case Manager (1) document and submit to DMH Housing the Applicant’s 
homelessness history since the date the Applicant was originally found to be 
eligible for SPC, if the Applicant has been on a priority list more than 30 days; and 
(2) fill out a “Part 2: Participant HMIS Information” form—or “Part 2.” 

• Documenting the Applicant’s homelessness history since they were originally 
declared eligible is done in the same way as the homelessness history required by 
the original application, and must be received by DMH Housing by fax within five 
business days of the date it is requested.  If DMH Housing does not receive the 
requested documentation, the application is made inactive. 

• To complete a “Part 2,” the Case Manager should meet with the Applicant and 
both should fill out the form.  Part 2 requires some detailed information about all 
persons who will live in the assisted household, the household’s cash income and 
non-cash benefits sources, health insurance, and information about any veterans 
who will live in the household.  Some of the information in Part 2 restates what is 
on the Program Application, and Case Managers need to ensure that this 
information matches the original Program Application.  These items include 

mailto:housing@dmh.mo.gov
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questions about mental illness, disability, and homelessness. 

• Case Managers and Applicants can fill out a Part 2 at any point after the Program 
Application is submitted to DMH Housing, and keep the form in the Applicant’s 
case file, ready to be submitted.  There is no need to wait until DMH Housing 
requests a Part 2. 

• When DMH Housing requests a Part 2 to be submitted, the next step depends on 
where the Applicant lives.  See the table below: 

If the Applicant lives in: 

Jackson County 

St. Louis City 

St. Louis County or 

the St. Joseph area (including all of 
Andrew, Buchanan and DeKalb 

Counties)…  

If the Applicant lives in any other area of 

Missouri… 

Take the completed Part 2 to the local 
processing center agency, along with other 
required documents listed below, when 
the Case Manager and Applicant attend 
the required intake meeting. The local 
Processing Center contacts the Case 
Manager to arrange the date of the intake 
meeting after DMH Housing makes the 
referral. 

Submit the completed Part 2 directly to 
DMH Housing by fax to 573-526-7797.  
DMH Housing will ask the Case Manager 
to submit Part 2 when DMH Housing 
contacts them about making a referral. The 
Case Manager and Applicant have five 
business days to complete and submit Part 
2.  DMH Housing makes the referral to the 
local Processing Center after it receives the 
completed Part 2 and documentation to 
reverify homelessness, if applicable. 

Valid referrals can only come from DMH Housing, and never from an Applicant or a Case 
Manager.  All referrals must include a DMH referral cover sheet. 

The Processing Center will contact the Case Manager by telephone within three working 
days of receipt of a referral from DMH Housing to schedule an intake meeting.  The 
Applicant and the Case Manager are required to attend an intake meeting within ten 
working days of the initial attempt to schedule it.  Missed appointments are handled on a 
case-by-case basis, but in general, failure by the Applicant and Case Manager to attend an 
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intake meeting within ten working days of being notified will result in termination of the 
offer of assistance. 

In addition to “Part 2,” the Applicant is required to provide the following documentation at 
the intake meeting (some Processing Centers require this documentation to be submitted 
before the intake meeting is scheduled): 

• A valid driver’s license or other state or federally issued picture identification for 
the Applicant and all other adults who will live in the assisted household; 

• Social Security Card or other proof of Social Security number for the Applicant and 
all other adults who will live in the assisted household; 

• Household income documentation not older than 30 days; 

• Birth certificates for all minors that will live in the assisted household; and 

• Social Security Card or other proof of Social Security number for all minors in the 
assisted household who have a Social Security number assigned. 

If the Applicant has any household costs related to the following items, the Processing Center 
will also ask the Applicant to provide documentation about them.  These items can affect the 
calculation of the assisted household’s adjusted gross income, and include: 

• Costs for childcare incurred so that a member of the household can work or go to 
school; 

• Costs for a care attendant or for medical equipment that allows a member of the 
household to work; and 

• Costs of out-of-pocket unreimbursed medical expenses. 

If all required documentation has been provided, the Applicant will be given paperwork that 
will enable that person to begin to look for her own rental unit. 

The Applicant has 30 days from the date of the completed intake meeting to locate a rental 
unit that complies with SPC’s program rules.  If the Applicant fails to locate a suitable rental 
unit within 30 days, the Applicant must reapply if still interested in receiving rental 
assistance.  If there are extenuating circumstances, DMH will grant, on a case-by-case basis, 
an extension of time for the Applicant to find a rental unit.  To request an extension, the 
Applicant’s case manager must submit a written request to the Processing Center, which the 
Processing Center then conveys to the DMH Housing staff person who handles that area of 
the state. 

Shelter Plus Care Priority List Policies* 
On July 28, 2014, HUD issued a Notice on prioritizing permanent supportive housing for 
chronically homeless persons and other vulnerable homeless persons.  DMH Housing 

http://portal.hud.gov/hudportal/documents/huddoc?id=14-12cpdn.pdf
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adopted HUD’s recommended system of prioritization and in October 2014, stopped using 
its first-come, first-served wait list system for all of its Shelter Plus Care programs.  As Shelter 
Plus Care Applicants are determined to be eligible, their names are placed on Priority Lists, 
with one list per geographic area served.   

Individuals and households that qualify as chronically homeless have general priority to 
receive Shelter Plus Care assistance over those who do not qualify as chronically homeless 
(see the definition of chronic homelessness in Chapter 2, under “Eligibility for Shelter Plus 
Care”).  DMH Housing prioritizes Applicants exactly in the manner recommended by HUD: 

Applicants meeting HUD’s chronically homeless definition: 

Order of Priority Has Severe Service 
Needs? Homelessness Requirements 

1 Yes 
At least 12 months continuous or at least 
12 months cumulative across four 
episodes in three years 

2 No 
At least 12 months continuous or at least 
12 months cumulative across four 
episodes in three years 

3 Yes 
Less than 12 months cumulative across 
four episodes in three years 

4 No 
Less than 12 months cumulative across 
four episodes in three years 
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Applicants not meeting HUD’s chronically homeless definition: 

Order of Priority 
Has Severe Service 

Needs? Homelessness Requirements 

1 Yes 

Coming from streets, Safe Haven, 
emergency shelter, or an institutional stay 
of 90 days or less preceded by street 
homelessness or shelter/Safe Haven 
episode 

2 No 

Coming from streets, Safe Haven, 
emergency shelter, or an institutional stay 
of 90 days or less preceded by street 
homelessness or shelter/Safe Haven 
episode; and at least 6 months 
continuously homeless or at least three 
episodes in three years 

3 No 

Coming from streets, Safe Haven, 
emergency shelter, or an institutional stay 
of 90 days or less preceded by street 
homelessness or shelter/Safe Haven 
episode 

4 No 
Coming from transitional housing for 
homeless persons 

As funds become available in a given area, DMH Housing chooses those Applicants from the 
Priority List for that area, checking first for chronically homeless Applicants, though each 
priority level described above.  If there are no chronically homeless Applicants, then non-
chronically homeless Applicants are considered through each priority level. 

DMH Housing determines chronic status and length of homelessness by the initial Shelter 
Plus Care application, and re-assesses both when an Applicant is picked from the Priority 
List 

DMH Housing assesses the severity of an Applicant’s service needs by information provided 
in the Shelter Plus Care Program Application, Attachment B, Part 1, “Service Needs.” For 
more information on service needs assessment, see the next section, “Service Needs 
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Assessment Policies.” 

Effective October 1, 2015, DMH Housing modified its prioritization policy as follows: 
individuals and families that are within 60 days of exiting a 24-month transitional housing 
program for homeless persons, such as a VA Grant Per Diem program, and have no 
permanent housing or supported permanent housing options, may be prioritized for DMH’s 
Shelter Plus Care program. 

To qualify the household for prioritization, the transitional housing program must document 
the household’s status in writing, stating the following: 

• The date the household entered the transitional housing program and that it is 
currently in residence; 

• The household is in its 22nd month or later of the transitional housing program; 

• The household must exit by a specified date at the end of 24 months; 

• The household has no other permanent housing resources; and 

• The household is at risk of being homeless on the streets or in an emergency shelter 
without permanent housing assistance. 

A signed and dated letter from the transitional housing program on agency letterhead stating 
the above facts serves as documentation. The letter may be submitted directly to DMH 
Housing by the transitional housing program, or through the head of household’s support 
service provider.  The household must also be established as eligible for Shelter Plus Care 
assistance through the SPC application process (see “Shelter Plus Care Application Policies 
and Procedures”). 
Return to Top of Chapter 2 

Service Needs Assessment Policies* 
DMH Housing assesses an Applicant’s service needs using information provided in the 
Shelter Plus Care Program Application, Attachment B, Part 1, “Service Needs.”  The Service 
Needs form is based on the concept of the “Vulnerability Index and Service Prioritization 
Decision Assistance Tool” (VI-SPDAT).  See the form on the following page. 
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FORM—SPC Application, Attachment B—Part 1, Service Needs 
 RESPONSE DMH USE 

What is your age?   

 YES NO  

Do you have a serious mental illness?    

Do you have a drug use disorder?    

Do you have an alcohol use disorder?    

Do you have a developmental disability?    

Do you have HIV or AIDS?    

Do you have Post-Traumatic Stress Disorder (PTSD)?    

Do you have any cognitive impairments resulting from a brain or head injury?    

Do you have a physical disability?    

  

Do you have any of the following: YES NO  

  Kidney disease, end-stage renal disease, or use of dialysis    

  History of frostbite, hypothermia, or immersion foot    

  History of heat stroke or heat exhaustion    

  Liver disease or cirrhosis    

  History of heart disease, heart attack, stroke, or irregular heartbeat    

  Emphysema or chronic obstructive pulmonary disease (COPD)    

  Diabetes    

  Severe asthma or bronchitis    

  Cancer    

  Hepatitis C    

  Tuberculosis    

  

 RESPONSE  

In the past six months, how many times have you been to the emergency room?  

 In the past six months, how many times have you used a crisis service such as a 
suicide hotline?  

In the past six months, how many times have you been hospitalized as an in-patient?  

In the past 12 months, how many separate times have you been in jail or prison?   

In the past three years, how many months total have you been in jail or prison?   

  

 YES NO  

Do you have any legal stuff going on now that may result in you being locked up or 
having to pay fines?    

Since becoming homeless, have you ever been attacked or beaten up?    

Since becoming homeless, have you ever engaged in risky behavior, such as sharing 
needles, having unprotected sex with a stranger, or exchanging sex for money?    
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Eligibility for Rental Assistance Program (RAP)* 
RAP can provide either medium-term transitional rental assistance, or one-time housing 
assistance. The eligibility requirements for the two types of assistance are different: 

Disability.  Applicants for transitional RAP assistance must have either a serious mental 
illness or a substance use disorder of the same type required for Shelter Plus Care Applicants.  
See the discussion of disability under Shelter Plus Care eligibility in this chapter, above, for 
the applicable definition. 

Applicants for one-time RAP assistance are not required to have a disability, but must be 
considered clients of the Department of Mental Health and be currently enrolled in DMH 
support services (see “DMH Support Services,” below). 

Housing Crisis.  Applicants for transitional RAP assistance must be currently undergoing a 
housing crisis.  DMH Housing defines “housing crisis” as a situation where the affected 
household is homeless, at imminent risk of becoming homeless, or is currently housed in a 
substandard, unstable, unsafe or unsustainable setting; and in both situations has no 
resources available to obtain alternative adequate housing. 

Applicants for one-time RAP assistance must be in a situation that temporarily threatens the 
household’s housing stability; examples are: short-term inability to pay rent or utilities, 
financial inability to take advantage of a better housing situation, or inability to establish 
utility service.  

Income Limit.  Applicants for RAP have the same income limits as Shelter Plus Care 
Applicants, i.e., 50% of Area Median Income (AMI).  See the discussion of Area Median 
Income in this chapter, above. 

In addition to the above 50% of AMI limitation, Applicants for one-time RAP assistance 
generally must have enough income to maintain housing stability on their own after being 
assisted.  Applicants with little or zero income at the time they apply will still be considered 
on a case-by-case basis. 

DMH Support Services.  A person in the RAP Applicant’s household must be currently 
receiving mental health support services either directly from a DMH office or facility, or from 
a mental health services provider contracted with DMH (i.e., the Applicant must be a ‘DMH 
client’ in order to receive RAP assistance).   

Permanent Housing Plan.  Applicants for transitional RAP assistance must show by written 
documentation that they have a plan to transition to permanent housing.  A permanent 
housing plan can consist of proof that the Applicant has applied for and been placed on a 
wait list for Section 8 housing assistance, public housing, or some other form of permanent 
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housing assistance, such as Shelter Plus Care. A permanent housing plan can also consist of 
proof that the Applicant is working toward a degree or vocational certificate that will assist 
them in achieving self-sufficiency.  It is mandatory that RAP Participants accept any 
reasonable offer of permanent housing assistance when such an offer is made. 

Rental Assistance Program Application Policies and Procedures* 
Because of the limited availability of RAP funds, please contact the DMH Housing Unit at 
573-526-3125 or housing@dmh.mo.gov to check on the availability of funds before submitting 
an application.   

DMH Housing has two separate Applications for RAP: 

• Transitional Assistance Application: similar to the Shelter Plus Care Program 
Application; use this Application to apply for long-term transitional housing rental 
assistance lasting up to two years. 

• One-Time Assistance Application: a two-page application used to apply only for 
one-time assistance such as payment of back rent to prevent eviction, a security 
deposit, or similar items that will help stabilize unstable housing situations.  Case 
Managers should only utilize this assistance if it is very likely to result in long-term 
housing stability—never as a short-term temporary fix for issues that require 
longer-term assistance.  A Permanent Housing Plan is not required when applying 
for one-time assistance. 

Applications for RAP can be obtained by e-mail by calling the above number. If you already 
have a RAP application, check with DMH Housing to make sure you have the most current 
version. 

Submit completed applications to the DMH Central Office by fax at 573-526-7797; or, scan a 
completed application and email the PDF file to housing@dmh.mo.gov. To comply with the 
confidentiality requirements of HIPAA, emailed applications must be encrypted: you must 
either password-protect the PDF file itself, or be able to encrypt the email. Please do not 
email un-encrypted applications. 
Return to Top of Chapter 2 

RAP Applications must be complete in order to determine eligibility; incomplete applications 
are retained for 30 days, after which the application is void and the Applicant must reapply. 

RAP does not use a wait list system; typically, if an Applicant is found eligible and if funds 
are available, the Applicant will be approved for the assistance within a few days.  

A DMH Housing staff member will refer eligible RAP Applicants when RAP funding makes 
assistance available. Referrals are made to a Processing Center in the same manner as Shelter 

mailto:housing@dmh.mo.gov
mailto:housing@dmh.mo.gov
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Plus Care referrals.   

For transitional RAP assistance referrals, the Processing Center will contact the Applicant’s 
Case Manager by telephone within three working days of receipt of a RAP referral from 
DMH Housing to set up an intake meeting.  The Applicant and the Case Manager are 
required to attend an intake meeting within ten working days of the initial attempt to 
schedule it.  Missed appointments are handled on a case-by-case basis, but in general, failure 
by the Applicant and Case Manager to attend an intake meeting within ten working days of 
being notified will result in termination of the offer of assistance. 

RAP one-time assistance is paid directly to a Landlord, property management company, or 
utility company, and in those situations, the Applicant and Case Manager do not need to 
come to the Processing Center in person. 

For transitional RAP assistance, the Applicant is required to provide the following 
documentation at the intake meeting (some Processing Centers may require this 
documentation to be submitted before the intake meeting): 

• A valid driver’s license or other state or federally issued picture identification for 
the Applicant and all other adults who will live in the assisted household; 

• Social Security Card or other proof of Social Security number for the Applicant and 
all other adults who will live in the assisted household; 

• Household income documentation not older than 30 days; 

• Birth certificates for all minors that will live in the assisted household; and 

• Social Security Card or other proof of Social Security number for all minors in the 
assisted household who have a Social Security number assigned. 

Based on information provided in the transitional RAP Application, the Applicant may also 
be asked to bring documentation that relates to calculating the assisted household’s adjusted 
gross income.  These items may include: 

• Costs for childcare incurred so that a member of the household can work or go to 
school; 

• Costs for a care attendant or for medical equipment that allows a member of the 
household to work; and 

• Costs of out-of-pocket unreimbursed medical expenses 

If all required documentation has been provided, the Applicant will be given paperwork that 
will enable that person to begin to look for their own rental unit. 

The Applicant has 30 days from the date of the completed intake meeting to locate a rental 
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unit that complies with RAP’s program rules.  If the time for locating a unit expires, the 
Applicant must reapply if still interested in receiving rental assistance.  On a case-by-case 
basis, DMH Housing may grant an extension of time for the Applicant to find a rental unit. 
To request an extension, the Applicant’s case manager must submit a written request to the 
Processing Center, which the Processing Center then conveys to the DMH Housing staff 
person who handles RAP. 

Who Verifies SPC and RAP Eligibility? 
DMH Housing is responsible for verifying eligibility for SPC and RAP before referring an 
Applicant to a Processing Center. DMH Housing verifies the Applicant’s disability, 
homelessness or chronic homelessness, housing crisis, and supportive services.  DMH 
Housing also checks the available preliminary income information to ensure that it doesn’t 
exceed program income limits. 

Processing Centers are responsible for verifying an Applicant’s household composition and 
household income in detail based on written documentation provided to the Processing 
Center after a referral has taken place. 

Processing Centers keep income information on file for each household participating in either 
Program.  In order to prevent fraud, Processing Center staff should be observant of any 
obvious discrepancies between written information supplied by DMH Housing and that 
supplied by the Applicant.  This also applies to verbal statements made by the Applicant or 
Case Manager during the course of the intake meeting that conflict with the information 
submitted to the Processing Center by DMH Housing in a referral.  
 Return to Table of Contents 

 Return to Top of Chapter 2 
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CHAPTER THREE—Calculating Participant Income and Rent 
 FORM—DMH Income and Rent Calculation Worksheet 
 Income Eligibility 
 Included Income 
 Excluded Income 
 Gathering Income Documentation 

 FORM—Verification of Employment (Sample) 
 Technical Advisements From HUD on Certain Income Issues 
 Applicants Reporting Zero Income* 

 FORM—Shelter Plus Care Participant Zero Income Certification (Sample) 
 Calculating Tenant Gross Income 
 Calculating Tenant Adjusted Annual Income* 
 Calculating Tenant Rent 
 Exceeding Income Eligibility* 
 Return to Table of Contents 

FORM—DMH Income and Rent Calculation Worksheet 
DMH Housing recommends that all Processing Centers use the following form to compute 
Program Participants’ household income and rent. This chapter provides a detailed 
explanation of how to use the form. 

(See form on next page.)
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Income and Rent Calculation Worksheet 
For DMH Rental Assistance Programs (SPC & RAP) 
 

Participant Name: ____________________________________________ SSN: ______ - _______ - ___________ 
Address of Unit: ________________________________________________________________________________ 
Date Prepared: _______________________  Prepared By: ________________________________________ 
Type of Change: ______________________  Effective Date: _______________________________________ 

ASSETS: (examples: land (real property), annuity, savings, average checking account balance for six months, insurance policies, burial plot) 
FAMILY MEMBER DESCRIPTION OF ASSET CURRENT FACE VALUE OF ASSETS ACTUAL INCOME FROM ASSETS 

HOH: 
 

   

 
 

   

 
 

   

1.  TOTAL NET FACE VALUE OF ASSETS (Item 1): (1)  

2.  TOTAL ACTUAL INCOME FROM ASSETS (Item 2)*:  (2) 

3.  IMPUTED INCOME FROM ASSETS (Item 3)*: (3)**  

*Complete only if Item 1 is greater than $5000 **Item 1 x .02 

ANTICIPATED ANNUAL INCOME: 
FAMILY MEMBER WAGES/SALARIES SOCIAL SECURITY OTHER PUBLIC ASSISTANCE OTHER 

HOH: 
 

    

 
 

    

 
 

    

4. TOTALS:    (4) 
5. ASSET INCOME TO BE CONSIDERED (ENTER THE GREATER OF ITEM 2 OR 3): (5) 
6. TOTAL ANNUAL INCOME: (6) 

EXPENSES AND ALLOWANCE INFORMATION: 
Number of dependents under 18 (include full-time students and disabled family members) 
DO NOT include head of household, spouse or foster children. (7) ________________ 
Is the head of household or spouse at least 62 years of age or disabled? (8) Yes ____  No _____ 
Total Child Care Expenses: 
a. Expenses that enable a family member to work: (9a) _______________ 

Name of Household Member enabled to work: ___________________________________ 
 

b. Expenses that enable a family member to further education: (9b) _______________ 
Name of Household Member enabled to further education: ________________________ 

 
Total Disability Expense: (10) _______________ 
Names of Household Members enabled to work: _____________________________________ 

 
 ______________________________________ 
Total Medical Expenses Not Reimbursed by Others: (11) _______________ 
12. Total Annual Income (enter amount from item 6) (12) _______________ 

13. 3% of Annual Income (Item 12 x .03) (13) _______________ 
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14. Dependent Deduction (enter $480 x Item 7) (14) _______________ 

15. Allowable Child Care Expenses  (15) _______________ 
  (Item 9a + Item 9b BUT expenses allowed for 9a must not exceed employment 
  income of household member(s) enabled to work.) 

16. Total Disability Assistance Expense (enter amount from item 10) (16) _______________ 

17. Allowable Disability Assistance Expenses  (17) _______________ 
  (Item 16 minus Item 13 BUT never more than employment income of household 
  member(s) enabled to work.) 

18. Total Medical Expenses  (18) _______________ 
  (Enter amount from Item 11 ONLY if head of household or spouse 
  is at least 62 or disabled.) 

19. Allowable Medical Expenses  (19) _______________ 
  (Complete ONLY if head of household or spouse is at least 62 or disabled.) 

a. If Item 16 is greater than Item 13, allow all medical shown in Item 18. 
b. Otherwise, enter Item 16 + Item 18 minus Item 13 (if result is negative, enter zero). 

20. Elderly/Disabled Household Deduction  (20) _______________ 
  (Enter $400 ONLY if head of household or spouse is at least 62 or disabled.) 

21. Total Allowances (add Items 14, 15, 17, 19 & 20) (21) _______________ 

22. Annual Adjusted Income (Item 12 minus 21) (22) _______________ 

23. Monthly Income (Item 12 divided by 12 months) (23) _______________ 

24. Monthly Adjusted Income (Item 22 divided by 12 months) (24) _______________ 

25. 30% of monthly adjusted income (Item 24 x .30) (25) _______________ 

26. 10% of monthly income (Item 23 x .10) (26) _______________ 

27. Total Tenant Payment (enter larger of Item 25 or 26) (27) _______________ 

28. Contract Rent  (28) _______________ 

29. Applicable Utility Allowance (enter amount from PHA schedule) (29) _______________ 

30. Gross Rent (Item 28 + Item 29) (30) _______________ 

31. Total Tenant Payment (same as Item 27) (31) _______________ 

32. Tenant Rent  (32) _______________ 
  (Item 31 minus Item 29.  If result is negative, enter zero.) 

33. Utility Reimbursement  (33) _______________ 
  (If Item 32 is zero, enter Item 29 minus Item 31.) 

34. Housing Assistance Payment (Item 28 minus Item 32) (34) _______________ 
 

Unit is at or below FMR: Yes _____ No _____ BEDROOM SIZE: ____________ 

Unit is 1% to 10% over FMR:  Yes _____ No _____ 
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Income Eligibility 
Applicant income eligibility for both SPC and RAP is based on having a gross annual 
household income of 50% or less of the area median income (AMI) as established by HUD 
for the applicable region.  HUD updates its AMI data annually and new income limits 
typically become effective in February or March. Area median income information can be 
found at:  

http://www.huduser.org/portal/datasets/il.html 

Applicants are required by law (24 CFR Sec. 578.103) to provide all income documentation as 
a condition of participation in the Shelter Plus Care program, and are required to do so by 
DMH Housing policy to receive RAP assistance. 

Included Income 
For both Programs, income that is included in the calculation of household income consists 
of: 

1. The full amount, before any payroll deductions, of wages and salaries, overtime pay, 
commissions, fees, tips and bonuses, and other compensation for personal services;  

2. The full amount of periodic payments received from social security, annuities, 
insurance policies, retirement funds, pensions, disability or death benefits and other 
similar types of periodic receipts, including lump sum payment for delayed start of a 
periodic payment (but see “Excluded Income,” below, for excluded lump sum 
payments);  

3. Payments in lieu of earnings, such as unemployment and disability compensation, 
worker's compensation and severance pay;  

4. Welfare or other assistance payments to families or individuals, based on need, that 
are made under programs funded, separately or jointly, by Federal, State or local 
governments (e.g., Aid to Families with Dependent Children (AFDC) , Supplemental 
Security Income (551), and general assistance available through state welfare 
programs);  

5. Periodic and determinable allowances, such as alimony and child support payments, 
and regular contributions or gifts received from persons not residing in the dwelling;  

6. Net income from the operation of a business or profession;  

7. Interest, dividends, and other net income of any kind from real or personal property; 
and  

http://www.huduser.org/portal/datasets/il.html
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8. All regular pay, special pay and allowances of a member of the Armed Forces, except 
special hostile fire pay. 

Return to Top of Chapter 3 

Excluded Income 
For both Programs, income that is excluded from calculating the household’s income consists 
of: 

1. Income from employment of children (including foster children) under the age of 18 
years;  

2. Payments received for the care of foster children or foster adults (usually individuals 
with disabilities, unrelated to the tenant family, who are unable to live alone);  

3. Lump-sum additions to family assets, such as inheritances, insurance payments 
(including payments under health and accident insurance and worker's 
compensation), capital gains, and settlement for personal or property losses;  

4. Amounts received by the family, that are specifically for, or in reimbursement of, the 
cost of medical expenses for any family member;  

5. Income of a live-in aide as defined in 24 CFR Section 813.102;  

6. The full amount of student assistance paid directly to the student or to the educational 
institution;  

7. Amounts received under training programs funded by HUD;  

8. Amounts received by a disabled person that are disregarded for a limited time for 
purposes of SSI income eligibility and benefits because they are set aside for use under 
a Plan for Achieving Self-Support (PASS);   

9. Amounts received by a participant in other publicly assisted programs which are 
specifically for or in reimbursement of out-of-pocket expenses incurred (special 
equipment, clothing, transportation, child care, etc.) and which are made solely to 
allow participation in a specific program;  

10. A resident service stipend. A resident service stipend is a modest amount (not to 
exceed $200 per month) received by a resident for performing a service for the owner, 
on a part-time basis, that enhances the quality of life in the development. Such services 
may include, but are not limited to, fire patrol, hall monitoring, lawn maintenance, 
and resident initiatives coordination. No resident may receive more than one such 
stipend during the same period of time;  
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11. Compensation from state or local employment training programs and training of a 
family member as resident management staff. Amounts excluded by this provision 
must be received under employment training programs with clearly defined goals and 
objectives, and are excluded only for a limited period as determined in advance;  

12. Temporary, nonrecurring or sporadic income (including gifts);  

13. For all initial determinations and reexaminations of income carried out on or after 
April 23, 1993, reparation payments paid by a foreign government pursuant to claims 
filed under the laws of that government by persons who were persecuted during the 
Nazi era;  

14. Earnings in excess of $480 for each full time student 18 years old or older (excluding 
the head of household and spouse);  

15. Adoption assistance payments in excess of $460 per adopted child;  

16. Deferred periodic payments of SSI income and social security benefits;  

17. Amounts received by the family in the form of refunds or rebates under state or local 
law for property taxes paid on the dwelling unit;  

18. Amounts paid by a State agency to a family with a developmentally disabled family 
member living at home to offset the cost of services and equipment needed to keep the 
developmentally disabled family member at home;  

19. Amounts specifically excluded by any other federal statute from consideration as 
income for purposes of determining eligibility or benefits under a category of 
assistance programs that included assistance under the U.S. Housing Act of 1937.  

a. The value of the allotment provided to an eligible household under the Food 
Stamp Act of 1977 (7 U.S.C. 2017(b));  

b. Payments to volunteers under the Domestic Volunteer Service Act of 1973 (42 
U.S.C.5044 , 5058) ;  

c. Payments received under the Alaska Native Claims Settlement Act (43 U.S.C. 
1626);  

d. Income derived from certain submarginal land of the United States that is held in 
trust for certain Indian tribes (25 U.S.C. 459e);  

e. Payments or allowances made under the Department of Health and Human 
Services' Low-Income Home Energy Assistance Program (42 U.S.C. 8624 (f));  



  MO DMH Housing Manual August 2015 – Chapter 3 
 
 

44 
 

f. Payments received under programs funded in whole or in part under the Job 
Training Partnership Act (29 U.S.C. 1552(b));  

g. Income derived from the disposition of funds of the Grand River Band of Ottawa 
Indians (Pub.L. 94-540, 90 Stat. 2503-2504);  

h. The first $2,000 of per capita shares received from judgment funds awarded by the 
Indian Claims Commission or the Court of Claims (25 U.S.C. 1407-1408) or from 
funds held in trust for an Indian tribe by the Secretary of the Interior (25 U.S.C. 
117);  

i. Scholarships funded under Title IV of the Higher Education Act of 1965 including 
awards under the Federal work-study program or under the Bureau of Indian 
Affairs student assistance programs that are made available to cover the costs of 
tuition, fees, books, equipment, materials, supplies, transportation, and 
miscellaneous personal expenses of a student at an educational institution (20 
U.S.C. 1087uu);  

j. Payments received from programs funded under Title V of the Older Americans 
Act of 1965 (U.S.C. 3056(f) 1 ;  

k. Payments received after January 1, 1989, from the Agent Orange Settlement Fund 
or any other fund established pursuant to the settlement in the In Re Agent Orange 
product liability litigation, M.D.L. No. 381 (E.D.N.Y.); and  

l. Payments received under Maine Indian Claims Settlement Act of 1980 (Pub.L. 96-
420, 94 Stat. 1785);  

m. Earned income tax credit refund payments received from the Internal Revenue 
Service on or after January 1, 1991. Payments may be received in a resident's 
regular pay or as a single sum payment;  

n. Payments received as AmeriCorps Living Allowances (29 U.S.C. Sec. 1552);  

o. Payments received under WIC-Supplemental Food Program for Women, Infants, 
and Children;  

p. Payments received under the National School Lunch Program (42 U.S.C. 175-176);  

q. Payments received under the Child Nutrition Act (42 U.S.C. 1771-1778);  

r. Payments received under the Child Care Block Grant Act of 1990. 
Return to Top of Chapter 3 
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Gathering Income Documentation 
It is primarily the Applicant’s responsibility to provide adequate income documentation 
prior to first-time lease-up and at recertification, with the assistance of the Case Manager as 
needed. 

