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MISSOURI YOUTH TOBACCO ACCESS AND USE

Missouri Youth Tobacco Access and Possession Laws

e No Tobacco Sales to Persons under Age 18: Missouri state law prohibits the selling of tobacco
products to anyone under the age of 18 years. Merchants are also required to post a state law sign
at every tobacco display, including cigarette machines. (RSMO 407.926-407.927)

e State Law Enforcement: The Department of Public Safety, Division of Alcohol and Tobacco Control
has the authority to enforce the state's laws related to the control and sale of tobacco. (RSMO
407.934)

e Vending Machines: As of January 1, 2002, vending machines are required to be located within
employee’s line of sight or be equipped with a locking device. Vending machines located in areas
where patrons must be over the age of 18 or in places not generally accessible to the general public
are exempt from this requirement. (RSMO 407.931)

e Minor Possession: No person under the age of 18 shall purchase, attempt to purchase, or possess
tobacco products unless in the course of employment. Persons under the age of 18 will have their
tobacco products confiscated. (RSMO 407.933)

e Tobacco Registry: The Department of Revenue is required to establish and maintain a listing of
establishments that sell tobacco products in the state. (RSMO 407.934)

e Federal Synar Regulation: Federal Synar regulation, administered by the U.S. Department of Health
and Human Services, requires all states to establish laws that make it unlawful to sell or distribute
tobacco products to any individual under the age of 18 years and to enforce such laws in a manner
that can reasonably be expected to reduce youth access to tobacco products. It also requires states
to annually measure compliance through random, unannounced inspections. All states are
expected to achieve a violation rate of no more than 20 percent. (42 U.S.C. 300x-26 and 45 C.F.R.
96.130)

Missouri Tobacco Merchants Failing Compliance Checks
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Data source: Missouri Annual Synar Report (http://www.dmh.missouri.gov/ada/SYNARReports 000.htm)