Income from benefits or assistance can be documented by a form or letter issued by the 
agency providing the benefits, such as the Social Security Administration.  Documentation of 
employment income must include both pay check stubs provided by the Applicant and 
information obtained by the Processing Center from the Applicant’s employer about current 
and potential overtime, scheduled future pay increases, and paid vacation and holidays.  See 
the Sample Form, “Verification of Employment,” on the next page. 
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FORM—Verification of Employment (Sample) 
 

[Name and address of employer] 
___________________________________
___________________________________
___________________________________
___________________________________
___________________________________ 

 

This information will be used only to 
determine anticipated amount of earned 
income for a 12-month period. 

Your prompt return of the requested 
information is appreciated.  

 

[Name and address of requesting agency] 

______________________________________
______________________________________
______________________________________
______________________________________
______________________________________ 

 

Employed since: _____________________________ 

Occupation: ________________________________ 

Salary: $____________________________________ 

Effective date of last increase: _________________ 

Base pay rate: $ ______ per ______ (hr. or week)  

Average hours/week at base pay rate: _________ __ 

No. weeks worked per year: ____________________ 

Overtime pay rate:  $______ /hour 

Expected average number of hours overtime worked 
per week during next 12 months: _______ 

Any other compensation not included above (specify 
for commissions, bonuses, tips, etc.): 

For: _______________ $______ per ______________ 

Is pay received for vacation?    � Yes       � No  

If Yes, number of vacation days per year: _________ 

Total base pay earnings for past 12 mos.: $________ 

Total overtime earnings for past 12 mos.: $________ 

Probability and expected date of any pay increase: 
___________________________________________ 

Does the employee have access to a 
retirement account?     � Yes       � No 

If Yes, what amount can they get access to: $______ 

RELEASE:  I hereby authorize the release of the 
requested information. 

 

_____________________________________ 
[Signature of Applicant] 

 

Date: ________________________________ 

(Or attach a copy of the agency’s release form that 
authorizes the release of the information 
requested.) 

 

Signature of _____________________________ or 
Authorized Representative  

________________________________________ 

Title: ___________________________________ 

 

Date:___________________________________ 

Telephone: ______________________________ 

WARNING: Title 18, Section 1001 of the U.S. Code states that a person is guilty of a felony for knowingly and willingly 
making false or fraudulent statements to any department of the United States Government. 
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Income documentation must be no older than 30 days in order to calculate household 
income. 

If the Processing Center is unable to adequately document household income through either 
the Applicant or by contacting third parties, processing of a first-time voucher or 
recertification must be suspended and the Processing Center should contact DMH Housing.  
In such a situation, the Processing Center must document in writing its good-faith efforts to 
obtain the necessary information. 

If the Processing Center determines that an Applicant is ineligible because of income, it must 
notify DMH Housing. 

Technical Advisements From HUD on Certain Income Issues 
In its Technical Bulletin 09-02, dated September 30, 2009, the Kansas/Missouri HUD Regional 
Office issued technical assistance on various household income calculation issues. The text of 
that Technical Bulletin is reproduced below: 

• Payroll Deductions/Garnishments – Many grantees have asked whether or not they are to 
count as part of income, monies deducted from a participant’s paycheck, such as a 
garnishment for child support or other type of garnishment.  The answer to this is YES.  
Employment income is determined by the amount of money earned by a person (Gross 
Income) and not from the amount of income a person receives after payroll deductions of 
any type (Net Income). 

• Child Support – Grantees have often asked if a person was paying child support, could 
they reduce the person’s income by that amount.  The answer to this is NO.  Again, 
income is the amount of money that a person earns.  A child support payment would be 
no different than any other expense or debt that a person pays. 

• Rounding Up on Calculations – This should not occur when calculating rent or income.  In 
the case of determining a client’s rent, it is recommended that the grantee round down to 
the nearest whole dollar.   

• Source Documentation for Employment Income Verification – It appears that most 
grantees are using a person’s paystubs as sole documentation of employment income.  
While paystubs are a good source, they should not be the only source used.  Paystubs are 
merely a “snapshot” of a particular pay period worked by the employee and do not 
accurately reflect his/her annual pay.  Essential information such as overtime worked and 
its likelihood of continuance, pay raises received and expected, number of hours an 
employee is expected to work (a paystub will only show the actual hours worked) and at 
what pay rate and frequency should be collected.  Not accounting for all of one’s income 
could lead to providing program benefits to over-income persons, which could also lead to 
not serving potentially eligible persons in need.  Additionally, it could also lead to charging 
incorrect rents to participants. 
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• Miscalculating Social Security Income – The full amount received from Social Security 
must be used to determine income.  The full amount is the total benefit that a recipient 
receives or is awarded, inclusive of the Medicare insurance premium (if the client receives 
this benefit).  HUD has found many grantees are only counting the net amount, or the 
monthly amount which is deposited into the recipient’s bank account. 

EXAMPLE 1 – PERIODIC SOCIAL SECURITY PAYMENTS 
 
Lucy Lou’s Social Security Award Letter informs her that she will be receiving $741 as a monthly 
benefit.  The letter also states that the monthly premium for her medical insurance (Medicare) of 
$96 will be deducted.  Therefore, Lucy should expect to receive a Net monthly deposit into her 
bank account in the amount of $645. 

How much is counted for projecting Lucy’s 12-month income?  The total of $741 must be counted 
for the 12-month projected income. 

A secondary issue concerning the miscalculation of Social Security income involves 
adjustments for prior overpayment of benefits.  Please see the example below: 

EXAMPLE 2 – ADJUSTMENT FOR PRIOR OVERPAYMENT OF BENEFITS 
 
Johnny Jump’s Social Security payment of $250 per month is being reduced by $25 per month for a 
period of six months to make up for a prior overpayment. 
 
In projecting Johnny’s 12-month income, count his Social Security income as $225 per month for 
the next six months and $250 per month for the remaining six months. 
 
Johnny’s income should be calculated as: 
 
                                    $1,350            ($225 x 6 months) 
                                    $1,500            ($250 x 6 months) 
                                    $2,850     
 
Johnny’s 12-month projected income would be $2,850. 

You are reminded that when Social Security or SSI Benefit income is paid in a lump sum as 
a result of deferred periodic payments, that amount is excluded from annual income.  
Additionally, if an agency is reducing a family’s or individual’s benefits to adjust for a prior 
overpayment (e.g., Social Security, SSI/SSD, TANF, or unemployment benefits), grantees 
are to count the amount that is actually provided after the adjustment. 

For guidance on determining income and calculating resident rent, see: 

• Tenant Rent Calculations for Certain HUD McKinney Act Programs: CPD-96-03  

• Annual Income Regulations:  24 CFR Subtitle A, Section 5.609 

• Mandatory Income Deductions:  24 CFR Subtitle A, Section 5.611  

• Earned Income Disallowance: 24 CFR Subtitle A, Section 5.617  

http://www.hud.gov/offices/cpd/lawsregs/notices/1996/96-3.pdf
http://frwebgate.access.gpo.gov/cgi-bin/get-cfr.cgi?TITLE=24&PART=5&SECTION=609&TYPE=TEXT
http://frwebgate.access.gpo.gov/cgi-bin/get-cfr.cgi?TITLE=24&PART=5&SECTION=611&TYPE=TEXT
http://frwebgate.access.gpo.gov/cgi-bin/get-cfr.cgi?TITLE=24&PART=5&SECTION=617&TYPE=TEXT
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Return to Top of Chapter 3 

Applicants Reporting Zero Income* 
• Shelter Plus Care Applicants and Participants: 

SPC Applicants reporting zero income do so in the Income section of the Program 
Application, and again in the Income section of Part 2, the Participant HMIS Information 
form.  Processing Centers must require new Participants reporting zero income to sign a Zero 
Income declaration during the intake process.  Processing Center staff should be aware of 
any obvious signs of fraud in regard to a claim of zero income.  If the Applicant’s statements 
or actions raise doubts about the matter, Processing Center staff should suspend the 
processing of the voucher and contact DMH Housing. 

See the next page for a sample Zero Income Certification form for use by Processing Centers. 
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FORM—Shelter Plus Care Participant Zero Income Certification (Sample) 
 

1. By my signature below, I declare that I currently do not have any cash income from any source. 

2. I agree to notify [Processing Center] about changes in my income within 30 days of the change. 

3. I agree to work with my Community Support Worker to apply for assistance for which I may 
qualify because of my disability, and/or seek full-time or part-time employment if I am able to 
work.  

4. I understand that by completing, signing, and dating this form, I declare that I have no household 
income and that the information I am providing is correct. I understand that providing false 
information may result in denial or termination of housing assistance. 

 

 

__________________________________________________ Date of Birth:  _________ / _________ / _________ 
(Print Program Participant Name) 
 
 

__________________________________________________ 
(Sign Program Participant Name) 
 
 

_________ / _________ / _________ 
 (Date) 
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SPC Participants reporting zero income are monitored through the annual recertification 
process, by the requirement to submit copies of state and federal income tax returns for all 
adults in the assisted household. New Participants should be informed of this requirement 
during the intake process by the Processing Center.  SPC Participants are required to report 
new or increased income within 30 days of receiving the income; if tax returns indicate that a 
Participant failed to report income as required, the Participant’s assistance is subject to 
termination. 

With few exceptions, no Shelter Plus Care Participant should remain at zero income for 
longer than two years. 

• RAP Participants: 

The RAP Transitional Assistance Application has a Zero Income declaration section to fill 
out. The approach to zero income transitional RAP Participants is otherwise identical to that 
described for zero income Shelter Plus Care Participants. 

RAP one-time assistance Applicants generally may not be zero-income, but documentation of 
income, beyond the information in the application itself, is not required, nor is it monitored 
after referral. 

Calculating Tenant Gross Income 
Gross household income consists of two elements: asset income and anticipated annual 
income. 

Asset Income. To be considered as part of household income, the total net value of all of a 
household’s assets must be $5000 or more. 

• Example: a household reports an having a savings account with $500 in it. The 
account is not considered an asset because its value is less than $5000, and no asset 
income will be included in the calculation of gross income. 

• Example: a household reports that it has an insurance policy with a face value of 
$4800 and a savings account containing $300.  These items combined have a value 
greater than $5000, and so must be counted as asset income. 

Asset income is determined by comparing the values of income actually generated by 
household assets to “imputed” income to be derived from all household assets, whether or 
not they actually produce income.  The larger of the two figures is included in the calculation 
of annual gross income. 

Actual income from assets may derive from interest-bearing accounts such as annuities, 
savings accounts or certificates of deposit.  Imputed income from assets is equal to 2% (the 
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“passbook rate” established by HUD) of the total face value of all household assets. These 
include the face value of any income-producing assets and the value of items such as 
currently owned real property, real property sold within the last two years at less than fair 
market rate, burial plots, and the average balance of a checking account over the past six 
months.  

• Example: see below the sample asset calculation from the DMH “Income and Rent 
Calculation Worksheet”: 

FAMILY MEMBER DESCRIPTION OF ASSET CURRENT FACE VALUE OF 
ASSETS 

ACTUAL ANNUAL INCOME 
FROM ASSETS 

HOH:  Henry 
Tudor 
 

Undeveloped lake 
lot, not being 
used 

$6,000 0 

Catherine Tudor 
(spouse) 

Met Life annuity 
inherited from 
father 

$50,000 $1,200 

 
 

Burial plot $500 0 

6.  TOTAL NET FACE VALUE OF ASSETS (Item 1): (1) $56,500  

7.  TOTAL ACTUAL INCOME FROM ASSETS (Item 2)*:  (2) $1,200 

8.  IMPUTED INCOME FROM ASSETS (Item 3)*: (3)**$1,130  

Income from the annuity, or any interest-bearing account, is counted as income even if the 
household elects to re-invest it in the annuity instead of receiving cash income from it.  
Because this household’s actual income of $1200 is greater than its imputed income of $1130, 
this household has $1200 of asset income counted as part of its annual gross income.  If this 
household had as its only asset the burial plot, no asset calculation would have been needed 
because the total value would have been under $5000.  The Asset section of the form should 
always be filled in unless there are no assets whatsoever. 

Checking Account Balance as an Asset. Employment and benefit income is not considered 
an asset; however, HUD considers an average unspent balance in a checking account to be an 
asset.  To calculate this amount, use the average monthly balance over a six-month period as 
the cash value of the checking account. 

Real Property Sold During the Past Two Years for Less Than Fair Market Rate. HUD states 
that Applicants or participants who dispose of assets for less than fair market value have, in 
essence, voluntarily reduced their ability to afford housing.  Therefore, HUD requires that 
any asset disposed of for less than fair market value during the two years preceding the 
income calculation be counted as if the household still owned the asset.  

Each applicant must certify whether an asset has been disposed of for less than fair market 
value during the two years preceding the income determination. Assets disposed of for less 
than fair market value as a result of foreclosure or bankruptcy are not included in this 
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calculation.  In the case of a disposition as part of a separation or divorce settlement, the 
disposition will not be considered to be less than fair market value if the applicant receives 
(or received) important consideration not measurable in dollar terms. 

The amount to be included as an asset for purposes of calculating imputed income is the 
difference between the cash value of the asset and the amount that was actually received (if 
any) in the disposition of the asset. 

• Example: Real Property Sold Below Fair Market Value. Henry Tudor sells 
property to his wife’s cousin for $30,000 on July 1, 2010. The property was valued 
at $50,000 and had no loans against it.  

$50,000 Fair market value  
-$30,000 Actual sale price 
-$3,000 Transaction cost 
$17,000 Amount under fair market value 

The $17,000 would be counted as an asset for any income determination conducted until July 
1, 2012. This amount would be combined with the cash value of other assets, if any, and an 
imputed income calculation would be required.  

It is important for Processing Centers to track the two-year period of applicability of this type 
of asset.  After two years have elapsed since the sale of such an asset, the Program 
Participant’s gross income must be recalculated to remove the former asset. 

Anticipated Annual Income. Anticipated annual income is simply the sum of all current 
sources of includable income expressed as annual income.  For instance, an Applicant whose 
current sole income is employment paying $8 per hour and the Applicant works 35 hours per 
week, the annual income is the result of $8 x 35 hours/week x 52 weeks = $14,560 annual 
income.  Processing Centers should always assume that current income will be valid for 12 
months until a change is reported by the Applicant or Case Manager. 

• Example: see the sample below from the DMH Income and Rent Calculation form 
for anticipated annual income calculation: 
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FAMILY MEMBER WAGES/SALARIES SOCIAL SECURITY OTHER PUBLIC 
ASSISTANCE OTHER 

HOH:  Henry 
Tudor 

0 $8,328 
(SSDI) 

0 0 

Catherine 
Tudor 
(spouse) 

$12,000 0 0 0 

Elizabeth 
Tudor (child) 
 

0 0 0 0 

9. TOTALS: 12,000 8,328 0 (4) $20,328 
10. ASSET INCOME TO BE CONSIDERED (ENTER THE GREATER OF ITEM 2 OR 3): (5) $1,200 
12. TOTAL ANNUAL INCOME: (6) $21,528 

Return to Top of Chapter 3 

Documenting Annual Income—Employment Income. Processing Centers must at a 
minimum obtain employment pay stubs for the past 30 days from the Applicant and obtain 
verification of employment from the Applicant’s employer. In addition to verifying the fact 
of employment, the verification process must also document supplemental income such as 
bonuses, commissions, overtime pay and planned pay raises.   

Seasonal, overtime and other types of employment income that do not last a full 12 months 
should be calculated as if they are available for 12 months continuously. Applicants must 
notify the Processing Center when overtime or seasonal pay ceases so that gross income can 
be recalculated appropriately. 

If the employer documents that a raise in pay is scheduled for a definite future date, the 
Processing Center can include this information in income calculations. 

• Example: Henry Tudor earns $7.25 per hour when he first leases up as a Shelter 
Plus Care Participant on March 1, 2010.  His employer shows that he will receive a 
pay increase to $8.00 per hour on June 1, 2010.  He gets paid for holidays. 

$7.25/hour x 8 hours x 66 paid days =  $3,828 
$8.00/hour x 8 hours x 195 paid days =  $12,480 
 $16,308 gross annual income 

Benefits Income. If the Applicant receives any form of public assistance such as Social 
Security Disability Insurance (SSDI), Supplemental Security Income (SSI), Temporary 
Assistance for Needy Families (TANF) or Unemployment Insurance, the Applicant must 
provide to the Processing Center an Award Letter or other document documenting the 
amount of weekly or monthly assistance and the duration of the award. 
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Calculating Tenant Adjusted Annual Income* 
24 CFR Section 5.611 provides for several adjustments and deductions in calculating adjusted 
annual income; these adjustments are mandatory in any case where they apply: 

1. $480 for each dependent; 

2. $400 for any elderly family or disabled family (can only be applied once per 
household); 

3. The sum of the following, to the extent the sum exceeds three percent of annual 
income: 

a. Unreimbursed medical expenses of any elderly family or disabled family; and 

b. Unreimbursed reasonable attendant care and auxiliary apparatus expenses for each 
member of the family who is a person with disabilities, to the extent necessary to 
enable any member of the family (including the member who is a person with 
disabilities) to be employed. This deduction may not exceed the earned income 
received by family members who are 18 years of age or older and who are able to 
work because of such attendant care or auxiliary apparatus; and 

4. Any reasonable child care expenses necessary to enable a member of the family to be 
employed or to further his or her education. 

• Example: see the example below from the DMH “Income and Rent Calculation 
Worksheet” for calculating adjusted annual income: 
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Number of dependents under 18 (include full-time students and disabled family members) 
DO NOT include head of household, spouse or foster children. (7) _____1_______ 

Is the head of household or spouse at least 62 years of age or disabled? (8) Yes __x_  No ____ 
Total Child Care Expenses: 
c. Expenses that enable a family member to work:  (9a) _____0______ 

Name of Household Member enabled to work: ______________________________ 

d. Expenses that enable a family member to further education:  (9b) __$1800_____ 
Name of Household Member enabled to further education: __Catherine Tudor______ 

Total Disability Expense: (10) _____0______ 
Names of Household Members enabled to work: _______________________________ 
Total Medical Expenses Not Reimbursed by Others: (11) ___$625____ 

12. Total Annual Income (enter amount from item 6) (12) _$21,528___ 

13. 3% of Annual Income (Item 12 x .03) (13) ___$645____ 

14. Dependent Deduction (enter $480 x Item 7) (14) ___$480____ 

15. Allowable Child Care Expenses  (15) ___$1800_ _ 
  (Item 9a + Item 9b BUT expenses allowed for 9a must not exceed employment 
  income of household member(s) enabled to work.) 

16. Total Disability Assistance Expense (enter amount from item 10) (16) ____0______ 

17. Allowable Disability Assistance Expense  (17) ____0______ 
  (Item 16 minus Item 13 BUT never more than employment income of household 
  member(s) enabled to work.) 

18. Total Medical Expenses  (18) ____$625___ 
  (Enter amount from Item 11 ONLY if head of household or spouse 
  is at least 62 or disabled.) 

19. Allowable Medical Expenses  (19) ____0______ 
  (Complete ONLY if head of household or spouse is at least 62 or disabled.) 
 a.  If Item 16 is greater than Item 13, allow all medical shown in Item 18. 
 b.  Otherwise, enter Item 16 + Item 18 minus Item 13 (if result is negative, enter zero). 

20. Elderly/Disabled Household Deduction  (20) _____$400___ 
  (Enter $400 ONLY if head of household or spouse is at least 62 or disabled.) 

21. Total Allowances (add Items 14, 15, 17, 19 & 20) (21) ____$2680___ 

22. Annual Adjusted Income (Item 12 minus 21) (22) __$18,848___ 

Calculating Tenant Rent 
When calculating tenant rent, always round decimals down to the nearest whole number 
when they affect how much a household will pay for rent. 

• Example: continuing with the Tudor household, see the example below from the 
DMH “Income and Rent Calculation Worksheet” for calculating tenant rent:  
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22. Annual Adjusted Income (Item 12 minus 21) (22) __$18,848___ 

23. Monthly Income (Item 12 divided by 12 months) (23) __$1,794____ 

24. Monthly Adjusted Income (Item 22 divided by 12 months) (24) __$1,570____ 

25. 30% of monthly adjusted income (Item 24 x .30) (25) __$471______ 

26. 10% of monthly income (Item 23 x .10) (26) __$179______ 

27. Total Tenant Payment (enter larger of Item 25 or 26) (27) __$471______ 

28. Contract Rent  (28) __$650______ 

29. Applicable Utility Allowance (enter amount from PHA schedule) (29) __$97_______ 

30. Gross Rent (Item 28 + Item 29) (30) __$747______ 

31. Total Tenant Payment (same as Item 27) (31) __$471______ 

32. Tenant Rent  (32) __$374______ 

  (Item 31 minus Item 29.  If result is negative, enter zero.) 

33. Utility Reimbursement  (33) __$0________ 

  (If Item 32 is zero, enter Item 29 minus Item 31.) 

34. Housing Assistance Payment (Item 28 minus Item 32) (34) __$276______ 
 

Exceeding Income Eligibility* 
Applicants must have a gross income that is 50% or less of their Area Median Income (AMI) 
in order to qualify for SPC and transitional RAP assistance; however, if a current Participant 
household reaches a gross income level above 50% of AMI, the household does not 
automatically exit from the program.  Rather, the household’s calculated Total Tenant 
Payment (TTP) must reach 100% of the Housing Assistance Payment (HAP) for the 
household’s eligibility to end. A household may reach 50% or above of AMI and still not pay 
100% of their HAP because of the various deductions applied in the calculation of adjusted 
annual income. 

When a Participant household does attain an income where it will be responsible for paying 
100% of its HAP, DMH Housing applies the same policy used in Section 8 programs: the 
household remains active in the program for six months following the calculation of its 
ability to pay 100% HAP, and remains subject to all program requirements during that time, 
including recertification. If the household reports an income change during the six-month 
period that reduces its TTP to below 100% of HAP, the household will continue to have 
program eligibility; if the household pays 100% of its HAP for six consecutive months, it will 
be considered to have exited the program at that point. 

Processing Centers should notify the household in writing when it has reached a 100% HAP 
income level, and explain the six-month policy. The household must be included on the 
monthly invoice during the six-month period (see “Households Paying 100 Percent of HAP” 
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in Chapter 5 for further information).  

 Return to Table of Contents 

 Return to Top of Chapter 3 
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CHAPTER FOUR—Processing and Administering SPC and RAP Vouchers 
 Meeting With Processing Centers for Initial Client Intake* 
 Length of Time to Look for a Rental Unit; Extensions of Time* 
 Limits on Location of Rental Unit 
 Verification of Household Information* 
 Occupancy Standards for SPC and RAP* 
 Full-Time Caregivers in SPC- and RAP-Assisted Households 
 Homeless Management Information Systems (HMIS)* 
 Fair Market Rent 
 Rent Increases by Landlords 
 Rent Reasonableness 

 FORM—Rent Reasonableness Survey and Certification (Sample) 
 Housing Quality Standards* 
 Landlord Documents 
 Lease Approval and HAP Execution 
 Required Annual and Interim Recertifications 

 FORM—Recertification and HQS Inspection Notice Letter (Sample) 
 Termination of Rental Assistance 

 FORM—Notice of Termination of Rental Assistance (Sample) 
 FORM—Program/Lease Voluntary Termination Form Letter (Sample) 

 Termination of Lease and Moving 
 Eviction 
 Death or Long-Term Absence From the Unit 
 Short-Term Absence From the Unit 
 Landlord Participation  
 Security Deposits and Damages 

 Utility Allowance 
 Adjustments of Tenant Rent 
 Return to Table of Contents 

Meeting With Processing Centers 
for Initial Client Intake* 
Before proceeding with the intake meeting, 
Processing Center staff should verbally 
verify the contents of the DMH referral with 
the Case Manager and Applicant, including 
the Applicant’s homeless status (for SPC) or 
housing crisis (for RAP), their proposed 
household composition, and their sources of 
income, if any.  If no issues are found that 
disqualify the Applicant from proceeding or 
that require a delay, the Processing Center 
will begin the intake meeting with the 
Applicant. Processing Centers may hold 
initial intake meetings individually or in 
small groups.   

Processing a Rental Subsidy 
 

• Review application referred from DMH 
Housing 

• Collect Applicant and household 
documentation 

• Review program guidelines and Household 
Obligations 

• Sign additional Processing Center forms 
• Review method of rent calculation 
• Processing Center prepares rent subsidy 

document 
• Review Landlord Packet and steps for 

lease up: 
• Review lease 
• Rent Reasonableness Survey 
• HAP Contract 
• HQS 
• Review methods for finding a unit 
• Lease signing 
• Participant moves in 
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During the intake meeting, it is essential that Processing Center staff discuss with both the 
Applicant and the Case Manager all of the following items, and provide written information 
where applicable: 

• The obligations of all persons who will reside in the assisted household (see the 
form, “Household Obligations,” in Chapter 8). 

• For RAP-assisted households, the obligation of all Participants to accept an offer of 
permanent housing assistance (such as a Housing Choice/Section 8 Voucher) when 
such an offer is made.  

• The legal rights and responsibilities of tenants and landlords. 

• The policy for maintaining the privacy of the Participant’s personal information. 

• How to find a suitable rental unit and how long the Participant has to find a unit. 

• The specific area where the Participant can lease a unit as defined by the Program 
the Participant is assigned to and other relevant factors (see “Limits on Location of 
Rental Unit,” below).   

• How to get the Landlord documents completed and returned to the Processing 
Center (see Chapter 8, “Landlord Documents”).   

• Required information about potential lead-based paint hazards in rental housing.  
Processing Centers must provide to Participants an informational pamphlet from 
the U.S. Environmental Protection Agency on lead-based paint hazards in homes 
and at work, found at: 

http://www.hud.gov/offices/lead/library/enforcement/pyf_eng.pdf 

• Information about the size of rental unit (number of bedrooms), who can reside in 
the unit, and the amount of rent the Participant should look for when seeking 
housing. 

• Information about how the Participant’s share of the rent is calculated and how 
much rent will be paid to the Landlord by the Processing Center.  

• Information about the recertification process and the requirement to provide copies 
of state and federal income tax returns as part of that process.  

• Federal, State and, where applicable, local fair housing laws.  The rights and 
remedies regarding housing discrimination will be explained. 

• For all households with children, information regarding the local school districts’ 
Homeless Coordinators and the Missouri Department of Elementary and 
Secondary Education’s (DESE) efforts to ensure full access to a free and 
appropriate public education for children in households experiencing 
homelessness. This includes ensuring full and equal access to all federally, locally 

http://www.hud.gov/offices/lead/library/enforcement/pyf_eng.pdf
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and state-funded pre-school programs, food programs and before-and-after school 
care programs, as well as ensuring that homeless children are not segregated in 
any way from their peers. Complete information on DESE’s efforts with homeless 
children and runaway youth is available at: 

http://dese.mo.gov/quality-schools/federal-programs/homeless/serving-
homeless-children 

• Information about accessing the Missouri State Highway Patrol’s Sex Offender 
Registry web site at: 

http://www.mshp.dps.missouri.gov/MSHPWeb/PatrolDivisions/CRID/SOR/
SORPage.html 

Length of Time to Look for a Rental Unit; Extensions of Time* 
Once the Applicant completes the intake meeting and has all necessary paperwork, time 
begins to run on the 30-day period to locate a rental unit.  Case Managers are required to 
assist Applicants in the housing search. 

Applicants who are unable to locate a rental unit within 30 days because of extenuating 
circumstances such as illness or hospitalization may request up to a 30-day extension of time 
from the Processing Center.  The request for an extension must be submitted in writing to 
the Processing Center by the Participant’s Case Manager.  Processing Centers must obtain 
written approval for the time extension from a member of DMH Housing.   

If the extension expires and a unit has not been located, the Applicant must reapply to DMH 
Housing through a DMH-contracted Provider. 

Limits on Location of Rental Unit 
Every Participant approved to receive DMH housing assistance is assigned to a source of 
funding. The funding source defines, in part, where the Participant can lease a rental unit; 
other factors affect the location of the unit as well. The Processing Center must ensure that 
each Participant leases a rental unit using the following factors to limit the location: 

• It must be within the State of Missouri; 
• For Shelter Plus Care Participants, it must be within the geographic area defined by 

the HUD grant to which the Participant is assigned.  See the following table for the 
exact location covered by each Shelter Plus Care grant in the CoC-funded area: 

  

http://dese.mo.gov/quality-schools/federal-programs/homeless/serving-homeless-children
http://dese.mo.gov/quality-schools/federal-programs/homeless/serving-homeless-children
http://www.mshp.dps.missouri.gov/MSHPWeb/PatrolDivisions/CRID/SOR/SORPage.html
http://www.mshp.dps.missouri.gov/MSHPWeb/PatrolDivisions/CRID/SOR/SORPage.html
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Processing Center and Grants Location Covered by Grant 

Queen of Peace Center – SZL, SZE St. Louis County 
Queen of Peace Center – SCS, SCL, SZQ St. Louis City 
Places for People – SZA, SZF St. Louis County 
Places for People – SZP St. Louis City 
St. Patrick Center – SZN St. Louis County 
St. Patrick Center – SCY, SZB, SCQ St. Louis City 

SAVE, Inc. – SCV, SCE, SCK, SCD, SZD, SCI, SCM, SCG Jackson County and Clay County within 
Kansas City city limits  

Kim Wilson Housing –SCX, SCZ, SCO Jackson County and Clay County within 
Kansas City city limits 

Kim Wilson Housing – SZI Ray, Lafayette, Johnson, Henry, Cass, 
Bates Counties 

Kim Wilson Housing – SCJ Andrew, Buchanan, DeKalb Counties 
Ozark Area Community Action Corporation – SCG Greene, Christian, Webster Counties 
Ozark Area Community Action Corporation – SCT Stone and Taney Counties 

Economic Security Corporation – SCN, SZJ Jasper and Newton Counties 

Delta Area Economic Opportunity Corporation - SCB Stoddard, Scott, Mississippi, New 
Madrid, Pemiscot, Dunklin Counties 

Central Missouri Community Action Agency – SZM Cole, Audrain, Callaway, Cooper 
Counties 

Eastern Missouri Action Agency – SCF St. Francois County 

North East Community Action Corporation – SCH Ralls and Marion Counties 
COMTREA – SZH Jefferson and Franklin Counties 
Housing Authority of the City of Kirksville – SCA Adair County 
Pathways Behavioral Health – SZK Vernon County 

Ozark Foothills Regional Planning Commission – SCP Butler, Ripley, Wayne Counties 

Missouri Ozarks Community Action, Inc. – SCR Phelps, Pulaski, Laclede, Miller, 
Camden Counties 

Missouri Valley Community Action Agency – SZO Johnson, Saline, Pettis Counties 
Ozark Action, Inc. – SCW Howell County 

 
• It must be within the area normally served by the local Processing Center;  
• It must be within a reasonable driving distance of the Processing Center’s business 

office, because Processing Center staff must be able to visit the unit to perform 
inspections and other tasks related to administering housing assistance; 

• It must be within the area served by the agency that provides the Participant’s 
support services—sometimes called a “catchment area.”  The Participant’s case 
manager is responsible for ensuring that the Participant seeks rental housing in the 
area the support services agency serves; and 

• It must be in an area where the Participant can realistically access essential services 
and amenities. 
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Note that SPC and RAP vouchers are not “portable.” DMH cannot accommodate requests to 
move an assisted household outside the area served by the applicable program and the local 
Processing Center. 

Verification of Household Information* 
Valid forms of identification must be provided to the Processing Center by all household 
members.  Adults must have a valid driver's license or non-driver identification or a state or 
federally issued military identification.  Picture identification for minors should also be 
provided if available.  Birth certificates must be submitted for all minors; birth certificates are 
not required for adults.  Copies of all identification documents are maintained in the 
Applicant’s Program file.   

Applicants and family members must submit documentation of their complete and accurate 
Social Security numbers—either a Social Security card or a letter from the federal Social 
Security Administration indicating the Applicant’s number.   

Applicants who are divorced or separated and claiming to have custody of minor dependent 
children to be included in the assisted household must provide a copy of their divorce decree 
or most recent court-approved child custody documents. For children returning to the 
custody of an Applicant after being in foster care, the Processing Center requires a letter from 
the Missouri Department of Social Services Children’s Division with the child or children’s 
names and the date they will be returning to the Applicant’s custody. 

Non-citizen Applicants must provide documentation of their status as lawful permanent U.S. 
residents in the form of a federally issued Permanent Resident Card. 
Return to Top of Chapter 4 

Occupancy Standards for SPC and RAP* 
Determination of the rental unit size is made in accordance with the following table: 

 
Rental Assisted Unit 

Bedroom Size 
Number of Persons 

Minimum Maximum 
1 1 2 
2 2 4 
3 3 6 
4 5 8 

In addition, household composition is taken into account and unit size is also based on the 
following: 

Unit Size Family Composition 
1 1 adult or 2 adults (couple) 
2 2 adults of the same or opposite sex living together in a non-conjugal relationship 
2 1 adult and 1 child 
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Unit Size Family Composition 
2 2 adults (couple) and 1 child of any age 
2 1 adult and 2 same-sex children 
2 1 adult or a couple and 2 opposite sex children, both under 6 years of age 

3 1 adult or a couple and 2 opposite sex children when one child is at least 6 years of 
age 

3 1 adult and 3 same sex children or opposite sex children all under 6 years of age 
3 2 adults (couple) and 3 children 

3 
1 adult or a couple and 4 children (either all of the same sex or any combination 
where 2 children of the opposite sex will not share a bedroom unless both are under 
the age of 6 years) 

4 1 adult or a couple and 4 children, 3 of the same sex and 1 of the opposite sex, 
when all children are at least 6 years of age 

4 
1 adult or a couple and any 5 to 7 children, providing children do not have to share a 
bedroom with the parent(s) or with a child of the opposite sex when either is over the 
age of 6 years 

The DMH Housing Director considers requests for exceptions because of health needs or 
other circumstances on a case-by-case basis. Such requests must be accompanied by 
appropriate documentation, such as a doctor's statement. Except in exceptional 
circumstances, Participants should never be allowed to move into a unit with more bedrooms 
than the minimum number, even if the contract rent is in line with a smaller unit size. 

Custody issues can significantly affect the size of the rental unit for an assisted household.  
When a Program Participant has a minor child not currently in his or her full legal custody 
and wants to include that minor in the assisted household, DMH Housing’s policies are as 
follows: 

• When the Participant shares custody of a minor with another person, the 
Participant must have at least 50% (joint) custody of the minor to include the minor 
in the household. Proof of the custody arrangement must be submitted to DMH 
Housing. 

• When the Participant currently lacks any custody of the minor but will be fully re-
united with the minor as soon as permanent housing is established, that minor will 
be counted as part of the assisted household. Proof of the impending reunification 
must be submitted to the Processing Center, and can consist of a letter from the 
Missouri Department of Social Services Children’s Division. 

• When the Participant currently lacks any custody of the minor and reunification 
will not occur automatically on establishing permanent housing, the Participant 
and Case Manager must document that the process of reuniting parent and child is 
well underway and will occur within six months of establishing permanent 
housing.  Information regarding this process must be submitted to DMH Housing 
and each case will be considered individually. 
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• If none of the above conditions exist, then the minor or minors proposed as part of 
the household will not be allowed to be formally in the household, and the unit 
size will be designated without considering the minors. 

Full-Time Caregivers in SPC- and RAP-Assisted Households 
Some Program Applicants require a full-time live-in caregiver to cope with a disability, and 
often such caregivers are family members.  DMH allows this in its SPC and RAP programs 
with the following restrictions: 

• A caregiver must provide a major portion of the care and oversight for a Program 
Applicant. 

• A Medical Doctor must prepare and sign a statement that says the Applicant needs 
a caregiver in order to live in their own place.  This letter should address the level 
of care that the Applicant needs and the type of services the caregiver will be 
providing.  Processing Centers will request a new statement documenting the need 
for a caregiver at each annual recertification. 

• If the caregiver is employed outside of the home and only provides minimal 
support to the Applicant, then DMH Housing does not consider this person to be a 
caregiver and would count that person’s outside income in the total household 
income. 

• If the caregiver receives income from any source that is specifically designated for 
the care of the Applicant, DMH does not count this income in the total household 
income. 

• If the caregiver receives no income then there is no impact on the household 
income.  Usually, if the caregiver has SSI benefits and has lived in the household all 
along with the Applicant, DMH Housing counts their income and does not 
consider them as an official care provider. However, if the person leaves their own 
household to care for the Applicant then DMH Housing usually does not count 
their income because they left their own housing situation to care for a family 
member.  

Return to Top of Chapter 4 

Homeless Management Information Systems (HMIS)* 

All Processing Centers are contractually required to collect Homeless Management 
Information System (HMIS) data for DMH Housing, as required by HUD. DMH determines 
the manner in which the data will be entered into the local Continuum of Care HMIS system. 
If required, Processing Centers enter the data as well as collect it. 
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A Participants’ HMIS data must be collected as part of the Shelter Plus Care intake process. 
Data, whether entered in HMIS by Processing Center staff or DMH Housing staff, must be 
entered upon program entry and updated at least once per year in connection with the 
recertification process.  Processing Centers that do HMIS entry must ensure that all data 
entry is accurate and timely.  

Processing Centers that send collected HMIS data to DMH Housing for entry do so using the 
“HMIS Update Form” and the “HMIS Update Form—Additional Persons.”  Both of these 
forms were revised in August 2015 to improve usability and because of HUD updates in data 
collection.  See Chapter 8, “Forms and Online Resources.” 

Processing Centers that do HMIS data entry must have at least one staff member approved 
by the agency to have a user’s license for the local HMIS.  This means the employee will have 
undergone required training beforehand and has passed one or more tests to ensure a 
minimum level of knowledge of how to enter data in the HMIS.  HMIS users must also 
attend any CoC-required HMIS training.  Trained employees and the agency will have also 
signed agreements to obey the Federal regulations and CoC rules regarding the preservation 
of Participant confidentiality. 

As of 2015, Missouri Continuums of Care are using seven separate HMIS databases.  Some 
HMIS providers maintain more than one database, but each is distinct in some way because 
the data collection protocols vary slightly.  These systems are: 

Continuum Served System Provider System Name 
St. Louis City and St. Louis 
County (both share the same 
database) 

MISI Compass Rose 

St. Charles-Lincoln-Warren 
Counties Caseworthy, Inc. Caseworthy 

Springfield/Greene-Webster- 
Christian Counties MISI Compass Rose 

Balance of State MISI Compass Rose 

Kansas City/Jackson County Mid-America Assistance 
Coalition (MAAC) MAACLink 

St. Joseph/Andrew-Buchanan- 
DeKalb Counties MAAC MAACLink 

Joplin/Jasper-Newton Counties MISI Compass Rose 

Fair Market Rent 

Both SPC and RAP use the HUD concept of “Fair Market Rent” to establish a limit on the 
amount of rent that can be charged for any given unit assisted by these Programs.  HUD 
updates annually in October the Fair Market Rents (FMRs) for each Metropolitan area of the 
United States, and for each rural county not included in a Metropolitan area.   
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All Processing Centers must have the most current information about Fair Market Rent.  
Processing Centers can obtain the most current data from HUD at the following site: 

http://www.huduser.org/datasets/fmr.html 

Fair Market Rent represents both the cost of rent and the cost of utilities—gas, electric, water, 
garbage collection, etc.  Thus, if a Participant chooses a rental unit where the utilities are 
included in the contract rent, SPC and RAP can pay up the maximum FMR amount for that 
unit.  For units that do not include utilities as part of the rent, the Processing Center obtains 
written information from the Landlord describing what utilities are present in the unit, and 
which ones are paid for by the tenant and which by the Landlord.  The Processing Center 
then calculates a total cost for the utilities.  That cost, plus the proposed contract rent, must be 
equal to or less than the FMR for SPC or RAP to pay the rent on that unit. 

When to apply new FMRs:   

• Shelter Plus Care: Processing Centers must always apply the Fair Market Rate that 
was used to compute the amount of funding in a Shelter Plus Care grant. Adhering 
to the original set of FMRs is essential because HUD computes grant funds directly 
from those numbers, and using a different set will tend to cause overspending of 
funds, given that FMRs usually rise each year.  This is true for all SPC grants—
those in one-year renewal status and those in their original multi-year status. 

DMH Housing carefully monitors the effect of FMRs on grant spending.  For 
grants that are serving at least their minimum number of households and which 
are generally underspent, DMH Housing will, on a case-by-case basis, consider the 
possibility of using a newer and more expensive set of FMRs if doing so will 
benefit program Participants. 

• RAP: RAP funds are not tied to FMRs in the same way as Shelter Plus Care; 
therefore new FMRs can be applied to RAP-funded households when they become 
effective (normally on October 1st of each year).  For clients in the midst of looking 
for housing when new FMRs go into effect, apply the figures in effect on the date a 
Participant turns in paperwork from an owner to the Processing Center that 
demonstrates an agreement to rent to the Participant (i.e., a completed “Request for 
Tenancy Approval” form or the equivalent). 

Rent Increases by Landlords 

Landlords may request an increase in rent once per year when a client is undergoing 
recertification. The increase may be part of the process of signing a new one-year lease with 
the Participant.  If no new lease is requested, Landlords are responsible for requesting rent 

http://www.huduser.org/datasets/fmr.html
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increases annually during recertification.  A DMH Housing Staff person must approve any 
increase in rent before it goes into effect. In the St. Louis region, contact Judy Johnson for rent 
increase approvals; in the Kansas City area, contact Amy Copeland (see the Introduction, 
“DMH Housing Staff Contact Information”).  For all other requests, contact the DMH 
Housing Unit at 573-751-9206 or housing@dmh.mo.gov. 

Rent Reasonableness 

HUD also requires that all rents for units assisted by Shelter Plus Care be “reasonable.”  
“Rent Reasonableness” Surveys are required for all newly assisted units in Shelter Plus Care 
(and under some other circumstances described below). 

Determining Rent Reasonableness involves two comparisons. First, the Processing Center 
must compare the rent for the SPC unit to the rents for three similar unassisted units in the 
marketplace. Second, the Processing Center must compare the rent to rents for three similar 
units on the same premises (or other units owned by the same Landlord). 

Processing Centers must conduct Rent Reasonableness Surveys on all SPC-assisted units 
under the following circumstances: 

• Before a HAP Contract is signed (i.e., for a first-time rental for a new Participant; 
and for when an existing Participant moves to a new unit); and 

• For any unit whose rent has increased. 

To conduct a Rent Reasonableness survey, the Processing Center must determine whether the 
rent asked by the owner is a reasonable rent in comparison to rent for three other comparable 
unassisted units.  In determining comparability, the Processing Center must consider: 

• Location, quality, size, unit type, and age of the contract unit, and 

• Amenities, housing services, maintenance, and utilities the owner must provide 
under the lease. 

Comparable units examined in a Rent Reasonableness Survey must have contract rents 
within $50 of the unit being surveyed to be considered rent reasonable. 

If a unit is found to be “rent reasonable,” its contract rent plus utilities may exceed the 
relevant Fair Market Rent rate by up to 10%. Units that exceed the Fair Market Rent must be 
approved by DMH Housing in writing. 

See the Sample Form, “Rent Reasonableness Survey and Certification,” on the next page. 
Return to Top of Chapter 4 

mailto:housing@dmh.mo.gov
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FORM—Rent Reasonableness Survey and Certification (Sample) 
 

RENT REASONABLENESS 
SURVEY 

Subject 
Property 

Comparison 
#1 

Comparison 
#2 

Comparison 
#3  

1. Address 
 
 

    Is Contract Rent for 
subject property in line 
with owner’s similar 
unassisted units? 
 
Yes ____     No ____ 
 
Is Contract Rent for 
subject property in line 
with owner’s similar 
assisted units? 
 
Yes ____     No ____ 
 

2. Square Feet 
 

    

3. Bedrooms 
 

    

4. Bathrooms 
 

    

5. Location 
 

    

6. Unit Type (house, apt., 
high rise, etc.) 

    In accordance with 24 
CFR 882.106, I certify that 
based on information 
available to this office, 
the requested Contract 
Rent: 
 
is reasonable   ____  
 
 
is not reasonable  ____ 
 
 
By: 
 
 
_____________________ 
[Name] 
 
Agency: 
 
_____________________ 
 
Date: 
 
_____________________ 
 
 

7. HQS Quality (A+,A,B,C) 
 

    

8. Amenities (list) 
   
   
   
  
 

    

9. Access to shopping 
and services (good, 
fair, poor) 

    

10. Year Built 
 

    

11. Contract 
Rent*(includes owner 
provided utilities) 

 

 *must be within $50 
of subject unit 

*must be within $50 
of subject unit 

*must be within $50 
of subject unit 

12. Utility Allowance (to 
cover tenant paid 
utilities) 

 
 

    

13. Gross Rent (contract 
rent + utility 
allowance) 

 

    

14. Fair Market Rent 
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Housing Quality Standards* 

Any unit approved for SPC or RAP assistance must conform to the Housing Quality 
Standards (HQS) set forth in the Code of Federal Regulations and outlined in the HQS 
Inspection Form. Information about HQS and a link to the Inspection form can be found at: 

http://portal.hud.gov/hudportal/documents/huddoc?id=DOC_11742.pdf 

Before executing the Housing Assistance Payment contract, a Processing Center Inspector 
inspects the rental unit and documents the results on the Inspection Checklist.  If the 
Inspector finds deficiencies, she will notify the Landlord and will require the Landlord to 
correct all deficiencies prior to execution of the Housing Assistance Payment contract.  
Additional inspections may be conducted periodically. 

On initial inspection, the Inspector has the right to fail a unit if she feels the Landlord will not 
make the repairs in a reasonable time or if there are many deficiencies noted on the first 
inspection.  The Processing Center will notify the Landlord in writing that the unit has been 
rejected and that the program participant will be seeking another unit. 

Each unit shall be inspected annually.  If deficiencies are found, the owner and tenant shall be 
informed in writing.  The owner is responsible for completing all necessary repairs within 30 
days, as stated on the notice.  All units failing an HQS inspection will be re-inspected to 
determine compliance.  If a unit does not meet HQS within the time frame set out on the HQS 
Notice of Violation, Housing Assistance Payments may be withheld on the first day of the 
following month.  If the required repairs are not completed within the next 30 days, the 
Housing Assistance Payments contract may terminate immediately.  When Housing 
Assistance Payments are withheld, both the owner and the tenant are notified in writing.  
This notification will inform both of the possibility of contract termination. 

Quality control inspections of tenant units may be conducted by the DMH Housing Staff.  
HUD staff may also do HQS inspections. 

DMH Housing maintains HQS training materials for inspectors at the DMH Housing Web 
site at: 

http://dmh.mo.gov/housing/housingunit/housingdevelopment.html 

Landlord Documents 

The Processing Center will rely on the Participant to convey for completion a set of 
documents to a Landlord who has agreed to rent to the Participant.  These documents are 
often known collectively as a “Landlord Packet” and consist of the following: 

http://portal.hud.gov/hudportal/documents/huddoc?id=DOC_11742.pdf
http://dmh.mo.gov/housing/housingunit/housingdevelopment.html
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• IRS Form W-9, “Request for Taxpayer Identification Number and Certification”—
this form is available at: 

http://www.irs.gov/pub/irs-pdf/fw9.pdf?portlet=3 

• Disclosure of Information on Lead-Based Paint and/or Lead-Based Paint Hazards – 
this form is available at: 

http://portal.hud.gov/hudportal/documents/huddoc?id=DOC_12345.pdf  

• Request for Tenancy Approval 

• Tenant-Based Rental Assistance Payments Contract 

• Landlord, Agent or Management Company Contact Information 

• Unit Data Sheet 

• Other instructions or information for Landlords about DMH rental assistance 
programs, HQS requirements, lead-based paint requirements, Landlord 
obligations, etc., as deemed needed or useful by the Processing Center. 

See Chapter 8, “Forms and Online Resources,” for samples of the above forms.  Processing 
Centers may wish to develop their own set of instructions to Landlords on completing these 
forms correctly, as well as information sheets about other aspects of renting to voucher 
program participants.  Along with a signed Lease, the forms must be completed by the 
Landlord and returned to the Processing Center before the Participant can move into the 
assisted unit.  The “Unit Data Sheet” is optional, but the information requested on that form 
is required to perform a Rent Reasonableness Survey. 
Return to Top of Chapter 4 

Lease Approval and HAP Execution 

A lease is a legal contract between the Participant and the Landlord.  The Housing Assistance 
Payment contract (HAP) is a legal contract between the Processing Center and the Landlord.  
See Chapter 8, “Forms and Online Resources,” for samples of these documents. 

When the Participant has located a suitable unit and the Landlord has agreed to rent the unit 
to the Participant, the Landlord completes a Request for Tenancy Approval form (see 
Chapter 8) and sends it and a copy of the proposed lease to the Processing.   

• No new HAP contract or lease will be effective until the unit passes an HQS 
inspection and the appropriate inspection reports are completed by Processing 
Center staff. 

• No new HAP contract or lease will be effective until a Rent Reasonableness survey 
and certification is conducted for the new unit.  No change in contract rent will be 

http://www.irs.gov/pub/irs-pdf/fw9.pdf?portlet=3
http://portal.hud.gov/hudportal/documents/huddoc?id=DOC_12345.pdf
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effective until a Rent Reasonableness survey and certification is conducted for the 
unit. 

The Processing Center reviews the information in the Request for Tenancy Approval and the 
proposed lease.  If the Processing Center approves the Request for Tenancy, the 
determination is sent in writing to the Landlord and the HQS inspection is scheduled and 
takes place.  If the prospective unit passes the HQS inspection, the Participant will be notified 
by the Processing Center.  The process from receipt of Request for Tenancy Approval to 
notifying the Participant that the unit passed inspection should take no more than ten (10) 
working days, providing the unit is available for inspection when the Request for Tenancy 
Approval was received.  In cases where the unit is not immediately available for inspection, 
the Processing Center’s determination should be made within ten (10) working days after the 
Processing Center is notified that the unit is available for inspection.    

Once the tenancy is approved, the appropriate lease and HAP contract is executed between 
the Processing Center and the Landlord.  Prior to the execution of the lease, the Processing 
Center must review the lease to ensure that its provisions do not conflict with this Manual or 
with any Program rules.  Such prohibited conflicts include but are not limited to: 

• Allowing a tenant to work for the Landlord in exchange for rent; 

• The Lease being in effect for longer than 12 months; 

• Requiring a security deposit in an amount greater than one month’s rent; 

• Holding the Tenant responsible for paying the cost of repairing ordinary ‘wear and 
tear’ to the rental property; and 

• The creation of provisions that conflict directly with federal, state and local fair housing 
laws and landlord-tenant laws. 

No Participant shall move into a unit without a signed HAP contract and lease on file. 

For units currently under contract, payments by the Processing Center to the Landlord shall 
be mailed on the first business day of each month.  For new units coming onto a Program, 
prorated rent, calculated from date of move in, will be paid by the Processing Center in 
accordance with lease requirements and after the Housing Assistance Payments contract is 
executed. 

Required Annual and Interim Recertifications 

Recertification is a required annual verification process done by Processing Centers for 
Participants in both SPC and RAP, and is timed based on the Participant’s most recent lease 
date.  Processing Centers recertify on-going Program eligibility by obtaining documentation 
from the assisted household.  The process is slightly different for SPC and RAP. 
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Steps for a Shelter Plus Care annual recertification: 

• The Processing Center communicates in writing with the Participant 60-90 days 
prior to the due date of the recertification, notifying the Participant of the 
upcoming deadline for recertification. See Chapter 8 for sample recertification 
forms. 

• The Processing Center sets a date with the Participant when an Inspector can enter 
the rental unit to perform a housing quality inspection. The unit must pass the 
inspection for recertification to occur. Continuing failure to pass inspection, for 
whatever reason, will result in suspension of housing assistance payments. 

• The Processing Center requests the following items, to be provided by the 
Participant and the Case Manager, as appropriate: 

• proof of household income no older than 30 days; 
• copies of the most recent state and federal income tax returns for all adults 

in the household; 
• a list of all persons living in the household; and 
• a written statement from the Case Manager that the Participant is currently 

engaged in supportive services. 
• If the household has a live-in full-time caregiver, the Participant must 

provide a letter from a physician documenting the continuing need for the 
caregiver. 

• The above documents must be submitted to the Processing Center by a deadline 
established by the Processing Center. If all documents are not received  by the 
deadline, housing assistance may be suspended.  Refusal to cooperate in the 
recertification process or providing required documents more than 30 days late 
may result in termination of housing assistance. 

A RAP annual recertification is different from SPC because DMH Housing must evaluate and 
approve every Participant’s continuation in RAP for an additional year.  See below for the 
steps involved; the first two are identical to a SPC recertification: 

• The Processing Center communicates in writing with the Participant 60-90 days 
prior to the due date of the recertification, notifying the Participant of the 
upcoming deadline for recertification. See Chapter 8 for sample recertification 
forms. 

• The Processing Center sets a date with the Participant when an Inspector can enter 
the rental unit to perform a housing quality inspection. The unit must pass the 
inspection for recertification to occur. Continuing failure to pass inspection, for 



  MO DMH Housing Manual August 2015 – Chapter 4 
 
 

74 
 

whatever reason, will result in suspension of housing assistance. 

• The Processing Center requests the following items, to be provided by the 
Participant and the Case Manager, as appropriate: 

• proof of household income no older than 30 days; 
• copies of the most recent state and federal income tax returns for all adults 

in the household; 
• a list of all persons living in the household; 
• verification that the Participant’s permanent housing plan is still valid; and 
• a written statement from the Case Manager that the Participant is currently 

engaged in supportive services with a DMH-contracted agency. 

• To verify the permanent housing plan, the Participant must submit documentation 
that he or she is still on a Section 8 or public housing wait list; or is still in school 
and working toward a degree or vocational certificate.  If the RAP Participant has 
DMH Shelter Plus Care as his or her permanent housing plan, DMH Housing will 
verify that fact. 

• When the Processing Center has gathered all the required documentation for the 
RAP recertification, a Processing Center staff member fills out a “RAP 
Recertification Approval Form” (see Chapter 8) and faxes it, along with 
documentation of the continuing permanent housing plan and continuing support 
services, to DMH Housing for evaluation. 

• The DMH Housing staff person responsible for RAP evaluates the RAP 
Recertification Approval Form in consultation with the Housing Director.  If the 
Participant has shown he or she is on track to transition to permanent housing, he 
or she will be approved to continue on RAP for another year.  The RAP Participant 
may not be approved, or conditions may be assigned on which continued 
participation is contingent, if he or she has not shown progress toward permanent 
housing and self-sufficiency, or if the permanent housing plan has been invalidated 
(e.g., the Participant was removed from the Section 8 wait list they were on). 

• A DMH Housing staff person signs off on the RAP Recertification Approval Form 
and faxes the form back to Processing Center. 

The recertification process for both SPC and RAP may reveal information that requires 
further action by the Processing Center, and which may involve the hearing and termination 
process.  For instance, if unreported income is documented, that issue would require the 
Processing Center to contact DMH Housing and possibly initiate termination procedures. 

An interim recertification is a verification of changes in household income or composition 
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reported to the Processing Center by a Program Participant.  Such changes must be reported 
to the Processing Center office in writing within 30 days of the change and must include the 
signature of the Participant.  Interim recertifications shall be conducted at any time such 
changes are reported.  Interim recertifications do not require a new HQS inspection.  

Households reporting the addition of a household member shall provide documentation for 
the new member in the same manner as when the Participant first entered the Program. 

• Reminder: Participants must submit a written request to the Processing Center in 
order to add a new household member, and such requests must be approved by 
DMH Housing. 

Participants shall be notified in writing of the impending recertification and inspection at 
least 30 days in advance. See the Sample Form, “Recertification and HQS Inspection Notice 
Letter,” on the next page. 

• Reminder: the results of recertification must be entered into HMIS, or reported to 
DMH Housing as appropriate using the HMIS Update Form. 

Return to Top of Chapter 4 
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FORM—Recertification and HQS Inspection Notice Letter (Sample) 
 

[Agency Letterhead] 
 
[Date] 
 
[Tenant Name] 
[Tenant Address] 
[Tenant City, State ZIP] 

Dear Tenant: 

It is time for your annual inspection and recertification.  This letter serves as formal notification. 

Your inspection will be conducted on:  

[date] at [time] at [assisted unit address] 

At that time, please have the documentation listed on the attached Recertification Form ready for 
collection to complete your annual recertification.  Failure to have this information at the time of 
your inspection may result in a delay in completing your recertification.  Refusal to provide the 
information will result in termination of your housing assistance. 

When you receive this letter, please call [agency phone] to confirm that you have received this letter.  
If you cannot reach me in person, please leave a message with a phone number where you can be 
contacted.  If you don’t have a phone, leave the name and phone number of your case manager or a 
friend that can take a message for you. 

If you cannot be present at the date and time shown above, please contact me as soon as possible to 
reschedule.  Please remember that maintaining your housing assistance is your responsibility.  The 
inspection and recertification process takes time and resources, so please make every effort to be 
there at the appointed time with the required information.  Failure to reschedule or be present at 
the time of inspection could result in termination of your rental assistance.  It is our intention to 
provide you with rental assistance for safe and affordable housing.  Please help us to help you.  Your 
cooperation is appreciated. 

If you have any questions or need any clarification, please call the number shown above.  Our hours 
of operation are [agency hours of operation].  If I am not available, please leave a message and I’ll get 
back to you as soon as possible. 

Thank You, 

 
[Name, Title] 
cc:  Landlord  
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Termination of Rental Assistance 

DMH Housing may terminate a Participant’s rental assistance payments in accordance with 
federal regulations and DMH Housing policies, as applicable.  Termination usually happens 
because of violations of federal regulations, DMH Housing policies, the lease and/or the 
Household Obligations.  All Participants must be offered due process before rental assistance 
can be terminated; due process consists of a formal hearing. For detailed information about 
hearing procedures, due process and termination, see Chapter 6, “Hearings and Due 
Process.” 

See the sample form, “Notice of Termination of Rental Assistance,” on the next page. 
Return to Top of Chapter 4 
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FORM—Notice of Termination of Rental Assistance (Sample) 
 

[Agency Letterhead] 

TO:  [Program Participant] 

FROM:  [Processing Center Staff Name] 

  [Agency Name] 

DATE:  [Date] 

RE:  Termination of [Shelter Plus Care or RAP] Rental Assistance 

This letter is to advise you that you have not complied with the requirements of the [Shelter Plus Care or 
Rental Assistance] Program.  Program rules state that rental assistance may be terminated because of 
violations of federal regulations, DMH Housing policies, the lease, or Household Obligations. Rental assistance 
payments for your household will terminate because you or a member of your household violated the 
following regulation, policy, lease provision or household obligation: 

[List violations] 

We have notified your landlord of this decision by sending a copy of this notice. 

If you wish to appeal this decision, you have the right to a hearing. To request a hearing, fill out and sign the 
form at the bottom of this letter and return it to this agency within ten working days of the date at the top of 
this letter. In order to receive a hearing, your request for a hearing must be received by this office by the 
close of business on [date].  If your request is not received within the time period indicated above, you will 
waive your right to a hearing and our decision to terminate your rental assistance will become final. 

If your rental assistance is terminated, you will be responsible for paying: 

 All rent owed to your landlord 
 The cost of repairing any damage to your unit that is not normal wear and tear. 

cc: Landlord 

If you want to receive a hearing on the termination of your rental assistance, check the box below, sign and date. 
 

 I want to receive a hearing on the termination of my rental assistance. 
 
_____________________________________ ____________________________________ 
  (print name)      (signature) 
 
_____________________________________ 
  (date) 
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The Processing Center may not terminate a Program Participant from rental assistance 
without approval from DMH Housing. 

Participants may voluntarily terminate their own participation in a Program. 

• A Participant who wishes to terminate participation in the Program but continue 
living in the same rental unit under the same lease and pay full rent needs only 
inform the Processing Center in writing that he wishes to terminate rental 
assistance. 

• If the Participant wishes to terminate her participation in the Program and vacate 
the current rental unit, she must do so in accordance with the lease document.  She 
must advise the Processing Center and the Landlord in writing of her intention to 
do so at least 30 days prior to vacating the unit. 

See the sample form, “Program/Lease Voluntary Termination Form Letter,” on the next page. 
Return to Top of Chapter 4 
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FORM—Program/Lease Voluntary Termination Form Letter (Sample) 
 
Date: _____________________ 
 
To: Processing Center:  ____________________________________ 
  

Staff Person Name: ____________________________________ 
 
RE: Voluntary Termination From Rental Assistance 
 
Please be advised that this letter serves as a 30-day notice that I intend voluntarily give up my rental 
assistance. 
 
[Check one option below.] 
 
 I intend to remain in my current unit and pay all of my own rent. 
 
 I intend to vacate my current unit within the next 30 days.* 

*If you chose the 2nd option, be sure to give your Landlord a copy of this letter. 
 
 
 
____________________________________ 
  (signature) 
 
 
____________________________________ 
  (print name) 
  



  MO DMH Housing Manual August 2015 – Chapter 4 
 
 

81 
 

Termination of Lease and Moving  

SPC and RAP Participants must stay in their first assisted rental unit for 12 months; after that, 
the Participant may move once per year if desired or needed with the following limitations: 

• Move-outs must be timed to coincide with the end of the lease year; 

• The Participant must notify his or her Case Manager 60 days in advance of the 
move-out date; 

• Upon notice of the intended move-out, Case Managers are required to evaluate the 
reasons for the Participant’s desire to move in order to ensure that the move will 
not jeopardize the Participant’s housing stability; 

• If the case manager does not approve of the move, they must notify DMH Housing 
immediately; 

• Participants must provide written notice to the Processing Center of their intention 
to move at least 30 days prior to the move-out date, and must include a letter from 
Case Manager approving the move; 

• Participants must provide written notice to the Landlord of their intention to move 
at least 30 days prior to the move-out date. 

If the Participant wants to move before the end of any lease term, permission may be granted 
only with a written statement from the Landlord to the Processing Center releasing the 
Participant from the lease. Under certain circumstances involving, for example, the 
Participant’s health, safety, or employment needs, DMH Housing may waive the above 
limitations. 

Eviction  

A Landlord may evict a Participant household from the contracted unit only by instituting a 
court action.  The Landlord must notify the Processing Center in writing of the 
commencement of procedures for termination of tenancy at the same time that the owner 
gives notice to the Participant pursuant to state or local law.  The notice to the Processing 
Center may be given by furnishing the Processing Center with a copy of the notice to the 
household. 

• Reminder: eviction does not equal automatic termination of rental assistance.  
Final termination of rental assistance may only approved by DMH Housing. 

Return to Top of Chapter 4 
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Death or Long-Term Absence From the Unit 

For a single individual Participant in SPC and RAP, the death of the Participant automatically 
terminates further housing assistance.  If a single Participant will be absent from the unit for 
longer than 90 days because of incarceration or institutionalization, housing assistance also 
terminates automatically, and no formal hearing or other termination procedures are 
required. If the Landlord could not be given 30 days’ notice before the absence from the unit 
began, the Processing Center will pay rent on the unoccupied unit for the month following 
the one in which the absence began. 

When an SPC or RAP Participant who has other household members dies, or is incarcerated 
or institutionalized for longer than 90 days, any remaining members of the household can 
continue to receive assistance until the end of the lease in effect for the assisted unit. If there 
is no written one-year lease in effect at the time of such an occurrence, the end-date of the 
lease that was signed when the Participant initially moved into the assisted unit will be used 
as the end-date of assistance. The Processing Center must send written notice to the 
remaining household members notifying them of the date housing assistance will end.   

Short-Term Absence From the Unit 

SPC and RAP Participants may be absent from their units for up to 90 days and continue to 
receive rental assistance.  Participants who are incarcerated for 90 days or less do not lose 
their housing assistance. Participants are required to notify the Processing Center if they plan 
to be absent from their unit for longer than 30 days. Participants who plan to be absent from 
their rental unit for 30 days or longer must arrange to uphold all conditions of their lease 
during their absence—especially including payment of any rent for which they are 
responsible. 

Landlord Participation 

Landlords are required to provide the following in writing prior to execution of the Housing 
Assistance Payment contract: 

• Proof of ownership; 

• Name, address and telephone number; 

• Name(s) of agents or managers who are authorized to act in their behalf and/or 
sign documents; 

• Tax ID or Social Security Number; and 

• Corporate status 

As provided in 24 CFR Section 982.306, the Processing Center may not approve a unit if the 
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Landlord: 

• Is known to have violated obligations under a HAP contract; 

• Has committed fraud, bribery or any other corrupt or criminal act in connection 
with any federal housing program; 

• Has engaged in any drug-related criminal activity or any violent criminal activity; 

• Has a history or practice of non-compliance with the HQS for units leased under 
the tenant-based programs, or with applicable housing standards for units leased 
with project-based Section 8 assistance or leased under any other federal housing 
program; 

• Has a history or practice of failing to terminate tenancy of tenants of units assisted 
under Section 8 or any other federally assisted housing program for activity 
engaged in by the tenant, any member of the household, a guest or another person 
under the control of any member of the household that: 

• Threatens the right to peaceful enjoyment of the premises by other residents; 

• Threatens the health or safety of other residents, of employees or contractors of 
the Processing Center, or of employees of the Landlord or other persons 
engaged in management of the housing; 

• Threatens the health or safety of, or the right to peaceful enjoyment of their 
residences, by persons residing in the immediate vicinity of the premises; 

• Is drug-related criminal activity or violent criminal activity; 

• Has a history or practice of renting units that fail to meet state or local housing 
codes; or 

• Has not paid state or local real estate taxes, fines or assessments. 

For purposes of this section, "Owner” includes a principal or other interested party. 

Landlords are permitted to screen Participant on the basis of their tenancy histories.  A 
Landlord may consider the Participant's background with respect to such factors as payment 
of rent and utility bills; caring for a unit and premises; respecting the rights of others to the 
peaceful enjoyment of their housing; drug-related criminal activity or other criminal activity 
that is a threat to the life, safety or property of others; and compliance with other essential 
conditions of tenancy. 
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In accordance with the Code of Federal Regulations, the Processing Center may give the 
Landlord the following information about a Participant:  1) name and address (as shown in 
the Processing Center's records); and 2) the name and address of the Landlord at the 
Participant’s current and prior address, if applicable. 
Return to Top of Chapter 4 

Security Deposits and Damages 

The initial security deposit for the Participant will be paid by the Processing Center.  DMH 
Housing Programs will not pay security deposits in excess of one month’s rent. 

When the tenant moves out of the rental unit, the Landlord, subject to state and/or local law, 
may use the security deposit, including any interest on the deposit, in accordance with the 
lease, as reimbursement for any unpaid rent payable by the Participant, damages to the unit 
beyond ordinary ‘wear and tear’, or for other amounts the tenant owes under the lease. 

The Landlord must give the Processing Center an itemized list of all items charged against 
the security deposit, the amount of each item, and copies of receipts for any materials 
purchased and for any labor hired.  After deducting the amount used to reimburse the 
owner, the owner must refund within 30 days the full amount of the unused security deposit 
balance to the Participant. 

DMH Housing can pay an amount up to the cost of one month’s rent to a Landlord in 
reimbursement for repairs to properly documented damages caused by a SPC and RAP 
Participants. The Landlord must submit in writing to the Processing Center an itemized list 
of damages repaired and copies of receipts or invoices documenting the costs of such repairs. 

Subsequent security deposits must be paid by the Participant.  DMH Housing may authorize 
payment of additional security deposits under exceptional circumstances; where such 
circumstances may exist, the Processing Center staff must contact DMH Housing for 
authorization. 

Utility Allowance 

SPC and RAP utility allowances are calculated by the Processing Center as described below.  
For most households participating in SPC, the utility allowance is given by deducting the 
allowance from the amount of rent the household owes each month.  In some cases, a utility 
reimbursement will be owed to the participating household.  Such reimbursements are paid 
directly to the utility provider of the Program Participant’s choice. 

To calculate a utility allowance, the Processing Center obtains utility allowance schedules for 
their area from the local Public Housing Authority. The appropriate utility allowance 
schedule will be selected for each client based on the utilities in the unit and the trash 
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removal services in each area.  It is essential that Processing Centers obtain and use only 
the most current utility allowance schedules from the appropriate Public Housing 
Authority.  A blank copy of HUD’s form, “Allowances for Tenant-Furnished Utilities and 
Other Services,” is available at: 

http://portal.hud.gov/hudportal/HUD?src=/program_offices/administration/hudclip
s/forms/hud5a 

Utility Reimbursements are paid directly to utility providers. Participants must select the 
utility provider to receive the payment.  This information must be provided by the 
Participant in writing, along with a copy of their most current utility bill.  This information is 
collected from the Participant when the Housing Assistance Payment contract is first 
executed and each year at Annual Recertification.     

When documenting the information above, Processing Center staff should also ensure that 
the utilities account in question is in the name of an adult living in the assisted household. 

Adjustments of Tenant Rent 

Adjustments of Tenant Rent shall be made in accordance with recertification procedures. 

When a household’s income increases or decreases, the Tenant Rent is adjusted and the 
adjustment is effective the first day of the month following the date the income change was 
reported by the family. The “date reported by the family” is the date the household supplies 
adequate documentation of the change as required by the Processing Center. 

 Return to Table of Contents 

 Return to Top of Chapter 4 
 
 
 

http://portal.hud.gov/hudportal/HUD?src=/program_offices/administration/hudclips/forms/hud5a
http://portal.hud.gov/hudportal/HUD?src=/program_offices/administration/hudclips/forms/hud5a


  MO DMH Housing Manual August 2015 – Chapter 5 
 
 

86 
 

CHAPTER FIVE—Monthly Invoices 
 
 Invoice Timeline 
 Electronic Submission 
 Shelter Plus Care Excel Invoice Files* 

 FORM—SPC Invoice—Renewal Grant —Participant Detail Sheet (Sample) 
 FORM—SPC Invoice—Renewal Grant —SPC Housing Invoice (Sample) 
 FORM—SPC Invoice—Renewal Grant —LOCCS Form (Line of Credit Control System) (Sample) 

 Shelter Plus Care Activity Logs for Administrative Costs* 
 Rental Assistance Program Excel Invoice File 

 FORM—RAP Participant Detail Sheet (Sample) 
 Households Paying 100 Percent of HAP* 
 Return to Table of Contents 

Submitting timely and accurate monthly invoices to DMH Housing is a crucial part of a 
Processing Center’s contractual duties.  The invoices are the mechanism by which DMH pays 
the Processing Centers the funds needed to pay the rents for all Participants in the SPC and 
RAP Programs, along with the administration fees paid to the Processing Centers for 
administering these Programs.  DMH Housing depends on the invoices to be accurate 
because the figures submitted are used to manage responsibly the state and federal funds 
that enable the Programs. Invoice procedures for SPC and RAP are similar, but with a few 
fundamental differences. 

Invoice Timeline 
DMH Housing follows a schedule that allows a detailed check on the contents of all invoices 
and results in the requested funds being deposited in Processing Center accounts in time to 
issue rent checks that will be received by Landlords by the first day of the month.  Generally, 
invoices must be submitted electronically to DMH Housing by the 15th of the month prior to 
one for which rents are being paid; this date can vary, and each month DMH Housing sends 
an email to all Processing Center contacts establishing that month’s submission deadline. It is 
essential that Processing Center staff observe this deadline to ensure that rents are paid on 
time. 

Electronic Submission 
Invoices are submitted via electronic mail on a customized Excel spreadsheet.  Because the 
invoice contains the names of disabled persons participating in SPC and RAP, the Excel file 
must be password-protected by the Processing Center before it is attached to the e-mail, to 
comply with HIPAA regulations concerning the confidentiality of protected personal 
information. 

DMH uses Excel from Microsoft Office 2010.  The procedure for adding a password to an 
Excel 2010 file is shown below.  Processing Centers using other versions of Excel are expected 
to password protect their invoice files using the procedures native to those versions of the 
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software. 

See below for the steps to password protect an SPC or RAP invoice in Excel 2010: 

Step 1: Go to File Tab in Excel and click the Protect Workbook icon; then choose “Encrypt 
with Password.” 
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Step 2: Enter the password in the field and click OK. Save the file. 

 
 

Processing Centers are cautioned that passwords must be recorded or remembered exactly as 
used, because Excel does not allow for retrieval of a forgotten password.  
 
Passwords are pre-set by DMH Housing and should never be changed without notifying 
DMH Housing first. 

Shelter Plus Care Excel Invoice Files* 
DMH Housing uses two versions of the Shelter Plus Care invoice: one for grants in one-year 
renewal status, and one for grants still in their initial five year status.  The reason for the two 
versions is that certain federal regulations affecting how the administrative fee is paid and 
what can be billed for affect only grants in renewal status.  The two forms are similar and 
have the same three parts in three separate worksheets: 

1. Participant Detail Sheet; 

2. DMH SPC Housing Invoice Form; and 

3. HUD LOCCS Form (Line of Credit Control System).  Invoices for grants in renewal 
status as of 2015 no longer include the LOCCS form. 
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FORM—SPC Invoice—Renewal Grant —Participant Detail Sheet (Sample) 

 
Return to Top of Chapter 5 

The above image shows a sample Detail Sheet for a renewal grant invoice.  The Detail Sheet 
shows the name of the Processing Center, the HUD grant code, the DMH grant code, and the 
month billed for at the upper left.  It also indicates “TRA” for ‘tenant-based rental assistance’.  
A few invoices will have “SRA” for ‘sponsor-based rental assistance. Most of this information 
populates automatically if the form’s formulae are working correctly. 

The column headings are: 

• Client Name: list the names of the Participants in the program, last name first, 
alphabetized by last name, and with both first and last in the same column. All 
names in the sample are fictional. 

• Service Provider: this is the name of the agency providing mental health support 
services to the Participant. For new Participants, this information is found on page 
1 of the DMH SPC Application; for Participants in the program longer than one 
year, the information will come from their recertification documents. 

• Client Type: this is the Participant’s diagnosis, established by their original SPC 
Application, and shown on the SPC Referral cover sheet.  Please enter these exactly 
as shown, in ALL CAPS: 
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• SMI: Serious Mental Illness 
• CSA: Chronic Substance Abuse 
• SMI/CSA: a combination of the two above, also known as a ‘dual diagnosis’. 
• PWOD: Person With Other Disabilities; in this case, designating persons 

with developmental disabilities 
• PWA: Person With AIDS 

• # Bed: this is the number of bedrooms in the rental unit leased by the Participant 

• Contract Rent: the amount of the rent specified in the Participant’s lease.   

• Tenant Rent: the amount of rent paid by the Participant household, as calculated 
by the Processing Center. This is also known as the Total Tenant Payment, or TTP 

• HAP Rent: Housing Assistance Payment Rent, or the amount of rent paid by the 
Processing Center.  The Tenant Rent  + the HAP Rent must = Contract Rent. The 
invoice does not check this equation for you to ensure these figures add up 
correctly, so it is essential that Processing Center staff check this for accuracy. Bill 
only the current month’s HAP rent in this column. 

• Utilities: the amount of any utilities credit to be paid on behalf of the Participant 
household, as calculated by the Processing Center. 

• Rental Assistance: this column is for recording payments for costs incurred related 
to a Participant household’s move-in or recertification: 

• HQS: $75 for a Housing Quality Inspection, billable once per household 
move; 

• NP: $100 new Participant fee, billable once only for each new household 
entering the program and actually leasing up. This can only be billed if the 
new Participant actually leases a rental unit. 

• SD: bill security deposits for new households and as otherwise authorized 
for existing households by DMH Housing in this column. Security deposits 
must not exceed the value of one month’s contract rent. 

• Adjustments: bill here the total of any costs that were underbilled or overbilled in 
prior months. Such costs are generally related only to HAP rent and utilities.  
Adjustments can only be billed as far back as the beginning of the current grant; 
the grant period is listed on the Processing Center’s contract for the grant.  See 
below for more information on adjustments and ‘final adjustments.’ 

• Remarks: this column is for providing a short explanation of any adjustments 
billed for the household; any items billed in the Rental Assistance column; and 
other essential information about the Participant’s status for the current month. 
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• Use Remarks to specify all Adjustments.  To do so, specify 1) what the 
adjustment is for (generally either HAP Rent or utilities) and 2) what month 
it pertains too. 

• Example: a Processing Center was unable to bill for a tenant’s January 2014 
rent because she moved in on January 1st—which is after the December 15th 
deadline to bill for January’s costs.  The Processing Center therefore submits 
an adjustment for the January HAP payment, e.g., $600, and the remark 
would say, “U/B Jan HAP $600”—shorthand for, “We couldn’t bill earlier 
for this client’s $600 HAP for January because it was too late, so here it is 
now.” There is no need to explain why it was late, because this is an 
inherent part of the process and is to be expected routinely. 

• Note that each separate adjusted item must be explained separately, e.g., 
“U/B Jan HAP $600 & Jan utilities $37,” for a total adjustment of $637. 

• Use Remarks to specify costs for Rental Assistance, e.g., for a new 
household, “$75 HQS, $600 SD, $100 NP” means that the Processing Center 
did an HQS inspection as required, paid a $600 security deposit, and the 
new Participant leased up, which entitles the Processing Center to bill the 
$100 new Participant fee. 

• Use Remarks to explain a Participant’s special status, such as why no HAP 
is being paid.  E.g., “Client HAP on hold, client moving,” or “Client 
terminated by DMH effective 3/31/14.” 

• Always enter a Remark when a Participant has left the program, for any 
reason.  The Participant’s name should appear on the invoice with no other 
information except for a remark that explains briefly why the person left 
and when their last rent was paid, e.g., “Client terminated by DMH; last rent 
paid March 2014”; or “Client got married; last rent paid February 2014.” 

When No HAP Rent Is Paid: All active Participants for whom HAP rent is not being paid in 
the current month must be listed on the Detail Sheet. This could include Participants in the 
process of moving, those whose rent assistance has been temporarily suspended for any 
reason, and those who have just exited the program for any reason.  For any Participant not 
receiving a HAP payment in the HAP Rent column, omit all their billing information from 
the invoice except of the name and a remark explaining the reason for no HAP Rent 
payment is being made (see examples, below). 

The sample Detail Sheet above illustrates some issues that Processing Center Staff should be 
aware of: 
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• Participant Alice Liddell: this fictional Participant was terminated from the SPC 
program by DMH Housing effective December 31, 2013.  In the meantime, her 
January rent had previously been invoiced by the Processing Center around 
December 15, 2013.  As she is no longer a Participant, the Processing Center is 
returning the January HAP rent to DMH Housing by making a negative 
adjustment of $430, using the designation “O/B” for “overbilled” in the Remarks 
column.  Negative adjustments are common because Processing Centers bill DMH 
Housing mid-month, and then in the intervening period before the next month 
begins a situation may occur that requires the Processing Center to return the 
amount billed for, or to return part of it. In this case, because the Participant has 
left the program, the Processing Center has removed all her billing information 
from this invoice and stated in the remarks that she was terminated by DMH and 
that her last rent paid was through December 31, 2013. 

• Participants Bren Cameron and Harri Seldon: both these fictional Participants are 
new to the program and have successfully leased rental units.  Bren Cameron 
moved in January 1st, so the Processing Center has billed as an adjustment a full 
HAP rent payment for January, using the designation “U/B” for “underbilled,” and 
has also billed DMH for an HQS inspection and the new Participant fee.  Harri 
Seldon moved in after January 1st, and so the Processing Center has billed a 
prorated January HAP payment, along with the HQS and new Participant fees.  
They have also billed for a security deposit for Harri Seldon. Note that the HAP 
adjustments are in the Adjustments column, while all the other fees billed for these 
clients are move-in related and thus are billed in the Rental Assistance column. 

• Participant Snow White: this fictional Participant is currently in a “break in 
assistance,” i.e., she is in the process of moving from one unit to another and the 
Processing Center is withholding the HAP rent payment until a new lease-up is 
complete.  In the real world, most moves take place quickly enough so that such 
breaks in assistance don’t happen, but sometimes this does happen.  In this 
situation, the Processing Center must omit the bedroom type, the diagnosis and all 
payment information, except for any necessary adjustments, and must note in the 
Remarks column what’s going on with the Participant.  Note that in this situation, 
do not exit the Participant from the HMIS in use; the person is still considered an 
active Participant even though no rent is currently being paid. 

Adjustments in General:  As stated above, only bill adjustments for activity that occurred 
during the current grant period.   

• Example: the grant administered by the Processing Center has a grant period of 
March 1, 2013, to February 28, 2014.  In January 2014 the Processing Center 
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discovers that it failed to bill DMH for a client’s HAP adjustment of $20 that was 
incurred for the month of October 2012.  Unfortunately, the Processing Center 
cannot recover that $20 because October 2012 belongs to the prior grant’s program 
year, which is now closed by HUD. 

Adjustments should always be submitted on the next invoice as soon as they are known and 
finalized.  Never let adjustments accumulate unbilled; doing so makes it much more 
difficult for DMH Housing staff to manage grant funds effectively, and even makes it 
possible that DMH will be unable to pay those funds owed to the Processing Center. 

Specifying Adjustments in the Remarks Column: as described above, when billing for an 
adjustment, Processing Centers must explain briefly 1) what month the adjustment applies 
to, and 2) what the adjustment is for—normally either a past HAP or a past utility allowance 
payment. 

• Example: 

WRONG 
Adjustments Remarks 

$  (573) Client moved 

RIGHT 
Adjustments Remarks 

$  (573) Client moved; O/B  July HAP $500 & July util $73 

“TOTAL” Row:  Below the last Participant on the Detail Sheet is the Total Row, where all the 
columns are totaled up.  The formulae on the invoice should add these columns correctly, but 
Processing Center staff should always check the totals before submitting the invoice.  The 
“Contract Rent” total must equal the sum of the “Tenant Rent” plus the “HAP Rent” totals.  
DMH Housing strongly recommends that this one item always be checked before 
submission, because if it doesn’t add up correctly, it means there is a mathematical error 
somewhere in the individual Participant details. 

“Admin Fee”: 

• Shelter Plus Care grants in renewal status have a 7% administrative fee added on 
top of the grant, and DMH pays out 1/12th of this amount per month as 
administration cost to Processing Centers. 

• Grants still in five-year non-renewal status use the prior method where Processing 
Centers bill DMH, via the invoice, 7% of whatever the total housing assistance 
costs are for that month, and that amount comes directly out of the grant itself. 
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• Processing Center staff should contact DMH Housing at 573-751-9206 or at 
housing@dmh.mo.gov if unsure of which method to use.   

Dollars and Cents: no SPC invoice should ever contain fractions of dollars. When calculating 
prorated rent or utility payments, always round those figures up.  

 

 

The image above shows the remainder of the Detail Sheet.  The areas below the Total Due 
field are set up to automatically count each bedroom size and each client type.  If the form is 
used properly, these figures should populate to the rest of the invoice. 

‘Final Adjustments’ Invoices:  When a Shelter Plus Care grant year ends, Processing Centers 
have 60 days to finalize all remaining adjustments and submit them to DMH Housing.  Those 
adjustments are submitted on a separate invoice called the Final Adjustments Invoice.  
Processing Centers should typically allow the full 60 days for final adjustment to resolve and 
then submit the Final Adjustments Invoice at the same time as the regular invoice for the 

mailto:housing@dmh.mo.gov
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second month of the new grant. 

• Example: the last month of rent to be paid out of the current grant is March 2014.  
The new grant begins with April 2014.  The Processing Center should wait until it 
gets ready to submit the regular invoice for May 2014, and submit the Final 
Adjustments Invoice along with the May 2014 invoice. 

The Final Adjustments Invoice lists only the Participants who have adjustments to make, and 
shows only the adjustment amounts—not the normal rents being paid for those Participants 
that month (those are billed on the ‘regular’ invoice).  For each Participant listed, include the 
client type and bedroom type as normally shown on a regular invoice. 
 

Return to Top of Chapter 5 
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FORM—SPC Invoice—Renewal Grant —SPC Housing Invoice (Sample) 
 

 

The image above is a sample Shelter Plus Care Housing Invoice for a renewal grant.  It 
summarizes the information found on the Shelter Plus Care Participant Detail Sheet. Excel 
formulas should populate most of the fields with the information on the Detail Sheet.  If the 
form isn’t populating most fields, contact DMH Housing at 573-751-9206 or 
housing@dmh.mo.gov. The person at the Processing Center responsible for authorizing the 
contents of the invoice “signs” the bottom of the form and dates it. 

Processing Centers should always check before submitting an invoice to make sure the 
information accurately reflects what is on the Detail Sheet. 

mailto:housing@dmh.mo.gov
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FORM—SPC Invoice—Renewal Grant —LOCCS Form (Line of Credit Control System) 
(Sample) 

 
 
The above image is a sample HUD LOCCS (Line of Credit Control System) form showing the 
figures found on the previous parts of the sample invoice.  Only grants that have not yet 
renewed in 2015, and grants not in renewal status, still use this form.  DMH uses the LOCCS 
Form to draw down funds from the SPC grant accounts DMH has with HUD.  DMH deposits 
the funds in Processing Center accounts monthly to be paid out as Shelter Plus Care 
assistance. The LOCCS Form recapitulates the Program’s Participant information—numbers 
of unit sizes and client types—and the total assistance and administrative fee requested.  
HUD uses this information to track SPC grant expenditures and to monitor that the client 
populations specified in the grant contract with HUD are being served. Excel formulas 
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should populate all the fields, except for the HUD grant number. 

Always double-check figures for accuracy.  Most agencies will follow the format shown in 
the image above, using the “TRA” (tenant-based rental assistance) field to enter the total 
amount of assistance.  DMH Housing has three “SRA” (sponsor-based rental assistance) 
grants, and the agencies administering those grants will enter the total assistance in the “SRA 
Rental Assistance” field. 

SPC Invoice for Non-Renewal Grants: SPC invoices for grants not in renewal status are 
handled in exactly the same way as the above samples with two exceptions: 

• Administrative Fee: non-renewal grants use the administrative fee system in place 
prior to 2013, where the Processing Center bills DMH for 7% of the total amount of 
housing assistance funds requested each month.  Invoice forms are set up to 
calculate this amount automatically. The 7% administrative fee is always rounded 
off to the nearest full dollar, i.e., $.50 is rounded up to $1, and $.49 is rounded 
down to $0.  If the Processing Center finds that the form in use is not calculating 
the fee automatically, contact DMH Housing at 573-751-9206 or 
housing@dmh.mo.gov for a replacement.  As these grants transition to renewal 
status, they will adopt the flat-fee 7% administrative fee. 

• Rental Assistance Costs: grants not in renewal status and not awarded after 2012 
are not eligible to bill DMH for the $75 HQS Inspection fee and the $100 New 
Participant fee. The Rental Assistance column does not appear on the invoices for 
these grants; the Security Deposit column is in its place. Processing Centers are to 
bill security deposits only in that column. As these grants transition to renewal 
status, they will become eligible to bill for these items. 

Return to Top of Chapter 5 

Shelter Plus Care Activity Logs for Administrative Costs*  
Effective August 15, 2015, HUD has required DMH and its SPC Processing Centers to track 
time spent on SPC activities eligible for administration fee reimbursement.  Each person who 
performs such activities must keep a monthly log of the time spent on each grant, and these 
logs are submitted electronically to DMH Housing along with monthly invoices. 

SPC eligible activities are designated differently, pre- and post-HEARTH Act.  Grants that 
have gone into renewal status in 2012 or later, or which were originally awarded in 2012 or 
later, have one set of activity descriptions, and those which were awarded before 2012 and 
are not yet in renewal status have a different set of activity descriptions, as follows: 

As of August 1, 2015 Grants awarded before 2012 Grants in renewal status or 

mailto:housing@dmh.mo.gov
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awarded 2012 or later 

Eligible Activities Receive new participants into a 
SPC program; provide housing 
information to SPC client and 
CSW; provide search assistance 
to SPC client and CSW; conduct 
Housing Quality Standards 
Inspection; and process 
Housing Assistance Payments 

General management, 
oversight, and coordination of 
SPC contract requirements; 
preparing program budgets 
and schedules for SPC; 
preparing reports and other 
documents directly related to 
the program for submission to 
HUD; and time spent attending 
HUD-sponsored Continuum of 
Care trainings 

Processing Centers and DMH 
Grants affected 

SAVE: SZG0; Kim Wilson 
Housing: SZI0; ESC: SZJ0; 
Pathways: SZK1; CMCA: 
SZM1; COMTREA: SZH0; 
Preferred Family Healthcare: 
SZR2; MVCAA: SZO2; St. 
Patrick Center: SZN1; Queen 
of Peace: SZL1, SZE0, SZQ2 

All other grants and their 
respective Processing Centers 

The pre-2012 eligible activities are self-explanatory, and describe either specific activities or 
categories of activities associated with administering SPC vouchers. The post-2012 activities 
warrant further explanation: 

• General management, oversight, and coordination of SPC contract requirements: this 
describes the vast majority of activities that both managers and non-managers do in 
support of administering SPC vouchers, including most DMH contract requirements, 
with two exceptions: 1) performing HQS inspections, and 2) any activity related to 
intake on a new client household. These two items are excluded because DMH 
Processing Centers are able to bill fees separately ($75 for HQS and a $100 “New 
Person” fee) for these activities.  

• Preparing program budgets and schedules for SPC: this managerial activity describes time 
spent preparing agency budgets that include the projected administration fee paid by 
DMH to the agency; and time spent preparing work schedules for staff working on 
SPC activities. 

• Preparing reports and other documents directly related to the program for submission to HUD: 
for Shelter Plus Care programs, this refers only to the preparation of Annual Progress 
Reports. Therefore, Processing Centers won’t be assigning any time to this activity. 
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• Time spent attending HUD-sponsored Continuum of Care trainings: this applies only, as 
stated, to HUD-sponsored CoC training, not to other training sponsored by other 
organizations, even if it relates to CoC or Shelter Plus Care activities.   

See Chapter 8 for the “Shelter Plus Care Activity Logs for Administrative Costs” forms. 

Rental Assistance Program Excel Invoice File 
The Excel file for Rental Assistance Program invoices contains two parts in two separate 
worksheets, and is very similar to the Shelter Plus Care invoice: 

1. RAP Participant Detail Form; and 

2. DMH RAP Housing Invoice Sheet 
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FORM—RAP Participant Detail Sheet (Sample) 

RAP 
invoices are the same as Shelter Plus Care invoices with a few differences.  Except for the 
items below, all RAP invoice processing procedures are the same as those for Shelter Plus 
Care: 

• Administrative Fee: the RAP administrative fee is calculated per household 
served.  The administrative fee is 7.5% of the highest two-bedroom Fair Market 
Rent currently in effect in the Processing Center’s service area. A Processing Center 
that serves a single county would automatically compute the fee based on that 
county’s FMR for a two-bedroom unit.  An agency that serves multiple counties 
would need to determine which of its counties has the highest two-bedroom FMR 
and calculate its fee based on that county. Unlike Shelter Plus Care administrative 
fees, RAP administrative fees are not rounded to the nearest dollar; for example, 
the fee in effect as of January 2014 for St. Louis County is $61.05 per household, not 
$61. Contact DMH Housing at 573-751-9206 or housing@dmh.mo.gov if you are not 
certain what your agency’s RAP administrative fee should be. 

• Start-Up Costs: As with SPC renewal grant invoices, Processing Centers may 
invoice DMH a $100 fee every time a new RAP Participant successfully rents a unit 
and appears on the invoice.  This fee has its own column on the invoice, separate 
from Security Deposits.  There is no separate fee for HQS inspections. 

• LOCCS Form: RAP invoices do not use a LOCCS form because RAP is not a 
federally funded program. 

mailto:housing@dmh.mo.gov
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• Housing Invoice Form: this form is almost identical to that used for Shelter Plus 
Care invoices, except for the line item for Start-Up Costs. 

• Final Adjustments: RAP funding is based on the State of Missouri fiscal year, 
which runs from July 1st to June 30th.  Because the funds are not tied to federal 
contracts, RAP does not have the Final Adjustment Invoice process that Shelter 
Plus care does, as described above. Therefore, adjustments that were incurred, for 
example, in May 2014 can be invoiced in August 2014 and still be paid.  Processing 
Centers should be aware the state’s fiscal year does impose a delay on payments on 
all RAP invoices for July. July invoices cannot be processed by DMH until July 1st, 
which makes payment of July invoices a few days later than all other months. 

All other RAP billing practices match those used for Shelter Plus Care. Agencies 
administering both programs should ensure that they use the same practices for both 
Programs, where applicable. 

Households Paying 100 Percent of HAP* 
Households that attain an income level that makes them responsible for paying 100% of their 
Housing Assistance Payment (HAP) will remain active in their program for a period of six 
months (see “Exceeding Income Eligibility” in Chapter 3), and continue to appear on the 
invoice for those six months.  For invoicing purposes, such households are treated the same 
as those in a break in assistance: only the head of household’s name appears on the invoice, 
with no client type or unit size information, and no contract rent, TTP, or HAP numbers.  In 
the Remarks column, for each month the household remains on the invoice, insert 
information that states that the household is at 100% of HAP and what month the household 
will exit (e.g., the household’s first month at 100% HAP was January 2016, therefore their last 
month will be June 2016).    
 
 Return to Table of Contents 
 Return to Top of Chapter 5 
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CHAPTER SIX—Hearings and Due Process 
 HUD Regulation* 
 Informal Hearings* 
 Formal Hearings* 
 Return to Table of Contents 

HUD Regulation* 
HUD regulation 24 CFR section 582.320 governs termination of assistance to Shelter Plus 
Care Participants, as follows: 

§ 582.320 Termination of assistance to participants.  

(a) Termination of assistance. The recipient may terminate assistance to a participant who 
violates program requirements or conditions of occupancy. Recipients must exercise judgment 
and examine all extenuating circumstances in determining when violations are serious enough 
to warrant termination, so that a participant's assistance is terminated only in the most severe 
cases. Recipients are not prohibited from resuming assistance to a participant whose 
assistance has been terminated.  

(b) Due process. In terminating assistance to a participant, the recipient must provide a formal 
process that recognizes the rights of individuals receiving assistance to due process of law. 
This process, at a minimum, must consist of:  

(1) Written notice to the participant containing a clear statement of the reasons for 
termination; 

(2) A review of the decision, in which the participant is given the opportunity to present 
written or oral objections before a person other than the person (or a subordinate of that 
person) who made or approved the termination decision; and 

(3) Prompt written notice of the final decision to the participant. 

DMH Housing is always willing to work with Program Participants who are experiencing 
problems that threaten to disrupt their housing stability.  Participants are expected to observe 
and abide by all the rules of DMH housing assistance programs; when they can’t or don’t, 
DMH Housing has two ‘levels’ of review it can apply, depending on the situation: Informal 
Hearings and Formal Hearings. These procedures apply to both Shelter Plus Care and Rental 
Assistance Program Participants. Formal hearing procedures are based on the regulation 
above. 

Informal Hearings* 
An informal hearing may be arranged when a Participant is experiencing problems relating 
to their rental unit, support services or outside causes.  Such a hearing is an informal meeting 
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designed to clarify program rules and expected behavior, to provide information the 
Participant and/or Case Manager may need in order to bring a Participant into Program 
compliance, and to generally assist the Participant in dealing effectively with any issues that 
may endanger his or her rental assistance. It may consist of a very informal and brief meeting 
with the Program Participant, or a sit-down meeting involving interested parties to discuss 
issues that immediately threaten the Participant’s ability to continue in the Program.   

An informal hearing can be requested by the Processing Center, a DMH Housing Staff 
member, a Program Participant, or the Participant’s Case Manager. DMH Housing staff may 
attend such a hearing by telephone. If multiple interested parties need to attend, the 
Processing Center staff is responsible for inviting them. 

No formal agenda or format is required in an informal hearing. The hearing consists of 
informal discussion, fact-finding, and resolution among the parties present. 

An informal hearing must precede any decision by DMH Housing staff to terminate a 
Participant’s SPC assistance, except in the situations described in Chapter 4, “Death or Long-
Term Absence From the Unit.” 

Informal hearings are conducted by a DMH Housing Staff person, either in person or by 
telephone.  Participants should always include the Program Participant, the Case Manager, 
and appropriate Processing Center staff.  Other interested parties may be included at the 
discretion of the DMH Housing, and may include the Landlord or property manager and any 
other individuals involved deemed appropriate by DMH Housing Staff. The Participant may 
have legal counsel present at their own expense and may bring up to two additional 
representatives or advocates. The Participant shall have the opportunity to present any 
written or oral testimony they wish. 

All parties involved must have access to all relevant written and electronic documentation 
regarding the issues to be discussed. The Participant may examine any Processing Center 
documents directly relevant to the situation, and will be given copies upon request.  DMH 
Housing and the Participant may both present evidence and question witnesses who are 
present.  All evidence presented shall be considered. 

Processing Center staff are responsible for documenting the results of an informal hearing. 
Documentation of the hearing must state the reasons for the hearing and the decision.  All 
such documentation must be kept in the Participant’s Program file. 

While most informal hearings lead to no further action by DMH Housing, some require a 
decision by DMH Housing on future actions to be taken, depending on the issues involved 
and their severity. If a decision is required on a Participant’s continuation in the SPC 
Program, the DMH Housing Staff person will make the decision no later than five working 
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days after the hearing, and a written decision will be issued by the Processing Center staff in 
consultation with the attending DMH Housing staff person.  If feasible, the decision should 
be given to all participants in the hearing that same day.  Factual determinations relating to 
the issues that prompted the informal hearing shall be based on a preponderance of the 
evidence presented at the hearing.   

The DMH Housing staff person assigned to the program has the final say with respect to the 
outcome of the informal hearing. 

Formal Hearings* 
If the results of an informal hearing indicate that a Participant’s assistance should be 
terminated, DMH Housing staff will direct the Processing Center to send written notice of 
the termination to the Participant.  This notice is in the form of a letter comparable to that 
found in Chapter 4, “FORM—Notice of Termination of Rental Assistance (Sample).” The 
letter or notice must notify the Participant (1) of the reasons for the termination of rental 
assistance, and (2) that he or she has the right to appeal the termination by requesting a 
formal hearing within ten working days. The following steps are required to initiate and 
conduct the formal hearing. 

1. The Participant must submit a written request to the Processing Center requesting a 
formal hearing on the termination from assistance.  A request for a formal hearing 
must be submitted to the Processing Center within ten working days of the date on 
the notice of termination of rental assistance.  If no request for a formal hearing is 
received within ten working days, the Participant is deemed to have waived his or her 
right to a hearing and the termination takes place automatically. 

2. On receiving a written request for a hearing, the Processing Center schedules the 
formal hearing.  Attendance by a DMH Housing Staff person is mandatory.  The 
Processing Center invites all other relevant persons, who may include the Participant’s 
Case Manager, the Landlord, and any other persons who have first-hand knowledge 
or documentation of the issues involved. The Participant may be represented by legal 
counsel at his or her own expense, and may bring up to two additional persons to act 
as witnesses. 

3. 24 CFR Section 582.320(b)(2) requires that review of the termination decision be done 
by someone other than the person (or a subordinate of that person) who originally 
made the termination decision.  The policy of DMH Housing is to request that three 
persons who are unfamiliar with the Participant personally, have no prior knowledge 
of the issues that lead to the termination, and have no personal interest in seeing the 
formal hearing resolved one way or another, review the termination decision and 
make a final decision.  Some Processing Centers employ a person who is designated as 
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a Hearing Officer, and whenever possible, this person will be asked to preside over the 
formal hearing.  Otherwise, one of the three impartial persons conducting the formal 
hearing should be designated by DMH Housing to preside over the conduct of the 
hearing. 

4. The three impartial persons examine all written and electronic documentation, hear 
the testimony of all witnesses, and jointly make the final decision on the formal 
hearing.  The role of the DMH Housing Staff person is to facilitate the presentation of 
evidence and to explain how he or she determined that termination was the 
appropriate step. Processing Center staff will provide an agenda for the formal 
hearing, will make available copies of relevant paper documentation and provide 
access to relevant electronic records to everyone present.  

5. A final decision should be rendered verbally while the Participant is present, to be 
followed up by written notice sent by the Processing Center.  If for any reason an 
immediate verbal decision is not feasible, the decision must be issued within five 
working days in writing by the Processing Center to the Participant documenting the 
formal hearing final decision.  The decision is final and no further appeals are 
available.  

 Return to Table of Contents 
 Return to Top of Chapter 6 

 



  MO DMH Housing Manual August 2015 – Chapter 7 
 
 

107 
 

CHAPTER SEVEN—Program Monitoring and Evaluation 
 Return to Table of Contents 

As required by DMH contracts with Processing Centers, DMH Housing annually monitors 
the performance of Processing Centers. The monitoring, or review, will be scheduled in 
advance on a date that is mutually agreed upon, and DMH Housing shall send confirmation 
in writing.  The review may result in more than one visit depending on the outcome of the 
initial report. 

DMH Housing reviews each Processing Center for compliance with the terms of the 
Processing Center’s contract with DMH, the policies set forth in this Manual, and local, state 
and federal fair housing laws and ordinances.  The DMH Housing form, “Program 
Monitoring Tool,” defines the activities reviewed for compliance, which include but are not 
limited to: 

• Maintenance of complete and organized program Participant files, and HIPAA-
compliant use and storage of files; 

• Accuracy of Participant income and rent calculations, and rent payments; 

• Proper conduct of Rent Reasonableness surveys and HQS inspections; 

• Timely completion of program Participant recertifications; 

• Timely and accurate entry of HMIS data, completion of data corrections, and 
running of reports, including the HUD Annual Progress Report; and 

• Maintenance of staff time sheets documenting the amount of time spent on Shelter 
Plus Care activities (including time spent on individual grant programs where the 
Processing Center administers more than one program), and submission of time 
sheets with invoices on a monthly basis. 

See Chapter 8 for the “Program Monitoring Tool” form. 

As part of the Processing Center monitoring, DMH Housing may also request to conduct its 
own Housing Quality Standards inspections of program-assisted rental units to provide 
quality control on HQS inspections done by the Processing Center. 

Per the contract between DMH and the Processing Center, there may also be a financial audit. 
Financial audits are scheduled separately and conducted by DMH Accounting staff, rather 
than the Housing staff. 

A written report on the monitoring results shall be completed by DMH Housing and mailed 
within 30 days of the review to all involved parties, including the Executive Director and 
Board President of the Processing Center.    
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CHAPTER EIGHT—Forms and Online Resources 
 Return to Table of Contents 

The “”symbol indicates an online resource or form. Please report broken links to DMH Housing at 
573-526-3125 or housing@dmh.mo.gov. 

Landlord Forms (“Landlord Packet”) 
 Disclosure of Information on Lead-Based Paint and/or Lead-Based Paint Hazards (Sample)  
 Lead-Based Paint Fact Sheet (optional; a two-page PDF file concisely defining all requirements for landlords 

regarding lead-based paint)  
 FORM—Request for Tenancy Approval 
 FORM—Missouri Residential Lease Agreement (Sample) 
 FORM—Tenant-Based Housing Assistance Payments Contract (Sample)* (revised August 2015) 
 FORM—Landlord, Agent or Management Company Contact Information (Sample) 
 FORM—Unit Data Sheet (Sample) 
 IRS Form W-9  
 
Processing Centers 
 Income Limits  
 Fair Market Rents  
 FORM—Verification of Employment (Sample) 
 FORM—Household Obligations* (required form) (revised August 2015) 
 Allowances for Tenant-Furnished Utilities and Other Services (blank form)  
 FORM—Rent Reasonableness Survey and Certification (Sample) 
 HQS Inspection Form  
 DMH HQS Inspector Training Materials  
 FORM—Recertification and HQS Inspection Notice Letter (Sample) 
 FORM—Recertification Form—Shelter Plus Care (Sample)* (revised August 2015) 
 FORM—Recertification Form—Rental Assistance Program (RAP) (Sample) 
 FORM—Program/Lease Voluntary Termination Form Letter (Sample) 
 FORM—Notice of Termination of Rental Assistance (Sample) 
 FORM—Hearing Documentation Form (Sample) 
 Missouri Department of Elementary and Secondary Education: Serving Homeless Children  
 EPA Publication “Protect Your Family From Lead In Your Home”  
 
HMIS 
 FORM—HMIS Update Form for DMH Shelter + Care Processing Center Agencies (revised August 2015) 
 FORM—HMIS Update Form—Additional Persons (revised August 2015) 
 
Invoices 
 FORM—SPC Invoice—Renewal Grant —Participant Detail Sheet (Sample) 
 FORM—SPC Invoice—Renewal Grant —SPC Housing Invoice (Sample) 
 FORM—SPC Invoice—Renewal Grant —LOCCS Form (Line of Credit Control System) (Sample) 
 FORM—RAP Participant Detail Sheet (Sample) 
 FORM—Shelter Plus Care Activity Log for Administrative Costs—Initial Status (new, August 2015) 
 FORM—Shelter Plus Care Activity Log for Administrative Costs—Renewal Status (new, August 2015) 
 
Case Managers 

mailto:housing@dmh.mo.gov
http://portal.hud.gov/hudportal/documents/huddoc?id=DOC_12345.pdf
http://portal.hud.gov/hudportal/documents/huddoc?id=DOC_12351.pdf
http://www.irs.gov/pub/irs-pdf/fw9.pdf?portlet=3
http://www.huduser.org/datasets/il.html
http://www.huduser.org/datasets/fmr.html
http://portal.hud.gov/hudportal/HUD?src=/program_offices/administration/hudclips/forms/hud5a
http://portal.hud.gov/hudportal/documents/huddoc?id=52580-a.pdf
http://dmh.mo.gov/housing/housingunit/housingdevelopment.html
http://dese.mo.gov/quality-schools/federal-programs/homeless/serving-homeless-children
http://www.hud.gov/offices/lead/library/enforcement/pyf_eng.pdf
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 FORM—Applicant Homelessness History (Sample) 
 DMH Housing Web Site: Download SPC Application; Check Most Current Version of SPC Application  
 
Program Applicants and Participants 
 Missouri Landlord-Tenant Law  
 Missouri Department of Mental Health Housing Unit Web Site  
 FORM—Program/Lease Voluntary Termination Form Letter (Sample) 
 Missouri Sex Offender Registry  

 
DMH Housing 
 FORM—DMH Program Monitoring Tool (Part 1: Participant Files) 
 FORM—DMH Housing Program Monitoring Tool (Part 2: Exit Interview) 
 HUD Publication “Defining Chronic Homelessness: A Technical Guide for HUD Programs”  
 Tenant Rent Calculations for Certain HUD McKinney Act Programs  

 
 
 

 
 
 
  

http://dmh.mo.gov/housing/housingunit/shelterpluscare.html
http://ago.mo.gov/docs/default-source/publications/landlord-tenantlaw.pdf?sfvrsn=4%20
http://dmh.mo.gov/housing/
http://www.mshp.dps.missouri.gov/MSHPWeb/PatrolDivisions/CRID/SOR/SORPage.html
http://www.hudhre.info/documents/DefiningChronicHomeless.pdf
http://www.hud.gov/offices/cpd/lawsregs/notices/1996/96-3.pdf
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Return to Top of Chapter 8 

FORM—Request for Tenancy Approval 

REQUEST FOR TENANCY APPROVAL 
Missouri Department of Mental Health Housing Assistance Programs 
Please note that this HUD form has been adapted for use by the Missouri Department of Mental Health (DMH) Housing Unit.  All former references 
to the Housing Choice Voucher Program have been changed to DMH rent subsidy programs. All references to Public Housing Authorities (PHA) have 
been changed to DMH local rent subsidy Processing Center. 
 

1. Name of Processing Center 
 
 
 

2. Address of Unit (street address, apt. number, city, zip 

3. Requested Beginning 
Date of Lease 

 
 
 

4. No. of Bedrooms 5. Year Constructed 6. Proposed Rent 7. Security Deposit Amt. 8. Date Unit Available for 
Inspection 

9. Type of House/Apartment 
 Single Family Detached     Semi-Detached/Row House    Manufactured Home    Garden/Walkup    Elevator/High Rise 
 
10. If this unit is subsidized, indicate type of subsidy: 
 Section 202    Section 221(d)(3)(BMIR)    Section 236 (insured or noninsured)    Section 515 Rural Development 
 Home    Tax Credit    Other (Describe other subsidy, including any state or local subsidy) 
_______________________________________________________________________________________________________ 
 
11. Utilities and Appliances 
The Owner shall provide or pay for the utilities and appliances indicated below by checking the box marked “Owner.”  The Tenant shall provide 
or pay for the utilities and appliances indicated below by checking the box marked “Tenant.”  Unless specified below, the Owner shall pay for 
all utilities provided by the Owner. 
Item Specify fuel type Provided by Paid by 

Heating  Natural Gas    Bottle Gas    Oil    Electric    Other   Owner 
 Tenant 

 Owner 
 Tenant 

Cooking  Natural Gas    Bottle Gas    Oil    Electric    Other 
 Owner 
 Tenant 

 Owner 
 Tenant 

Water Heating  Natural Gas    Bottle Gas    Oil    Electric    Other 
 Owner 
 Tenant 

 Owner 
 Tenant 

Other Electric - - - - - - - - - - - - - - - - - - - - - - - - - - - - - - - - -    Owner 
 Tenant 

 Owner 
 Tenant 

Water - - - - - - - - - - - - - - - - - - - - - - - - - - - - - - - - - 
 Owner 
 Tenant 

 Owner 
 Tenant 

Sewer - - - - - - - - - - - - - - - - - - - - - - - - - - - - - - - - - 
 Owner 
 Tenant 

 Owner 
 Tenant 

Trash Collection - - - - - - - - - - - - - - - - - - - - - - - - - - - - - - - - - 
 Owner 
 Tenant 

 Owner 
 Tenant 

Air Conditioning - - - - - - - - - - - - - - - - - - - - - - - - - - - - - - - - - 
 Owner 
 Tenant 

 Owner 
 Tenant 

Refrigerator - - - - - - - - - - - - - - - - - - - - - - - - - - - - - - - - - 
 Owner 
 Tenant 

 Owner 
 Tenant 

Range/Microwave - - - - - - - - - - - - - - - - - - - - - - - - - - - - - - - - - 
 Owner 
 Tenant 

 Owner 
 Tenant 

Other (specify) - - - - - - - - - - - - - - - - - - - - - - - - - - - - - - - - - 
 Owner 
 Tenant 

 Owner 
 Tenant 

12. Owner’s Certifications  c. Check one of the following: 
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a.  The program regulation requires the Processing Center to 
certify that the rent charged to the housing assistance 
program tenant is not more than the rent charged for other 
unassisted comparable units.  Owners of projects with more 
than four units must complete the following section for most 
recently leased comparable unassisted units within the 
premises. 
 

 Lead-based paint disclosure requirements do not 
apply because the property was built on or after 
January 1, 1978. 
 
 The unit, common areas servicing the unit, and 
exterior painted surfaces associated with such unit 
or common areas have been found to be lead-
based paint free by a lead-based paint inspector 
certified under the Federal certification program or 
under a federally accredited State certification 
program. 
 
 A completed statement is attached containing 
disclosure of known information on lead-based 
paint and/or lead-based paint hazards in the unit, 
common areas or exterior painted surfaces, 
including a statement that the Owner has provided 
the lead hazard information pamphlet to the family. 
 
13. The Processing Center has not screened the 
household’s behavior or suitability for tenancy.  
Such screening is the Owner’s responsibility. 
 
14. The Processing Center will arrange for 
inspection of the unit and will notify the Owner and 
household as to whether or not the unit will be 
approved. 

Address and Unit Number Date Rented Rental Amount 

1. 
 
 
 

  

2. 
 
 
 

  

3. 
 
 
 

  

 
b. The Owner (including a principal or other interested party) 
is not the parent, child, grandparent, grandchild, sister or 
brother of any member of the household, unless the 
Processing Center has determined (and has notified the Owner 
and the household of such determination) that approving 
leasing of the unit, notwithstanding such relationship, would 
provide reasonable accommodation for a household member 
who is a person with disabilities. 
  

Print or type name of Owner/Owner Representative 
 
 
 
 

Print or type name of Program Participant 

Signature 
 
 
 
 

Signature (Program Participant) 

Business Address 
 
 
 
 
 

Present Address of Household (street address, apt. no., city, zip code) 

Telephone Number Date Telephone Number Date 
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Return to Top of Chapter 8 

FORM—Landlord, Agent or Management Company Contact Information (Sample) 
 

Please print legibly.  Anything that is unreadable will cause delays in rental payments. 
 

Property Owner name and address: ________________________________________________ 

_____________________________________________________________________________ 

_____________________________________________________________________________ 

Property Owner phone: ________________________  cell phone: _______________________ 

Property Owner fax: ____________________________________________________________ 

Agent or Management Company for the Property Owner 

Contact person name: ___________________________________________________________ 

Address: ______________________________________________________________________ 

______________________________________________________________________________ 

Agent/Management Co. phone: ___________________________________________________ 

Agent/Management Co. fax: ______________________________________________________ 

Checks should be made out and mailed exactly as follows: 

______________________________________________________________________________ 

______________________________________________________________________________ 

______________________________________________________________________________ 

 

 

(Name of Owner or Agent)        (Date) 

My signature above verifies that I own or am able to act on behalf of the owner of the rental property 
described in this packet. 
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Return to Top of Chapter 8 
FORM—Unit Data Sheet (Sample) 

Date ____________________________ 

Landlord/Owner/Property Manager: Please provide the following information about the unit to be 
rented to the rental assistance program Participant.  

Requested Rent _______________________ 

Census Tract __________________________ 

Unit Address __________________________________________________________________________ 

City __________________________________________________ Zip  Code __________________ 

Owner/Agent ____________________________________ Phone __________________ 

General Information: 

Unit Type:  Single Family  Multi-Family 
  Plexes, Garden, Town or Row House  Other (specify ________________________) 

General Condition:   Minimal  Average  Above Average  New 

Measured Square Footage: ___________________ Approximate Age: ______________ 

No. of Bedrooms: _____ No. of Bathrooms: _____ No. of Rooms: _____ 

CHECK ALL THAT APPLY: 

 Patio/Deck/Porch/Yard  Garage/Carport  Extra Storage Fence  
 Basement  Recreational Facilities  Public Transportation 
 Maintenance Provided 
 
 Carpet    Blinds    Ceiling Fan(s)  Fireplace  
 Dishwasher    Garbage Disposal   Washer/Dryer 
 Coin-Operated Laundry  Owner-furnished Range  Owner-furnished Refrigerator 
 Central Air Conditioning  Portable A/C Unit 

Utilities (please circle): 

Heating:  Gas or Electric   Tenant Pays or Owner Pays 
Stove:   Gas or Electric   Tenant Pays or Owner Pays 
Water Heater:  Gas or Electric   Tenant Pays or Owner Pays 
Water:       Tenant Pays or Owner Pays 
Electricity:      Tenant Pays or Owner Pays 

Additional Comments: ____________________________________________________ 
________________________________________________________________________ 
________________________________________________________________________ 
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Return to Top of Chapter 8 

FORM—Missouri Residential Lease Agreement (Sample) 

 THIS LEASE AGREEMENT (hereinafter referred to as the "Agreement") made and entered into 
this ____________ day of ____________________________, 20____, by and between 
_____________________________________________________________________ (hereinafter 
referred to as "Landlord") and 
_____________________________________________________________________ (hereinafter 
referred to as "Tenant").    

W I T N E S S E T H :  

WHEREAS, Landlord is the fee owner of certain real property being, lying and situated in 
_______________ County, Missouri, such real property having a street address of 
______________________________________________________________ (hereinafter referred to 
as the "Premises").     

            WHEREAS, Landlord desires to lease the Premises to Tenant upon the terms and conditions as 
contained herein; and    

            WHEREAS, Tenant desires to lease the Premises from Landlord on the terms and conditions as 
contained herein;    

            NOW, THEREFORE, for and in consideration of the covenants and obligations contained herein 
and other good and valuable consideration, the receipt and sufficiency of which is hereby 
acknowledged, the parties hereto hereby agree as follows:    

1. TERM.  Landlord leases to Tenant and Tenant leases from Landlord the above described 
Premises together with any and all appurtenances thereto, for a term of one year, such term 
beginning on __________________, and ending at 12 o'clock midnight on 
______________________.   

2. RENT.  The total rent for the term hereof is the sum of 
______________________________________________________________ DOLLARS 
($____________) payable on the ______ day of each month of the term, in equal installments 
of ______________________________________________________________ DOLLARS 
($_____________), first installment to be paid upon the due execution of this Agreement, the 
second installment to be paid on _______________________.  All such payments shall be 
made to Landlord at Landlord's address as set forth in the preamble to this Agreement on or 
before the due date and without demand.  

3. DAMAGE DEPOSIT.  Upon the due execution of this Agreement, Tenant shall deposit with 
Landlord the sum of 
______________________________________________________________ DOLLARS 
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($________) receipt of which is hereby acknowledged by Landlord, as security for any damage 
caused to the Premises during the term hereof.  Such deposit shall be returned to Tenant, 
without interest, and less any set off for damages to the Premises upon the termination of this 
Agreement.  

4. USE OF PREMISES.  The Premises shall be used and occupied by Tenant and Tenant's 
immediate family, consisting of ______________________  __________________________  
____________, exclusively, as a private single family dwelling, and no part of the Premises 
shall be used at any time during the term of this Agreement by Tenant for the purpose of 
carrying on any business, profession, or trade of any kind, or for any purpose other than as a 
private single family dwelling.  Tenant shall not allow any other person, other than Tenant's 
immediate family or transient relatives and friends who are guests of Tenant, to use or occupy 
the Premises without first obtaining Landlord's written consent to such use.   Tenant shall 
comply with any and all laws, ordinances, rules and orders of any and all governmental or 
quasi-governmental authorities affecting the cleanliness, use, occupancy and preservation of 
the Premises.  

5. CONDITION OF PREMISES.  Tenant stipulates, represents and warrants that Tenant has 
examined the Premises, and that they are at the time of this Lease in good order, repair, and 
in a safe, clean and tenantable condition.   

6. ASSIGNMENT AND SUB-LETTING.  Tenant shall not assign this Agreement, or sub-let or grant 
any license to use the Premises or any part thereof without the prior written consent of 
Landlord.  A consent by Landlord to one such assignment, sub-letting or license shall not be 
deemed to be a consent to any subsequent assignment, sub-letting or license.  An assignment, 
sub-letting or license without the prior written consent of Landlord or an assignment or sub-
letting by operation of law shall be absolutely null and void and shall, at Landlord's option, 
terminate this Agreement.  

7. ALTERATIONS AND IMPROVEMENTS.  Tenant shall make no alterations to the buildings or 
improvements on the Premises or construct any building or make any other improvements on 
the Premises without the prior written consent of Landlord.  Any and all alterations, changes, 
and/or improvements built, constructed or placed on the Premises by Tenant shall, unless 
otherwise provided by written agreement between Landlord and Tenant, be and become the 
property of Landlord and remain on the Premises at the expiration or earlier termination of 
this Agreement.  

8. NON-DELIVERY OF POSSESSION.  In the event Landlord cannot deliver possession of the 
Premises to Tenant upon the commencement of the Lease term, through no fault of Landlord 
or its agents, then Landlord or its agents shall have no liability, but the rental herein provided 
shall abate until possession is given.  Landlord or its agents shall have thirty (30) days in which 
to give possession, and if possession is tendered within such time, Tenant agrees to accept the 
demised Premises and pay the rental herein provided from that date.  In the event possession 
cannot be delivered within such time, through no fault of Landlord or its agents, then this 
Agreement and all rights hereunder shall terminate.  



  MO DMH Housing Manual August 2015 – Chapter 8 
 
 

117 
 

9. HAZARDOUS MATERIALS.  Tenant shall not keep on the Premises any item of a dangerous, 
flammable or explosive character that might unreasonably increase the danger of fire or 
explosion on the Premises or that might be considered hazardous or extra hazardous by any 
responsible insurance company.   

10. UTILITIES.  Tenant shall be responsible for arranging for and paying for all utility services 
required on the Premises.   

11. MAINTENANCE AND REPAIR; RULES.  Tenant will, at its sole expense, keep and maintain the 
Premises and appurtenances in good and sanitary condition and repair during the term of this 
Agreement and any renewal thereof.  Without limiting the generality of the foregoing, Tenant 
shall:   

(a)     Not obstruct the driveways, sidewalks, courts, entry ways, stairs and/or halls, which 
shall be used for the purposes of ingress and egress only; 

(b)    Keep all windows, glass, window coverings, doors, locks and hardware in good, clean 
order and repair; 

(c)     Not obstruct or cover the windows or doors; 

(d)    Not leave windows or doors in an open position during any inclement weather;  

(e)     Not hang any laundry, clothing, sheets, etc.  from any window, rail, porch or balcony 
nor air or dry any of same within any yard area or space; 

(f)      Not cause or permit any locks or hooks to be placed upon any door or window without 
the prior written consent of Landlord; 

(g)    Keep all air conditioning filters clean and free from dirt; 

(h)    Keep all lavatories, sinks, toilets, and all other water and plumbing apparatus in good 
order and repair and shall use same only for the purposes for which they were 
constructed.  Tenant shall not allow any sweepings, rubbish, sand, rags, ashes or 
other substances to be thrown or deposited therein.  Any damage to any such 
apparatus and the cost of clearing stopped plumbing resulting from misuse shall be 
borne by Tenant; 

(i)      And Tenant's family and guests shall at all times maintain order in the Premises and at 
all places on the Premises, and shall not make or permit any loud or improper 
noises, or otherwise disturb other residents; 

(j)      Keep all radios, television sets, stereos, phonographs, etc., turned down to a level of 
sound that does not annoy or interfere with other residents; 
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(k)     Deposit all trash, garbage, rubbish or refuse in the locations provided therefor and 
shall not allow any trash, garbage, rubbish or refuse to be deposited or permitted 
to stand on the exterior of any building or within the common elements; 

(l)      Abide by and be bound by any and all rules and regulations affecting the Premises or 
the common area appurtenant thereto which may be adopted or promulgated by 
the Condominium or Homeowners' Association having control over them.   

12. DAMAGE TO PREMISES.  In the event the Premises are destroyed or rendered wholly 
uninhabitable by fire, storm, earthquake, or other casualty not caused by the negligence of 
Tenant, this Agreement shall terminate from such time except for the purpose of enforcing 
rights that may have then accrued hereunder.  The rental provided for herein shall then be 
accounted for by and between Landlord and Tenant up to the time of such injury or 
destruction of the Premises, Tenant paying rentals up to such date and Landlord refunding 
rentals collected beyond such date.  Should a portion of the Premises thereby be rendered 
uninhabitable, the Landlord shall have the option of either repairing such injured or damaged 
portion or terminating this Lease.  In the event that Landlord exercises its right to repair such 
uninhabitable portion, the rental shall abate in the proportion that the injured parts bears to 
the whole Premises, and such part so injured shall be restored by Landlord as speedily as 
practicable, after which the full rent shall recommence and the Agreement continue according 
to its terms.  

13. INSPECTION OF PREMISES.  Landlord and Landlord's agents shall have the right at all 
reasonable times during the term of this Agreement and any renewal thereof to enter the 
Premises for the purpose of inspecting the Premises and all buildings and improvements 
thereon.  And for the purposes of making any repairs, additions or alterations as may be 
deemed appropriate by Landlord for the preservation of the Premises or the building.  
Landlord and its agents shall further have the right to exhibit the Premises and to display the 
usual "for sale", "for rent" or "vacancy" signs on the Premises at any time within forty-five (45) 
days before the expiration of this Lease.   The right of entry shall likewise exist for the purpose 
of removing placards, signs, fixtures, alterations or additions, that do not conform to this 
Agreement or to any restrictions, rules or regulations affecting the Premises.  

14. SUBORDINATION OF LEASE.  This Agreement and Tenant's interest hereunder are and shall be 
subordinate, junior and inferior to any and all mortgages, liens or encumbrances now or 
hereafter placed on the Premises by Landlord, all advances made under any such mortgages, 
liens or encumbrances (including, but not limited to, future advances), the interest payable on 
such mortgages, liens or encumbrances and any and all renewals, extensions or modifications 
of such mortgages, liens or encumbrances.   

15. TENANT'S HOLD OVER.  If Tenant remains in possession of the Premises with the consent of 
Landlord after the natural expiration of this Agreement, a new tenancy from month-to-month 
shall be created between Landlord and Tenant which shall be subject to all of the terms and 
conditions hereof except that rent shall then be due and owing at 
______________________________________________________________ DOLLARS 
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($___________) per month and except that such tenancy shall be terminable upon fifteen (15) 
days written notice served by either party.  

16. SURRENDER OF PREMISES.  Upon the expiration of the term hereof, Tenant shall surrender 
the Premises in as good a state and condition as they were at the commencement of this 
Agreement, reasonable use and wear and tear thereof and damages by the elements 
excepted.   

17. ANIMALS.  Tenant shall be entitled to keep no more than __________ (____) domestic dogs, 
cats or birds; however, at such time as Tenant shall actually keep any such animal on the 
Premises, Tenant shall pay to Landlord a pet deposit of 
______________________________________________________________ DOLLARS 
($_________), ______________________________________________________________ 
DOLLARS ($_________) of which shall be non-refundable and shall be used upon the 
termination or expiration of this Agreement for the purposes of cleaning the carpets of the 
building.  

18. QUIET ENJOYMENT.  Tenant, upon payment of all of the sums referred to herein as being 
payable by Tenant and Tenant's performance of all Tenant's agreements contained herein and 
Tenant's observance of all rules and regulations, shall and may peacefully and quietly have, 
hold and enjoy said Premises for the term hereof.   

19. INDEMNIFICATION.  Landlord shall not be liable for any damage or injury of or to the Tenant, 
Tenant's family, guests, invitees, agents or employees or to any person entering the Premises 
or the building of which the Premises are a part or to goods or equipment, or in the structure 
or equipment of the structure of which the Premises are a part, and Tenant hereby agrees to 
indemnify, defend and hold Landlord harmless from any and all claims or assertions of every 
kind and nature.   

20. DEFAULT.  If Tenant fails to comply with any of the material provisions of this Agreement, 
other than the covenant to pay rent, or of any present rules and regulations or any that may 
be hereafter prescribed by Landlord, or materially fails to comply with any duties imposed on 
Tenant by statute, within seven (7) days after delivery of written notice by Landlord specifying 
the non-compliance and indicating the intention of Landlord to terminate the Lease by reason 
thereof, Landlord may terminate this Agreement.   If Tenant fails to pay rent when due and 
the default continues for seven (7) days thereafter, Landlord may, at Landlord's option, 
declare the entire balance of rent payable hereunder to be immediately due and payable and 
may exercise any and all rights and remedies available to Landlord at law or in equity or may 
immediately terminate this Agreement.  

21. LATE CHARGE.  In the event that any payment required to be paid by Tenant hereunder is not 
made within three (3) days of when due, Tenant shall pay to Landlord, in addition to such 
payment or other charges due hereunder, a "late fee" in the amount of 
______________________________________________________________ DOLLARS 
($__________).  
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22. ABANDONMENT.  If at any time during the term of this Agreement Tenant abandons the 
Premises or any part thereof, Landlord may, at Landlord's option, obtain possession of the 
Premises in the manner provided by law, and without becoming liable to Tenant for damages 
or for any payment of any kind whatever.  Landlord may, at Landlord's discretion, as agent for 
Tenant, relet the Premises, or any part thereof, for the whole or any part thereof, for the 
whole or any part of the then unexpired term, and may receive and collect all rent payable by 
virtue of such reletting, and, at Landlord's option, hold Tenant liable for any difference 
between the rent that would have been payable under this Agreement during the balance of 
the unexpired term, if this Agreement had continued in force, and the net rent for such period 
realized by Landlord by means of such reletting.  If Landlord's right of reentry is exercised 
following abandonment of the Premises by Tenant, then Landlord shall consider any personal 
property belonging to Tenant and left on the Premises to also have been abandoned, in which 
case Landlord may dispose of all such personal property in any manner Landlord shall deem 
proper and Landlord is hereby relieved of all liability for doing so.  

23. ATTORNEYS' FEES.  Should it become necessary for Landlord to employ an attorney to enforce 
any of the conditions or covenants hereof, including the collection of rentals or gaining 
possession of the Premises, Tenant agrees to pay all expenses so incurred, including a 
reasonable attorneys' fee.  

24. RECORDING OF AGREEMENT.  Tenant shall not record this Agreement on the Public Records 
of any public office.  In the event that Tenant shall record this Agreement, this Agreement 
shall, at Landlord's option, terminate immediately and Landlord shall be entitled to all rights 
and remedies that it has at law or in equity.  

25. GOVERNING LAW.  This Agreement shall be governed, construed and interpreted by, through 
and under the Laws of the State of Missouri.    

26. SEVERABILITY.  If any provision of this Agreement or the application thereof shall, for any 
reason and to any extent, be invalid or unenforceable, neither the remainder of this 
Agreement nor the application of the provision to other persons, entities or circumstances 
shall be affected thereby, but instead shall be enforced to the maximum extent permitted by 
law.  

27. BINDING EFFECT.  The covenants, obligations and conditions herein contained shall be binding 
on and inure to the benefit of the heirs, legal representatives, and assigns of the parties 
hereto.  

28. DESCRIPTIVE HEADINGS.  The descriptive headings used herein are for convenience of 
reference only and they are not intended to have any effect whatsoever in determining the 
rights or obligations of the Landlord or Tenant.  

29. CONSTRUCTION.  The pronouns used herein shall include, where appropriate, either gender 
or both, singular and plural.  
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30. NON-WAIVER.  No indulgence, waiver, election or non-election by Landlord under this 
Agreement shall affect Tenant's duties and liabilities hereunder. 
   

31. MODIFICATION.  The parties hereby agree that this document contains the entire agreement 
between the parties and this Agreement shall not be modified, changed, altered or amended 
in any way except through a written amendment signed by all of the parties hereto.   
   

32. NOTICE.  Any notice required or permitted under this Lease or under state law shall be 
deemed sufficiently given or served if sent by United States certified mail, return receipt 
requested, addressed as follows: 

If to Landlord to: 

 ______________________________________________  
[Landlord's Name] 
 
______________________________________________  
______________________________________________  
[Landlord's Address] 

If to Tenant to: 

______________________________________________  
[Tenant's Name] 
 
______________________________________________  
______________________________________________  
[Tenant's Address] 

Landlord and Tenant shall each have the right from time to time to change the place notice is 
to be given under this paragraph by written notice thereof to the other party.  

33. ADDITIONAL PROVISIONS; DISCLOSURES. 
____________________________________________________________ 
____________________________________________________________ 
____________________________________________________________ 
____________________________________________________________ 
____________________________________________________________ 
____________________________________________________________ 
[Landlord should note above any disclosures about the premises that may be required under 
Federal or Missouri law, such as known lead-based paint hazards in the Premises. The 
Landlord should also disclose any flood hazards.]  

As to Landlord this ______ day of ________________________, 20_____.   
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LANDLORD: 
 
 
Sign: _______________________________ Print: ____________________________________ Date: 
______________ 
  

As to Tenant, this ______ day of ________________________, 20_____.   

TENANT ("Tenant"): 
 
 
Sign: ___________________________________ Print: _________________________________ Date: 
______________ 
 
TENANT: 
 
 
Sign: ___________________________________ Print: _________________________________ Date: 
______________ 
 
TENANT: 
 
 
Sign: ___________________________________ Print: _________________________________ Date: 
______________ 
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Return to Top of Chapter 8 

FORM—Household Obligations* 
 
[NOTE: this form may be altered to conform it to agency form specifications, but the written 
content may not be altered. It must be used by all DMH-contracted agencies that administer 
Shelter Plus Care or Rental Assistance Program vouchers.] 

Household Obligations 
For Persons and Households Receiving Assistance 

Under the Missouri Department of Mental Health’s Shelter Plus Care Program 
or Rental Assistance Program 

I. TERMS 
 

1. ___________________________________ is the person receiving housing assistance through the 
Missouri Department of Mental Health (DMH), and is referred to as “you” throughout this 
document. 

 

2. ___________________________________ is the Processing Center agency contracted with DMH 
to administer housing assistance funds locally. Processing Centers pay rental assistance to rental 
property owners; conduct housing assistance orientations and housing quality inspections; 
maintain records of households receiving DMH housing assistance; notify property owners of 
repairs needed; and help negotiate with Owners.  
 

3. “Owner” refers to the landlord, owner or property manager of the rental unit you will be living in. 
 

II. PURPOSE 

 

1. In order to receive housing assistance from the Department of Mental Health (DMH) through 
[Processing Center], you must agree to abide by the rules and obligations written below. 

 

2. The purpose of these rules and obligations is a) to ensure that all Participants are treated fairly 
and equally, b) to ensure the financial stability of DMH’s housing assistance programs, and c) to 
ensure compliance with federal, state and local laws that affect DMH’s housing assistance 
programs and tenants in general. 

 

3. Failure to comply with any of the rules and obligations stated below may result in the suspension 
or termination of your housing assistance. If your assistance is suspended because you violated 
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these rules, you may be subject to owing late fees to the Owner of your rental unit.  If your 
assistance is terminated because you violated these rules, you may be subject to eviction from 
your unit. 

 

III. HOUSEHOLD OBLIGATIONS 
 

1. Obligation to Provide Documentation to Show and Maintain Eligibility: 
To be considered eligible for housing assistance, you and all household members must supply 
true and complete information requested by [Processing Center] necessary for the 
administration of the program, including but not limited to: 

• Proof of citizenship or legal residence for all household members 
• Release of Information form(s)  
• Household income not more than 30 days old  
• Household composition (a list of all members who live in household) 
• Proof of Social Security numbers for all household members 
• Missouri state-issued picture identification or military identification for those 18 and 

older in the household 
• Birth certificates for all household members who are minors (under the age of 18) 

Some of these documents are also required by [Processing Center] once per year to show that 
you are still eligible for assistance. This is called your annual recertification.  Failure to provide 
any information or documentation requested by [Processing Center] can result in the 
suspension or termination of your rent assistance. 

 
2. Obligations Regarding Income: 

You are obligated to pay 30% of your gross income toward your rent. [Processing Center] staff 
will inform you of the exact amount of rent you owe when you enter the housing assistance 
program; whenever you report a change in your income; and once per year at your annual 
recertification of eligibility. 
 
If you have no income, you must make an effort to obtain some form of income after entry 
into a DMH housing assistance program.  Income can consist of employment or benefits such 
as Social Security Disability Income (SSDI) or Supplemental Security Income (SSI).  Not having 
income after two years will result in DMH Housing working closely with you and your case 
manager or community support worker to identify the reason for the lack of income and to 
find ways to improve your income situation. 
 
All changes in income must be reported to [Processing Center] within 30 days of the date of 
the change. Failure to report a loss of income means you will be paying more than your fair 
share of your rent.  Failure to report an increase in income may cause suspension or 
termination of your housing assistance. 
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3. Utilities in the Rental Unit: 
Any and all utility service(s) that you are required to maintain must be on and working at all 
times, and while receiving assistance from [Processing Center].  

Any utilities that are agreed to be your responsibility, as defined by the lease, must be in your 
name as the head of household.  Utilities may not be in any other person’s name. 

Having your utility services shut off because of lack of payment, and having utility services in 
the name of another person, are both grounds for termination of your rental assistance. 

 
4. Location of Rental Unit:  

DMH and [Processing Center] strive to give you as much choice as possible in choosing the 
location of your rental unit. However, the location is limited because it must be within the 
Continuum of Care associated with the DMH program administered by the Processing Center.  
See the table below that defines these areas: 
 

Your Current Location Where You Are Limited to Choosing a Unit 
St. Louis City St. Louis City 

St. Louis County St. Louis County 
Kansas City Within Kansas City city limits and all of Jackson 

County 
Springfield Greene, Webster and Christian Counties 
St. Joseph Andrew, Buchanan and DeKalb Counties 

Joplin Jasper and Newton Counties 
All other cities and 

counties 
Varies by location; the Processing Center will tell 
you exactly what area the DMH program covers. 

 
DMH rental assistance vouchers are not portable. 
 

5. Adding Additional Persons to Assisted Rental Unit: 
No person(s) other than those listed on the application for rental assistance and the lease 
shall live/stay in the residence other than on a temporary basis, not to exceed 30 days, in a 
calendar year.  This is to ensure that the amount of rent you owe is accurately based on the 
total monthly income of that household. 

All occupants of the household must be approved by [Processing Center].  You must promptly 
inform [Processing Center] of the birth, adoption, court-awarded custody or guardianship of a 
child or adult.  You must request approval to add any additional person. 

If you need to add an additional person to the household, you agree to: a) contact the Owner 
for permission to add a person, b) have your case manager write a letter in support of adding 
the additional person; and c) provide [Processing Center] with a written request stating why 
the additional person should be added to the household. [Processing Center] then forwards 
the request to DMH for approval. 



  MO DMH Housing Manual August 2015 – Chapter 8 
 
 

126 
 

When you add an additional person to your household, [Processing Center] requires 
information about that person similar to what you provided when you began receiving 
housing assistance.  If the person being added is a child under the age of 18, you are 
responsible for submitting the required information to [Processing Center], and if it is not 
submitted, your housing assistance may be suspended or terminated. If the person being 
added is an adult age 18 or over, you, your case manager, and the new household member 
must come to [Processing Center] to complete required forms and provide required 
identification and income information. If the required information is not provided, your 
housing assistance may be suspended or terminated.  

 
6.   Moving Policy: 

The terms of your lease govern how often you can move, and therefore you may not move if 
such a move breaks the terms of your lease.  Leases are for one year, and therefore you must 
remain in your rental unit for at least one year. 

If you have lived in your unit less than one year and feel you must move sooner, you must 
submit a written request to [Processing Center], which is subject to approval by DMH. 

You must give a minimum thirty-day written notice (or as otherwise specified in your lease) to 
the Owner prior to any move.  [Processing Center] must also receive a copy of this written 
notice at least 30 days prior to any move.  If you move without giving notice to the Owner and 
to [Processing Center], your rental assistance may be terminated. 

[Processing Center] will not provide an inspection for any new unit or transfer payment until 
proper written notice has been provided to the Owner and [Processing Center].  Any notice 
you submit will be verified with the current Owner by [Processing Center].  

[Processing Center] will not pay for a participant to live in any other residence during a month 
in which a payment for the original approved residence has been made. 

 
7.  Inspections: 

You must allow an inspection of your rental unit prior to moving in.   You must not sign a lease 
until after the rental unit has passed inspection.  

As part of your annual recertification, you must allow an annual re-inspection of the rental 
unit. 

 
8. Recertifications: 

As a recipient of housing assistance from DMH and [Processing Center], you must agree to 
cooperate in the annual recertification of your eligibility for assistance.  [Processing Center] 
will notify you in writing by mail 60-90 days in advance of the deadline that your 
recertification is approaching. To complete your recertification, you must provide the 
following information and documentation to [Processing Center] by the deadline set: 

 
• A list of everyone currently residing in your rental unit; everyone in the unit must be on 
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the lease and approved by [Processing Center]; 
• Documentation no older than 30 days of all sources of cash income in the household; this 

includes but is not limited to employment income, Social Security income, unemployment, 
TANF, and child support; and 

 
Failure to submit the required recertification information to [Processing Center] by the 
deadline may result in suspension of your housing assistance.  If you refuse to cooperate with 
requests made by [Processing Center] as part of the recertification process, your housing 
assistance will be terminated.  

 
9. Obligation to Abide By the Terms of the Lease: 

• You and each member of the household are required to abide by the terms of the lease. 
• You must pay your share of the rent, if any, on time, according to the terms of the lease. 
• You must pay your share of the utilities, if any, on time, according to the terms of the 

lease. 
• You, your guests, and all members of the household will not damage the rental unit or the 

property on which it sits. 
• You will be financially responsible for any and all damages caused to the unit and the 

property. 
• You, your guests, and all members of the household will respect the rights and privacy of 

neighbors and fellow tenants. 
• You must give [Processing Center] prompt notice of any lease violation notices, notices to 

vacate, and eviction notices that you receive from the Owner of your rental unit. 
 

10. Use and Occupancy of Residence: 
• You must live in the rental unit assisted by the housing assistance program and you may 

not have any other residence, including residing in an emergency shelter, transitional 
housing, or other assisted housing. 

• You may not sublease the rental unit. 
• You may not assign the lease or transfer the rental unit. 
• You may not enter into a lease with option to purchase agreement or contract on the 

rental unit. 
• If you plan to be absent from the unit longer than 30 consecutive days, you must inform 

[Processing Center] before the absence begins.  If you plan to be absent from the unit on a 
day your share of the rent is due, you must make arrangements to pay the rent in your 
absence. You must, upon request, provide proof that the residence is being occupied by 
the household member(s) listed on the voucher and lease.  

• All household members must abide by the law and may not engage in drug-related 
activity, violent criminal activity, fraud, bribery or any other corrupt or criminal act. 

• No member of the household may receive another subsidy for the same residence, from 
Section 8 or any other city, county, state, federal or private funds that could be considered 
to duplicate the assistance provided by [Processing Center]. 

• Rental assistance may be terminated if you engage in criminal activities that threaten the 
health, safety or right to peaceful enjoyment of other residents in or near the premises. 
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• Rental assistance may be denied or terminated if any member of the household engages 
in threatening, abusive or violent language or behavior toward [Processing Center] 
personnel. 

• No household member shall own or have a financial interest in the residence. 
• [Processing Center] will in no way be responsible for any debts or expenses you owe.  Your 

obligations as set forth by the lease, rental agreement, or utility company are yours.  
Housing assistance payments are made on your behalf and are considered assistance only. 

• You are responsible for communicating any changes in assistance to [Processing Center].  
[Processing Center] will make all possible effort to keep you and the Owner informed as to 
the status of housing assistance payments.  

• [Processing Center] will not be held accountable for late fees charged by the Owner.  
• When a change in the rental assistance amount is made because of a move, a change in 

income, expenses or household composition, [Processing Center] will make the change 
within 30 days. 

You agree to hold harmless [Processing Center], a duly organized not-for-profit corporation 
doing business in the State of Missouri.  FURTHERMORE, you agree to indemnify and hold 
harmless [Processing Center], its agents, heirs, employees and assignees for any damages of 
whatever kind, of whatever nature, wherever situated, for any causes of actions, or suits 
particularly on account of the provision of [Processing Center]. 
 
My signature below indicates that I have read and understand the above Household 
Obligations; and that I will abide by these rules.  Failure to abide by these Household 
Obligations may result in termination of rental assistance.  If assistance is terminated, I 
understand that I may request a hearing. 
 
I/We certify that the information given to [Processing Center] on household composition, 
income, household assets, allowances and deductions is accurate and complete to the best of 
my/our knowledge.  I/We understand that false statements made or information given is a 
violation of federal law.  I/We also understand that false statements or information are 
grounds for termination of housing assistance. 
 

TITLE 18, SECTION 1001 OF THE UNITED STATES CODE, STATES THAT A 
PERSON IS GUILTY OF A FELONY FOR KNOWINGLY AND WILLINGLY 
MAKING A FALSE OR FRAUDLENT STATEMENTS TO ANY DEPARTMENT 
OR AGENCY OF THE UNITED STATES. 

 
My/our signature(s) below indicates that I have received a copy of this document. 
 
 
________________________________ 
Please print Participant name 
 
 
________________________________  _____________________ 
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Participant Signature      Date 
 
 
________________________________ 
Please print Spouse/other adult name 
 
 
_________________________________  _____________________ 
Spouse/other adult Signature     Date 

 
 
________________________________  _____________________ 
Processing Center Representative Signature   Date 
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Return to Top of Chapter 8 

FORM—Tenant-Based Housing Assistance Payments Contract (Sample)* 

Tenant-Based Housing Assistance Payments Contract 

This Tenant-Based Housing Assistance Payments Contract (Contract) is entered into between      , 
Landlord, and      , (Processing Center). 

The purpose of this Contract is to assist the Tenant(s) identified in Section A to lease a decent, safe 
and sanitary dwelling unit from the Landlord.  The Processing Center will make housing assistance 
payments to the Landlord on behalf of the Tenant in accordance with this Contract. 

ARTICLE 1.  CONTRACT UNIT, TENANT AND LEASE 
 Section A. This contract applies only to the Tenant(s) and contract unit listed here: 

   Contract Unit:       

   Tenant(s):       

Section B. The Landlord shall lease the contract unit to the Tenant.  The Lease to be 
executed by the Tenant and the Landlord for the contract unit has been 
approved by the Processing Center and shall be executed in the form approved.  
The Lease shall contain all provision required by the Missouri Landlord/Tenant 
Law and shall not contain any provision prohibited by the Missouri 
Landlord/Tenant Law. 

ARTICLE 2.  TERM OF CONTRACT 
   The Term of Contract shall begin on       

   And end on      . 

ARTICLE 3.  RENT: HOUSING ASSISTANCE PAYMENT 
Section A. The total monthly rent payable to the Landlord during the term of this Contract 

is called the “contract rent”.  Initially and until adjustment of the contract rent 
by the Processing Center, the total contract rent shall be $      per month.  
The Processing Center will pay, on behalf of the client, $     . 

Section B. The portion of the contract rent payable by the Tenant (“tenant rent”) will be 
an amount determined by the Processing Center.  This amount is the maximum 
amount the Landlord can require the Tenant to pay for rent of the contract 
unit, including all services, maintenance and/or utilities to be provided by the 
Landlord in accordance with the Lease.  The amount of the tenant rent is 
subject to change during the term of the Contract, however, the total monthly 
rent amount paid to the Landlord will be the same as cited in Article 3, Section 
A, above.  Any changes in the amount of the tenant rent will be effective on the 
date stated in the notification by the Processing Center to the Landlord and the 
Tenant.  Initially and until such change the Tenant shall pay $      per month 
to the Landlord as the tenant rent. 
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Section C. Each month the Processing Center shall make a housing assistance payment to 
the Landlord on behalf of the tenant in accordance with this Contract.  The 
monthly housing assistance payment is equal to the difference between 
contract rent and the tenant rent.  The amount of the housing assistance 
payment shall be determined by the Processing Center. 

Section D. The Landlord shall not charge the Tenant late fees or other penalties for failure 
to pay move-in costs on the date the Lease becomes effective.  The Landlord 
understands that Housing Assistance Payments and the Security Deposit are 
paid to the Processing Center by the United States Department of Housing and 
Urban Development, and the initial payment could be delayed up to 45 days 
before the first month’s rental payment and/or deposit can be made. Every 
effort will be made to make the initial payment as quickly as possible on the 
tenant’s behalf. 

ARTICLE 4.  MAINTENANCE, OPERATION, AND INSPECITON 
Section A. The Landlord agrees to maintain and operate the contract unit and related 

facilities to provide decent, safe, and sanitary housing, including the provision 
of all services, maintenance, and utilities as agreed to in the Lease.  If the 
Processing Center determines that the Landlord is not meeting his obligation, 
the Processing Center shall have the right, even if the Tenant continues in 
occupancy, to terminate or reduce housing assistance payments to the 
Landlord and to terminate the Contract. 

Section B. The Processing Center shall have the right to inspect the contract-unit and 
related facilities, no more than quarterly and no less than yearly, and at such 
other times as may be necessary, as determined by the Processing Center, to 
assure that the unit is in decent, safe, and sanitary condition, and that the 
Landlord is providing all of the services, maintenance and utilities agreed to 
under the Lease. 

Section C. If the Processing Center determines that the contract unit is not in decent, safe, 
and sanitary condition, the Processing Center may terminate the Contract upon 
written notice by the Processing Center to the Landlord.  The Processing Center 
and the tenant shall not be obligated to pay any rent beyond the termination 
date specified in the written notice. 

Section D. Maintenance and replacement (including redecoration) shall be in accordance 
with the standard practice for the building concerned as established by the 
Landlord. 

ARTICLE 5.  MONTHLY PAYMENTS TO LANDLORD 
Section A. The Landlord shall be paid under this contract on or about the first day of the 

month for which payment is due.  The Landlord agrees that the endorsement 
on the check: 

1. Shall be conclusive evidence that the Landlord has received the full amount 
of the housing assistance payment for the month, and, 
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2. Shall be a certification by the Landlord that: 

a. The contract unit is in decent, safe, and sanitary condition and the 
Landlord is providing all services, maintenance, and utilities as 
agreed to in the Lease; 

b. The contract unit is leased to the Tenant name in ARTICLE 1, Section 
A, and the Lease is in accordance with ARTICLE 1, Section B; 

c. The contract rent does not exceed rents charged by the Landlord for 
other comparable unassisted unit; 

d. Except for the housing assistance payment and the tenant rent as 
provided under this contract, the Landlord has not and will not 
receive any payment or other considerations as rent for the contract 
unit; 

e. The Tenant and the Processing Center do not own, or have any 
interest in the contract unit.  If the Landlord is a Cooperative, the 
Tenant may be a member of the Cooperative. 

Section B. If the Processing Center determines that the Landlord is not entitled to the 
payment or any part of it, the Processing Center, in addition to other remedies, 
may deduct the amount of the overpayment from any amounts due to the 
Landlord, including amounts due under any other housing assistance payments. 

ARTICLE 6. SECURITY DEPOSITS AND AGENCY REIMBURSEMENTS FOR UNPAID RENT AND 
DAMAGES 

Section A. The Landlord may collect a security deposit that is equal to not more than one 
month’s contract rent. 

Section B. After the Tenant moves from the contract unit, the Landlord may (subject to 
state and local law) use the security deposit, including any interest on the 
deposit, as reimbursement for any unpaid tenant rent or other amounts which 
the Tenant owes under the Lease.  Within thirty (30) calendar days, the 
Landlord will give the Tenant and the Processing Center a written list of all 
items to be charged against the security deposit and the amount of each item.  
After agreement of the amounts and items, the Landlord shall promptly refund 
the full amount of the balance to        (Processing Center). 

Section C. The Landlord shall comply with all federal, state and local laws regarding 
interest payment on security deposits. 

ARTICLE 7.  PAYMENT FOR VACATED UNIT 
Section A. Housing assistance payments shall be made by the Processing Center to the 

Landlord under this Contract only for the period during which the contract unit 
is leased and occupied by the Tenant during the term of the Contract except as 
follows: 

Section B. If the Tenant moves from the contract unit in violation of the Lease, the 
Landlord shall receive the housing assistance payment due under the Contract 
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for the month in which the Tenant moves from the unit. 

ARTICLE 8.  TERMINATION OF TENANCY 
Section A. The Landlord shall not terminate the tenancy of the Tenant except for: (1) 

serious or repeated violation of the terms and conditions of the Lease, (2) other 
good cause. 

Section B. The Landlord may evict the Tenant from the contract unit by notifying the 
Tenant in writing by certified mail.  Notice to the Processing Center must be 
given by providing to the Processing Center a copy of the eviction notice to the 
Tenant. 

ARTICLE 9.  NONDISCRIMINATION IN HOUSING 
The Landlord shall not, in the provision of services, or in any other manner, 
discriminate against any person on the grounds of age, race, color, creed, 
religion, sexual orientation, gender, gender identity, veteran status, handicap, 
national origin or familial status. 

ARTICLE 10.  COOPERATION IN EQUAL OPPORTUNITY COMPLIANCE REVIEW 
 The Landlord shall cooperate with the Processing Center in conducting 

compliance reviews and complaint investigations pursuant to all applicable civil 
rights statutes, executive orders, and all related rules and regulations. 

ARTICLE 11.  AGENCY ACCESS TO PREMISES AND LANDLORD’S RECORDS 
Section A. The Landlord shall provide any information pertinent to this Contract that the 

Processing Center may reasonably require. 

Section B. The Landlord shall permit the Processing Center or any of its authorized 
representatives to have access to the premises for the purpose of audit and 
examination; and to have access to any books, documents, papers, and records 
of the Landlord to the extent necessary to determine compliance with this 
Contract, including verification of information pertinent to the Housing 
Assistance Program.  

ARTICLE 12. RIGHTS OF PROCESSING CENTER IF LANDLORD BREACHES THE CONTRACT 
 Section A. Any of the following shall constitute a breach of Contract: 

a. If the Landlord has violated any obligation under this Contract; or 

b. If the Landlord had demonstrated any intention to violate any 
obligation under this Contract; or 

c. If the Landlord has committed any fraud or made any false 
statement to the Processing Center in connection with the Contract, 
or has committed fraud or made any false statement in connection 
with any federal housing assistance program. 

Section B. If the Processing Center determines that a breach has occurred, the Processing 
Center may exercise any of its rights or remedies under the Contract.  The 
Processing Center shall notify the Landlord in writing of such determination.  
The notice by the Processing Center to the Landlord may require the Landlord 
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to take corrective action (as verified by the Processing Center) by a time 
prescribed in the notice.  The Processing Center’s rights and remedies under 
the Contract include recovery of overpayments, termination or reduction of 
housing assistance payments, and termination of the Contract. 

Section C. Any termination or reduction of housing assistance payments, or termination 
of the Contract by the Processing Center in accordance with this contract, shall 
be effective as provided in a written notice by the Processing Center to the 
Landlord. 

ARTICLE 13.  PROCESSING CENTER RELATON TO THIRD PARTIES 
Section A. The Processing Center does not assume any responsibility for, or liability to, 

any person injured as a result of the Landlord’s action or failure to act in 
connection with the implementation of this Contract, or as a result of any other 
action or failure to act by the Landlord. 

Section B. The Landlord is not the agent of the Processing Center, and this Contract does 
not create or affect any relationship between the Processing Center and any 
lender to the Landlord or any suppliers, employees, contractors or 
subcontractors used by the Landlord in connection with implementation of this 
Contract. 

ARTICLE 14.  CONDITIONS FOR HOUSING ASSISTANCE PAYMENTS 
The right of the Landlord to receive housing assistance payments under this 
Contract shall be subject to compliance with all the provisions of this Contract. 

ARTICLE 15.  ENTIRE AGREEMENT; INTERPRETATION 
This Contract contains the entire agreement between the Landlord and the 
Processing Center.  No changes in this Contract shall be made except in writing 
signed by both the Landlord and the Processing Center. 

ARTICLE 16.  WARRANTY OF LEGAL CAPACITY AND CONDITON OF UNIT 
Section A. The Landlord warrants that the unit is in decent, safe, and sanitary condition 

and that the Landlord has the legal right to lease the dwelling unit covered by 
this Contract during the Contract term. 

Section B. The party, if any, executing this Contract on behalf of the Landlord hereby 
warrants that authorization has been given by the Landlord to execute it on 
behalf of the Landlord. 
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SIGNATURES: 
 

AGENCY 
      

Name of Processing Center 
 

By:  ___________________________________________________________________ 
               Signature of Processing Center Official   Date 
                                          (address of Processing Center) 

 
      
Official Title 

 
 
 
 

LANDLORD 
      

Name of Landlord or Landlord Representative 
 

By: ______________________________________________________________________ 
   Signature of Landlord      Date 
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Return to Top of Chapter 8 

FORM—Recertification Form—Shelter Plus Care (Sample)* 
 

[Agency Letterhead] 
As a recipient of Shelter Plus Care assistance, you must fill out this form as part of your recertification.  You 
must meet with your Case Manager to complete this form.  Please supply the information requested below: 
 
Name: _____________________________________________________________________________ 
 
Contact Phone Number: _______________________________________________________________ 
 
Address: ____________________________________________________________________________ 
 
____________________________________________________________________________________ 
 
Please fill out the following chart as accurately as possible.  Be sure to include all individuals living in your unit.  
Income from any of the following sources must be included: Social Security, Welfare Assistance such as TANF, 
employment wages (excluding children under 18), interest, dividends and disability payments. 
 
The following people reside at the above address and have the following income: 

 
*DOCUMENTATION OF ALL REPORTED INCOME AND ASSETS MUST ACCOMPANY THIS FORM.  Examples of 
documentation include:  a Social Security Award Letter, pay check stubs, annuity income statements, etc. 
 
**Income frequency should be listed as “once a week,” “every 2 weeks,” “once a month” or however it may 
apply. 
 
(Continued on Next Page)  

Name/relationship Date of Birth Social Security 
Number 

*Income/Assets 
Source 

**Income dollar amount 
& frequency/Assets value 

 
 
 
Head of Household /self 
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Are you enrolled in supportive services? If yes, please provide your Case Manager’s name, agency, and 
phone number:  
 
Case Manager name: ___________________________________________________________________ 
 
Agency name: _________________________________  Phone number: __________________________ 
 
Please understand that completion of this form and providing the information requested here are 
requirements for continued rental assistance. 
 
Please sign in the box below. 
 
The information provided above is true and complete to the best of my knowledge.  I understand that false 
or misleading information could result in the loss of rental assistance. 
 
____________________________________________________________________________________ 
Signature         Date 
 

If you have questions or need assistance with this form, call: [Agency Phone] 
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FORM—Recertification Form—Rental Assistance Program (RAP) (Sample) 
 

[Agency Letterhead] 
 
As a recipient of RAP assistance, you must fill out this form as part of your recertification.  You must meet 
with your Case Manager to complete this form.  Please supply the information requested below: 
 
Name: _____________________________________________________________________________ 
 
Contact Phone Number: _______________________________________________________________ 
 
Address: ____________________________________________________________________________ 
 
____________________________________________________________________________________ 
 
Please fill out the following chart as accurately as possible.  Be sure to include all individuals living in your unit.  
Income from any of the following sources must be included: Social Security, Welfare Assistance such as TANF, 
employment wages (excluding children under 18), interest, dividends and disability payments. 
 
The following people reside at the above address and have the following income: 

 
*DOCUMENTATION OF ALL REPORTED INCOME MUST ACCOMPANY THIS FORM.  Examples of documentation 
include:  a Social Security Award Letter, pay check stubs, etc. 
 
**Income frequency should be listed as “once a week,” “every 2 weeks,” “once a month” or however it may 
apply. 
 
(Continued on next page)

Name/relationship Date of Birth Social Security 
Number 

*Income/Assets 
Source 

**Income dollar amount 
& frequency/Assets value 

 
 
 
Head of Household /self 
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Please provide your Case Manager’s name, agency, and phone number:  
 
Case Manager name: ___________________________________________________________________ 
 
Agency name: _________________________________  Phone number: __________________________ 
 
Your Case Manager must attach the following to this form (check the boxes below to indicate these are 
attached): 
 
 A letter verifying current case management 
 Verification that you are on a wait list for Section 8 wait list or other type of permanent housing wait 

list 
 An updated Service Plan or Treatment Plan no older than one year 
 
Please understand that these are program requirements for continued rental assistance. 
 
Please sign in the box below. 
 
The information provided above is true and complete to the best of my knowledge.  I understand that false 
or misleading information could result in the loss of rental assistance. 
 
____________________________________________________________________________________ 
Signature         Date 
 

If you have questions or need assistance with this form, call: [Agency Phone] 
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FORM—Hearing Documentation Form (Sample) 

  Informal Hearing   Formal Hearing  Hearing Date: ____________________ 

Hearing Location: _____________________________________________________________________ 

Participant Name: _____________________________________________________________________ 

SSN: _____________________________  DOB: __________________________________ 

Present Address: ______________________________________________________________________ 

Landlord Name: _____________________________________ Landlord Phone: __________________ 

Case Manager Name: ________________________________ CM Phone: _______________________ 

Service Provider Agency Name: __________________________________________________________ 

Persons Present (in person or by phone): 

1. DMH Housing Staff: _____________________________________________________________ 
2. Processing Center Staff: __________________________________________________________ 
3. Case Manager: _________________________________________________________________ 
4. Other: ________________________________________________________________________ 
5. Other: ________________________________________________________________________ 

Reason for Review (list specific violations of lease, DMH Housing policies, federal regulations, Household 
Obligations, etc.): 

1. ______________________________________________________________________________ 
2. ______________________________________________________________________________ 
3. ______________________________________________________________________________ 
 
Summary of Review (summarize relevant statements made by those attending): __________________ 
__________________________________________________________________________________________
__________________________________________________________________________________________
__________________________________________________________________________________________
__________________________________________________________________________________________
_________________________________________________________________ 
 
Summary of decision made, as applicable, by DMH Housing Staff (a written decision will be issued to all 
parties by DMH Housing Staff in a Formal Review): ___________________________________________ 
__________________________________________________________________________________________
________________________________________________________________________________________
____________________________________________________________________ 

Signature of Processing Center Staff documenting review:  

______________________________________________________________________________  
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FORM—DMH Program Monitoring Tool (Part 1: Participant Files) 
Processing Center _______________ Review Date ________________ Reviewer _______________________ 

Participant name _____________________________________     Initially referred on:  ______ / ______ / __________ 

Names of other household members as of review date: 

Adults _______________________________________  _____________________________________________ 

Children _____________________________________  _____________________________________________ 

_____________________________________________  _____________________________________________ 

Household Composition, Income and Expense Documents  *Use additional sheet if more than one Other Adult 
Participant Other Adult*—initials:  
  Driver’s license/other picture ID 
  Proof of Social Security Number 
  Unreimbursed medical expenses | N/A  
  Child care/disability care expenses | N/A    

  Driver’s license/other picture ID 
  Proof of Social Security Number 
  Unreimbursed medical expenses | N/A  
  Child care/disability care expenses | N/A  

Minor—initials: Minor—initials: 
  Birth certificate 
  Proof of Social Security Number 

  Birth certificate 
  Proof of Social Security Number 

Minor—initials: Minor—initials: 
  Birth certificate 
  Proof of Social Security Number 

  Birth certificate 
  Proof of Social Security Number 

Application and Referral 
  SPC Referral cover sheet 
  Complete SPC Application 
  Disability Verification 
  Service Plan 
  Homelessness Verification 
  Homelessness documentation 
  Chronic Homelessness Verification | N/A  
  HIPAA Release 
  HMIS Release (if done separately) 
  Notice of Client Rights | N/A  
  Non-citizen legal status documented | N/A   
  HMIS client record checked (printout attached  ) 
 N/A  (if HMIS done by DMH) 
 
Recertification | N/A  
Date of most recent recert:            /          /_____   
  Recertification Form 
  Recertification letter to client 
  Case mgt/support services certified by provider 
  Household income certified 
  Household composition certified 

NOTES: _______________________________________ 
_____________________________________________ 

Rental Documents           (*or check when done at Recert) 
  Household income documented  * 
  Rental unit utilities calculation   * 
  Tenant income calculation   * 
  Tenant rent calculation    * 
  Signed & PC-approved lease 
  Request for Tenancy Approval (or equivalent) 
  HQS Inspection form completed  * 
  HAP Contract 
  Household Obligations 
  Lead-based paint notice 
  Rent reasonableness survey for current unit 
  Rent reasonableness certification for current unit 
 
 
Due Process Documents | N/A  
  Tenant/CSW contact notes 
  Informal hearing notes 
  Tenant request for formal hearing 
  Hearing documentation 
  Termination documentation 
 
_______________________________________________
_______________________________________________
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Return to Top of Chapter 8 

FORM—DMH Housing Program Monitoring Tool (Part 2: Exit Interview) 
Processing Center ________________________________  Review Date ____________________________ 

Reviewer ____________________________________________ 

Verification of Administrative Fee _______________________                                 ________________________  

  Time sheets tracking S+C time spent     Job description includes S+C activities 

Notes:____________________________________________________________________________________________  
__________________________________________________________________________________________________  
__________________________________________________________________________________________________  
__________________________________________________________________________________________________ 

HMIS      _______________________                                 ________________________  

   HMIS data entry being done on an ongoing basis   PC staff are adequately trained to use HMIS 

Notes:____________________________________________________________________________________________  
__________________________________________________________________________________________________  
__________________________________________________________________________________________________ 
__________________________________________________________________________________________________ 

Exit Interview               

Date: _______________________________ 

Persons Attending:______________________________________________________________________________  

               ______ 

Deficiencies noted and discussed:           ______ 

               ______ 

__________________________________________________________________________________________________ 

__________________________________________________________________________________________________ 

Correction plan and timeline/deadline: _________________________________________________________________ 

__________________________________________________________________________________________________ 
 

__________________________________________________________________________________________________ 

               ______ 

PC Staff concerns and comments: ______________________________________________________________________ 

__________________________________________________________________________________________________ 
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FORM—HMIS Update Form for DMH Shelter + Care Processing Center Agencies 
Fax or email this completed form: FAX: 573-526-7797  Dirk.Cable@dmh.mo.gov (ESC and Kim Wilson Housing only) 
Please use additional forms if one form won’t accommodate an update for all persons involved in the update. 

Processing Center/Grant Code:   Burrell/JTAH Transitional SPC Participant Name:        

SSN:      -    -        DOB:         Date of Update:        

Type of Update:  Entry (new household)   Interval (recert or misc. update)  Exit (entire household leaving)  
Move-In/Relocation Information 
This household moved into an assisted unit on (date):         (actual move-in date, not date lease begins). 

Address: Street:      , apt.:        City:       Zip code:       County:       No. of bedrooms:       

Household Composition 
 Household composition has not changed since the last HMIS update or since DMH’s initial referral. 

OR 
 Enter below all household members entering or exiting the household since the last HMIS update or since DMH’s referral.  For each 

ADDED household member, you must complete and submit an “HMIS Update—Additional Persons” form by fax or email. If you 
don’t have this form, contact Dirk Cable at 573-526-3125 or dirk.cable@dmh.mo.gov. For each exiting household member, you must 
report their cash income, non-cash benefits, and health insurance status 

Added (type an ‘x’ in the field for ‘yes’) Removed (type an ‘x’ in the field for ‘yes’) Name of Person Added or Removed 

                  

                  

                  

                  

Household Cash Income--Report ALL sources of cash income by ALL household members as of the date of this update (including anyone 
who left the household or was added to it, named above), e.g., employment (indicate full-time, part-time, or seasonal employment, and 
temporary or permanent employment), SSI, SSDI, TANF, child support, unemployment, etc. 

Household Member Name Source of cash Income Gross Monthly Amount Received/Earned 

            $      

            $      

            $      

            $      

Household Non-Cash Benefits--Report ALL sources of non-cash benefits by all household members as of the date of this update 
(including anyone who left the household or was added to it, named above), e.g., Food Stamps, WIC, TANF services (child care, 
transportation, other).  Report health insurance in the following section. 

Household Member Name Source of non-cash benefits Monthly amount if dollar amount applies 

            $      

            $      

            $      

            $      

            $      

mailto:Dirk.Cable@dmh.mo.gov
mailto:dirk.cable@dmh.mo.gov
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Household Health Insurance--Report the health insurance status for ALL household members as of the date of this update (including 
anyone who left the household or was added to it, named above), e.g., Medicaid, Medicare, SCHIP, VA, etc. 

Household Member Name Has insurance—specify type Has no insurance; indicate if the person has applied for  
and been denied, or if the application is pending 

                  denied [OR]       pending 

                  denied [OR]       pending 

                  denied [OR]       pending 

                  denied [OR]       pending 

                  denied [OR]       pending 

 
Reason for Leaving, Destination, and Status at Exit—for all household members exiting (whether it’s the entire household or just one 
individual member moving out), record the reason for leaving, status at exit, and the destination, using the drop down menus. 

Exiting Household Member Name Reason for Leaving Housing Status at Exit 
      Left for a housing opportunity before completing Literally homeless 
      Left for a housing opportunity before completing Literally homeless 
      Left for a housing opportunity before completing Literally homeless 
      Left for a housing opportunity before completing Literally homeless 
      Left for a housing opportunity before completing Literally homeless 
      Left for a housing opportunity before completing Literally homeless 

 
NOTE: the Destination answer “no exit interview completed” can be used only rarely.  If a household leaves without notice, always check 
with the Community Support Worker, Landlord, or other known contacts, to determine the household’s actual destination. 

Exiting Household Member Name Destination 

      

 Permanent Housing:  Section 8 
 Transitional Housing: Living with family (transitional) 
 Institutional setting Psychiatric hospital 
 Homelessness/other: Emergency shelter 

      

 Permanent Housing:  Section 8 
 Transitional Housing: Living with family (transitional) 
 Institutional setting Psychiatric hospital 
 Homelessness/other: Emergency shelter 

      

 Permanent Housing:  Section 8 
 Transitional Housing: Living with family (transitional) 
 Institutional setting Psychiatric hospital 
 Homelessness/other: Emergency shelter 

      

 Permanent Housing:  Section 8 
 Transitional Housing: Living with family (transitional) 
 Institutional setting Psychiatric hospital 
 Homelessness/other: Emergency shelter 

      

 Permanent Housing:  Section 8 
 Transitional Housing: Living with family (transitional) 
 Institutional setting Psychiatric hospital 
 Homelessness/other: Emergency shelter 

  



  MO DMH Housing Manual August 2015 – Chapter 8 
 
 

145 
 

FORM—HMIS Update Form—Additional Persons        
Fill out this form for adults and minors added to an SPC household who were not included on the original application.  Use 
one copy per person added. 
Participant’s/HOH’s Name:       Other Adult’s Name:       or Minor’s Name:       
 

Social Security Number:     -    -      
 
Date of Birth:       
 
Does the Participant/HOH have legal custody of this 
minor?    Yes   No  N/A 
 
Race (check all that apply):  Ethnicity: 

 American Indian/Alaska Native   Hispanic 
 Asian      Non-Hispanic 
 Black/African-American 
 Native Hawaiian/Other Pacific Islander 
 White 

 
Gender: 

 male   female 
 transgender, male to female 
 transgender, female to male 

 
What is this person’s relationship to the Participant? 

 spouse  significant other/partner  
 parent  step-parent  grandparent 
 aunt   uncle 
 brother  sister 
 son   daughter step-child 
 niece   nephew 
 roommate  other 

 
What is this person’s general physical health status? 

 excellent  very good  good    fair  poor 
 
Is this person pregnant?  Yes No 
No. of months:       
 ...............................................................................................  

Last Permanent Address/Location: 
 Check here if this person’s last permanent address zip code 

(a household paying rent or a mortgage where the person last 
lived for at least 90 days) was the same as the Applicant’s; if it 
was different, fill it in below. 
 
Zip Code       
 

Did this person spend the night in the same place as the 
Participant the night before the Application for Shelter 
Plus Care was filled out?   Yes      No 

If the answer above is “no,” where was this person at that 
time? 

 emergency shelter (includes a domestic violence shelter 
and a motel or hotel room paid for by an emergency shelter 
voucher) 
 a place not meant for human habitation (car, park, etc.) 
 transitional housing for homeless persons 
 Safe Haven 
 jail or prison 

 substance abuse treatment facility or detox center 
 hospital or other residential non-psychiatric medical facility  
 psychiatric hospital or similar facility 
 long-term care facility or nursing home 
 other (specify:      ) 

 
How long did this person stay in the above situation? 

 one day or less    two days to one week 
 more than one week but less than one month 
 one to three months 
 more than three months but less than one year 
 one year or longer 

 
Does this person have health insurance? Check all that 
apply. 

 Medicare   Medicaid (aka MO HealthNet) 
 State Children’s Health Insurance Program (SCHIP) 
 employer-provided health insurance 
 health insurance obtained through COBRA 
 VA Medical Services  private pay insurance 
 no insurance 

 
If this person has no health insurance, please state the 
reason why: 

 applied; decision pending   applied; not eligible 
 have not applied 

 

COMPLETE THIS AREA FOR MINORS ONLY 

Is this minor currently enrolled in school? 
 Yes  No  the minor is not old enough 

If yes , please give the name of the school: 

      
 
If yes, type of school:  public    parochial or private 
 
If enrolled, is this minor connected with the school 
district’s official homelessness coordinator? 

 Yes  No  Don’t Know  
 

If not enrolled, give the most recent date of enrollment: 

      /       /       
 
If the minor is old enough to attend school but is not 
enrolled, please identify any problems or obstacles to 
enrollment: 

 none   residency requirements 
 availability of school records  birth certificate  
 legal guardianship requirements  
 transportation  lack of available preschool programs 
 immunization requirements 
 physical examination records  other 
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Participant’s/HOH’s Name:       Other Adult’s Name:       or Minor’s Name:       

 
Is this person currently in school and/or working on any 
degree or certificate?   Yes  No     minor not old 
enough  
 
Has this person received vocational training or been in a 
trade apprenticeship?  Yes  No  
 
What is the highest grade completed by this person? 

 no school completed  nursery school to 4th grade 
 5th grade to 6th grade  7th grade to 8th grade 
 9th grade   10th grade 
 11th grade   12th grade, no diploma 
 high school diploma  GED 
 post-secondary education 

 
Is this person employed?  Yes  No 
 
If yes, what type of employment is it? 

 permanent  temporary  seasonal 
 
How many hours did this person work last week?       
 
If not employed, is this person looking for work? 

 Yes  No 
 
 ...............................................................................................  

 
Has this person ever been a victim of domestic violence? 

 Yes  No  don’t know  refused to answer  
 
If yes, how long in the past did this occur? 

 within past three months 
 3-6 months ago (excluding six months exactly) 
 6-12 months ago (excluding one year exactly) 
 One year ago or more 
 refused to answer 

 
Is this person currently fleeing domestic violence? 

 Yes  No  don’t know  refused to answer  
 
Does this person have a mental illness? 

 Yes  No 
If yes, is the mental illness a disabling condition?* 
(*See definition of “disabling condition” at the end of this 
page.) 

 Yes  No 
If yes, is this person receiving services or treatment 
for the mental illness?  Yes  No 

 
Does this person have a substance abuse disorder? 

 yes, alcohol abuse  yes, drug abuse 
 yes, both alcohol and drug abuse  No 

If yes, is the substance abuse disorder a disabling 
condition?  Yes  No 
If yes, is this person receiving services or treatment 
for the substance abuse disorder? 

 Yes  No 
 
 

Does this person have a diagnosis of HIV or AIDS? 
 Yes  No 

If yes, is this a disabling condition? 
 Yes  No 

If yes, is this person receiving services or treatment 
for HIV or AIDS? 

 Yes  No 
 
Does this person have a developmental disability?** 
(**See definition of “developmental disability” at the end of this 
page.) 

 Yes  No 
If yes, is the developmental disability a disabling 
condition? 

 Yes  No 
If yes, is this person receiving services or treatment 
for the developmental disability? 

 Yes  No 
 
Does this person have a chronic health condition***? 
(***See a list of some medical conditions that are considered 
chronic at the end of this page.) 

 Yes  No  Don’t Know 
If yes, please specify what the condition is: 
 
      
 
If yes, is the chronic health condition a disabling 
condition? 

 Yes  No 
If yes, is this person receiving services or treatment 
for the chronic health condition? 

 Yes  No 
 
Does this person have a physical disability? 

 Yes  No  Don’t Know 
If yes, please specify what the disability is: 
 
      
 
If yes, is the physical disability a disabling condition? 

 Yes  No 
If yes, is this person receiving services or treatment 
for the physical disability? 

 Yes  No 
 
* “Disabling condition” means a condition that is expected to be of 
long-continued and indefinite duration and is expected to substantially 
impede a person’s ability to live independently. 
 
** “Developmental disability” includes mental retardation, cerebral 
palsy, head injuries, autism, epilepsy, and certain learning disabilities. 
Such conditions must have occurred before age 22 and be expected to 
continue indefinitely. 
 
*** Chronic health conditions include, but are not limited to, heart 
disease, including coronary heart disease, angina, heart attack and 
any other kind of heart condition or disease; severe asthma; diabetes; 
arthritis-related conditions including arthritis, rheumatoid arthritis, gout, 
lupus, or fibromyalgia; adult-onset cognitive impairments including 
traumatic brain injury, post-traumatic stress disorder (PTSD), 
dementia, and other cognitive-related conditions; severe 
headache/migraine; cancer; chronic bronchitis; liver condition; stroke; 
or emphysema.  
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Participant’s/HOH’s Name:       Other Adult’s Name:       or Minor’s Name:       

INCOME 
CASH INCOME 
Does this person receive cash income from any source currently?    Yes     No 
 
If yes, please check the boxes next to all sources of cash income in the list below received by all household members (do not include 
food stamps); indicate which household member actually receives the income; and state the amount received per month.  
 
Type Names of Persons Who Have the Cash Income Amount/Month_______ 

 Employment income        $      

        $      

 Unemployment Insurance        $      

 Supplemental Security Income (SSI)        $      

        $      

 Social Security Disability (SSDI)        $      

        $      

 VA Service-Connected Disability Comp.        $      

 Private disability insurance        $      

 Worker’s Compensation        $      

 TANF        $      

 Social Security retirement        $      

 VA Non-Service Disability Pension        $      

 Pension or retirement from a former job        $      
    (includes military pension) 

 Child support        $      

 Alimony or other spousal support        $      

 Other sources of income: specify any other sources of cash income, monthly amount, and who has the income, below: 

      
 

NON-CASH BENEFITS 
Does this person receive non-cash benefits or services currently?  Yes  No 
 
Please check the boxes next to all sources of NON-CASH benefits and services, and give the name of the household member who has 
or receives the benefits/services.  For food stamps/EBT/SNAP, provide the amount received per month. 
 
Type        Names of Persons Who Have the Non-Cash Benefits Amount/Month  

 Food stamps/EBT/SNAP        $       

        

        

 WIC        

 VA Medical Services        

 TANF childcare services        

 TANF transportation services        

 Other TANF-funded services        

 Other sources        
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Participant’s/HOH’s Name:       Other Adult’s Name:       or Minor’s Name:       

VETERAN STATUS 
Is anyone in this household a veteran?  Yes  No 
 
If yes, name:       
If more than one veteran is in the household, please use additional copies of this page. 

If no, skip the rest of this section. 
 
What date did the veteran begin military service?         /       /       
 
What branch was served in? 

 Army   Air Force  Navy   Marines  Other  Don’t Know 
 
When was the service? Choose one; if the service dates overlap two choices, choose the one containing most of the service time. 

 Post-September 11th (September 11, 2001-present) 

 Persian Gulf (August 1991-September 10, 2001) 

 Post-Vietnam (May 1975-July 1991) 

 Vietnam (August 1964-April 1975) 

 Between Korea and Vietnam (Feb. 1955-July 1964) 

 Korea (June 1950-January 1955) 

 Between WW2 and Korea (August 1947-May 1950) 

 WW2 (September 1940-July 1947) 

 Don’t know 
 
Duration of Active Duty:       (enter number of months served) 
 

Was the service in a war zone?  Yes   No   Don’t Know 
 

If yes, which one?  

 Europe   North Africa  Vietnam 

 Laos and Cambodia  South China Sea 

 China, Burma, India  Korea  South Pacific 

 Persian Gulf   Afghanistan  Don’t know 
 
Number of months in war zone:       
 
Did the veteran receive fire, either hostile or friendly?      Yes   No  Don’t Know 
 
Discharge Status: 

 Honorable  General  Medical 

 Bad Conduct   Dishonorable 

 Other   Don’t Know  Refused to Answer 

 
- - - 

[Processing Center Staff: please print the Notice of Client Rights on the next page; have the added person 
sign the Notice; and fax the signed Notice back to DMH Housing at 573-526-7797.] 
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HOMELESS MISSOURIANS INFORMATION SYSTEM 

 

Notice of Client Rights 
 

 
The information that is collected in the HMIS database is protected by limiting access to the database and 
by limiting with whom the information may be shared, in compliance with applicable federal and state 
laws. Every person and agency that is authorized to read or enter information into the database has signed 
an agreement to maintain the security and confidentiality of the information. Any person or agency that is 
found to violate their agreement may have their access rights terminated and may be subject to further 
penalties.  
 
FOR DATA BEING ENTERED INTO THE HMIS I UNDERSTAND THAT:  
 
• Staff of other agencies who will see my information have promised to protect it.  
• Others using HMIS will protect my information.  
• Information I give about physical or mental health problems will not be shared with others.  
• Partner Agencies may share information that does not identify me to others.  
• I have the right to request who has looked at my file.  
• I understand I have the right to ask, “Can I refuse to answer that question,” and how my refusal might 

affect my receipt of services.  
• I have the right to view confidentiality policies used by HMIS.  
• If I receive assistance through the Supportive Services for Veteran Families (SSVF) Program that my 

personally identifying information will be exported from HMIS and uploaded to a Veterans 
Administration (VA) Repository to meet VA-required reporting.  

• Another Partner Agency may enter my data into HMIS and therefore may retain the paper copy file.  
• If I decide at a later date that I no longer want my information in HMIS, I can request that it be 

archived.  
 
 
________________________________      ______________________________     __________________ 

Client Name (please print)      Client Signature    Date 
 
 
________________________________      ______________________________       __________________ 

Agency Personnel Name (please print)     Agency Personnel Signature   Date 
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Return to Top of Chapter 8 
FORM—Shelter Plus Care Activity Log for Administrative Costs—Initial Status 

Missouri Department of Mental Health 
Shelter Plus Care Activity Log for Administrative Costs 

To assure compliance with HUD regulations for eligible costs associated with the admin fee, processing centers 
are required to code the activity as detailed below and log the amount of time spent on administrative activities. 
Each person involved in eligible administrative activities should complete an activity log for the grant indicated. 

Activity Codes: 
RP: Received new participants into the program, HI: Provided Housing Information to SPC client and CM, 
SA: Provided Search Assistance to Client and CM, HQS: Conducted Housing Quality Standards Inspection, 
HAP: Process Housing Assistance Payments 
 
Name:              _____    Title:              __________     

Time  Period (Month/Year):_____________________________ 

Grant:  __________________________ 

Date Time Spent Activity Code 
      
      
      
      
      
      
      
      
      
      
      
      
      
      
      
      
      
      
      
      
      
      
      
      

Please attach additional pages as needed for each time period. 
Hourly Rate ____________ X Total Hours ____________ = Total Amount $__________________ 
Signature:              Date: ________ 
Supervisor Signature:            Date: ________  
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Return to Top of Chapter 8 
FORM—Shelter Plus Care Activity Log for Administrative Costs—Renewal Status 

Missouri Department of Mental Health 
Shelter Plus Care Activity Log for Administrative Costs  

To assure compliance with HUD regulations for eligible costs associated with the admin fee, processing centers 
are required to log the amount of time spent for administrative activities. Each person involved in eligible 

administrative activities should complete an activity log for the grant indicated on this form. Activity Log(s) 
must be submitted monthly with the processing center invoices. 

 
Eligible administrative costs generally include the following:  

• GM: General Management, Oversight, and Coordination of the Shelter Plus Care contract requirements 
• PB: Preparing program budgets and schedules for Shelter Plus Care 
• HMIS: Preparing reports and other documents directly related to the program for submission to HUD 
• COCT: Time spent attending HUD-sponsored Continuum of Care trainings 

Name:              ___   Title:              _______ 
Time Period (Month/Year):_____________________________ 
Grant:  _______________________________ 

Date Time Spent Administrative Activity 
      
      
      
      
      
      
      
      
      
      
      
      
      
      
      
      
      
      
      
      
      
      

Please attach additional pages as needed for each time period. 
Hourly Rate ____________ X Total Hours ____________ = Total Amount $__________________ 
Signature:              Date: ________ 
Supervisor Signature:            Date: ________  
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 Return to Table of Contents 

 Return to Top of Chapter 8 
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CHAPTER NINE—Glossary of Housing Terms 
 Return to Table of Contents 

ADA – alcohol and drug abuse; also, a term describing a person receiving services for alcohol 
and/or drug abuse from DMH or a DMH provider 

Applicant – A person in the process of applying for rental assistance with DMH Housing.  A 
person is considered an Applicant until their income eligibility for a housing assistance 
Program is verified by a Processing Center. 

CAP or CAA (Community Action Agency) – Nonprofit organizations established under the 
Economic Opportunity Act of 1964 to combat the effects of poverty and help people help 
themselves in achieving self-sufficiency.  Missouri has 19 Community Action Agencies with 
offices in every county.  Many of these agencies act as Processing Centers for DMH Shelter 
Plus Care programs.  

Certificate – A type of rental subsidy 

CFR (Code of Federal Regulations) – The entire body of regulations promulgated by all U.S. 
federal executive agencies 

Chronic Homelessness – Long-term homelessness defined by HUD as affecting disabled 
individuals and families who have experienced homelessness continuously for a year or 
more, or who have experienced four or more episodes of homelessness over three years.  

CoC (Continuum of Care) – A program to help homeless Americans get housing, job 
training, childcare, and other services.  The Continuum of Care, which is the centerpiece of 
the federal policy on homelessness, stresses permanent solutions to homelessness through 
comprehensive and collaborative community planning.  HUD’s CoC Program is a single-
source fund for permanent supportive housing projects that used to be funded by three 
different programs within the CoC process: Supportive Housing (SHP), Shelter Plus Care 
(SPC) and Section 8 Moderate Rehabilitation for Single Room Occupancy (Mod Rehab SRO). 
The phrase also commonly refers to the sets of cities and counties that apply for federal 
homeless assistance through the Continuum of Care process. 

Contract Rent – The full monthly cost of renting a unit as set by the Landlord 

CPS –comprehensive psychiatric services; also, a person receiving services for mental illness 
from DMH or a DMH provider 

CSA (Chronic Substance Abuse) – HUD’s terminology for alcohol and/or drug addiction 
(see “ADA”); or a person with such a diagnosis 

http://dmh.mo.gov/ada/
http://www.communityaction.org/
http://www.gpoaccess.gov/cfr/index.html
https://www.onecpd.info/resource/1187/continuum-of-care-101/
http://www.masw.org/HMIS/map.php%23missouri
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DBH – DMH’s Division of Behavioral Health; formerly two separate divisions, Alcohol and 
Drug Abuse (ADA) and Comprehensive Psychiatric Services (CPS); merged in 2013. 

DD – DMH’s Division of Developmental Disabilities that serves a population that has 
developmental disabilities such as mental retardation, cerebral palsy, head injuries, autism, 
epilepsy, and certain learning disabilities. Such conditions must have occurred before age 22, 
with the expectation that they will continue. To be eligible for services from the Division, 
persons with these disabilities must be substantially limited in their ability to function 
independently.  Also, a person with such a diagnosis receiving services from DMH or a DMH 
provider. 

DHSS – Missouri Department of Health and Senior Services 

DMH – Missouri Department of Mental Health 

DMH Housing – The Missouri Department of Mental Health Housing Unit 

DSS – Missouri Department of Social Services  

Empower Missouri (formerly Missouri Association for Social Welfare, MASW) – A social 
advocacy organization that is active in the field of housing and homelessness.  Empower 
Missouri conducted a series of statewide homelessness censuses between 1993 and 2001, 
administered the HMIS for the Balance of State Continuum of Care until 2014, and runs an 
Affordable Housing Task Force.  

ESG (Emergency Solutions Grant Program) – A HUD program that awards grants for the 
rehabilitation or conversion of buildings in to homeless shelters. ESG also funds certain 
related social services, operating expenses, homeless prevention activities and administrative 
costs. This program was formerly known as the Emergency Shelter Grant Program. 

Eviction – A legal proceeding to remove a tenant from a rental unit 

Fair Housing Act – Legislation first enacted in 1968 and expanded by amendments in 1974 
and 1988, which created within HUD investigation and enforcement responsibilities for fair 
housing practices.  The Act prohibits discrimination in housing and mortgage lending based 
on race, color, religion, sex, national origin, disability, or familial status. 

FHA (Federal Housing Administration) – A federal agency that provides mortgage 
insurance on loans made by FHA-approved lenders. FHA insures mortgages on single family 
and multifamily homes including manufactured homes and hospitals. It is the largest insurer 
of mortgages in the world, insuring over 34 million properties since its inception in 1934. 

FMR (Fair Market Rent) – Rent schedules published in the Federal Register that establish 

http://dmh.mo.gov/ada/
http://dmh.mo.gov/ada/
http://dmh.mo.gov/mentalillness/
http://dmh.mo.gov/dd/
http://www.dhss.mo.gov/
http://dmh.mo.gov/
http://dmh.mo.gov/housing/
http://www.dss.mo.gov/
http://empowermissouri.org/
https://www.onecpd.info/resource/2015/emergency-solutions-grants-esg-program-fact-sheet/
http://www.hud.gov/offices/fheo/progdesc/title8.cfm
http://www.hud.gov/offices/hsg/fhahistory.cfm
http://www.huduser.org/portal/datasets/fmr.html
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maximum eligible rent levels allowed under the Section 8 program by geographic area. FMRs 
are also used by other federal rent subsidy programs such as Shelter Plus Care. 

HAP (Housing Assistance Payment) – Funds paid to a Landlord as rental assistance for a 
tenant enrolled in a rent subsidy program; the amount is the difference between the contract 
rent and the tenant’s share of the rent, which is based on the household’s income. 

Return to Top of Chapter 9 

HCVP (Housing Choice Voucher Program) – The Housing Choice Voucher Program, better 
known as “Section 8,” is the federal government's major program for assisting very low-
income families, the elderly, and the disabled to afford decent, safe, and sanitary housing in 
the private market. Public housing agencies (PHAs) administer housing choice vouchers 
locally. The PHAs receive federal funds from the U.S. Department of Housing and Urban 
Development (HUD) to administer the voucher program.  

HEARTH Act (Homeless Emergency and Rapid Transition to Housing Act) – The 2009 
reauthorization of the McKinney-Vento Homeless Assistance Act.  The HEARTH Act altered 
several parts of the McKinney-Vento homeless assistance programs, including  consolidating 
HUD’s competitive grant programs; creating a Rural Housing Stability Program; changing 
HUD’s definition of homelessness and chronic homelessness; simplifying grant match 
requirements; increasing homelessness prevention resources; and increasing emphasis on 
performance. 

HMIS (Homeless Management Information System) – A database of information about 
persons who have experienced homelessness and the services and shelter they have sought.  
An HMIS is a shared database that can be accessed simultaneously by the various agencies 
enrolled in the system; such agencies input data about the people they serve only with the 
written consent of those individuals.  Personal information that identifies individuals is 
highly protected by law and is often invisible to HMIS users.  HUD mandates that each 
Continuum of Care operate an HMIS.   

HOPWA (Housing Opportunities for Persons with AIDS) – A federal housing assistance 
program for persons with HIV or AIDS. 

Housing Assistance Program –  Also “Program.” The rental assistance programs operated by 
DMH Housing, i.e., SPC and RAP. 

HQS (Housing Quality Standards) – Federal rules used when inspecting a rental unit to 
determine if it is safe, decent and sanitary. 

HUD (U.S. Department of Housing and Urban Development) – The department of the 
federal government that dispenses and manages federal housing assistance.   

http://www.hud.gov/offices/pih/programs/hcv/about/fact_sheet.cfm
http://www.hudhre.info/hearth/
https://www.onecpd.info/resource/1642/hmis-101-orientation-for-new-grantees-and-staff/
https://www.onecpd.info/resource/1169/hopwa-fact-sheet/
http://portal.hud.gov/portal/page/portal/HUD
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Income - The gain that proceeds from property, labor, or business.  For purposes of figuring 
rent in subsidy programs, income includes but is not limited to annual gross income 
including welfare assistance, unemployment and disability compensation, interest, 
dividends, and child support payments. 

Landlord – A person or business that owns and/or manages one or more rental units and 
currently or prospectively rents to a Program Participant 

Low Income – Income that does not exceed 80 percent of area median income  

MACA (Missouri Association for Community Action) – The statewide association for 
Community Action Agencies (see “CAP or CAA”)  

Mainstream Section 8 (a.k.a. Mainstream) – Funding for Section 8 vouchers reserved for 
very low-income families whose head, spouse, or sole member is a person with a disability 

McKinney-Vento Homeless Assistance Act (a.k.a. McKinney Vento) – The McKinney-
Vento Act is the original 1987 authorizing legislation for all HUD homeless assistance 
programs.  It originally consisted of fifteen programs providing a range of services to 
homeless people, including the Continuum of Care homeless assistance programs: 
Supportive Housing Program, Shelter Plus Care, and Single Room Occupancy Program, as 
well as the Emergency Shelter Grant Program. The Act was reauthorized and extensively 
amended by the HEARTH Act effective May 2009. 

Median Income – The income level at which half of the population earn more income and 
half earn less. Each year HUD establishes the Median Income for states and metropolitan 
areas based on household size. HUD revised these figures periodically. 

Medicaid – State and federally funded health care for low income and needy populations.  
Medicaid is the means by which many Participants in Shelter Plus Care pay for their case 
management and other needed mental health services. In Missouri, the Medicaid program is 
called MO HealthNet. 

Medicare – The national health insurance program for those age 65 and older and for some 
persons under age 65 with disabilities 

MHDC (Missouri Housing Development Commission) – Missouri’s state housing finance 
agency established by the 75th General Assembly in 1969. MHDC functions as a bank, 
providing financing directly to borrowers or through a network of private lending 
institutions. Most of MHDC's programs operate as a public-private partnership. MHDC 
operates the Missouri Housing Trust Fund and facilitates the Missouri Balance of State 
Continuum of Care process. 

http://www.communityaction.org/
http://www.hud.gov/offices/pih/programs/hcv/pwd/mainstream.cfm
https://www.onecpd.info/resource/1715/mckinney-vento-homeless-assistance-act-amended-by-hearth-act-of-2009/
http://www.cms.gov/home/medicaid.asp
http://www.mhdc.com/
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MHTF (Missouri Housing Trust Fund) – The Missouri Housing Trust Fund was created by 
the State Legislature in 1994 to help meet the housing needs of very low-income families and 
individuals. It provides funding for a variety of eligible activities, including rental housing 
production, housing and related services for the homeless, homeless prevention and rental 
subsidies, among other activities. 

Return to Top of Chapter 9 

Participant – a person who has been approved for enrollment in a DMH Housing Assistance 
Program and is either currently receiving rental assistance or is seeking assisted housing 

PH – Permanent Housing for people with disabilities 

PHA – Public Housing Authority or Agency 

PRA (Project-Based Rental Assistance) – Rental subsidies that are based in one building or 
apartment project. The subsidy belongs to the unit and not the individual. 

Processing Center – An entity contracted with DMH to perform rental assistance activities 
and administration 

Provider – A DMH-contracted services provider that submits applications for housing 
assistance programs to DMH Housing on behalf of its clients 

PWA (Person With AIDS) – a category of disability that HUD and DMH accept as eligibility 
for Shelter Plus Care.  For eligibility purposes, “PWA” includes a person with AIDS, HIV, 
and/or related diseases.  

PWOD (Person With Other Disabilities) – HUD’s terminology for mental retardation and/or 
developmental disabilities (see “DD”); or a person with such a diagnosis. 

RAP (Rental Assistance Program) – A state-funded transitional rental assistance program 
operated by the Department of Mental Health’s Housing Unit 

Rent Subsidy – A cash payment to a Landlord that assists very low-income individuals in 
paying for housing. Typically, the tenant pays 30% of their income for rent, and the rental 
subsidy pays the remaining amount. 

Ryan White Program – Title I Federal grant monies used for services to persons with AIDS.  
In Missouri, the Department of Health and Senior Services administers these funds. 

Scattered Site – A type housing subsidy program that allows the recipient to choose his or 
her own market-rate unit 

http://www.mhdc.com/housing_trust_fund/index.htm
http://hab.hrsa.gov/


  MO DMH Housing Manual August 2015 – Chapter 9 
 
 

157 
 

SMI (Serious Mental Illness) – HUD’s terminology for psychiatric disorders; (see “CPS”); or 
a person with such a diagnosis 

SMI/CSA (Serious Mental Illness/Chronic Substance Abuse) – HUD’s terminology for a co-
occurring diagnosis of both alcohol and/or drug addiction and serious mental illness (see 
“ADA” and “CPS”); or a person with such a diagnosis 

SRA (Sponsor-Based Rental Assistance) – An agreement between a Landlord and a 
provider that allows for subletting units to Program Participants 

Termination – termination of a Program Participant’s rental subsidy by DMH 

TRA (Tenant-Based Rental Assistance) – refers to rental subsidies that are portable, i.e., the 
subsidy is held by the tenant and not the unit. 

Transitional housing program – a supportive housing assistance program for homeless 
persons, usually project-based but sometimes Participants live in scattered-site rental units. 
Transitional housing is meant to be a bridge between homelessness and self-sufficiency, and 
is normally limited to six to 24 months of assistance. 

TTP (Total Tenant Payment) – The amount the Participant pays for his or her portion of the 
rent in DMH rental assistance programs 

Very Low Income – Income that does not exceed 50% percent of area median income 

Voucher – A type of rental subsidy 

 
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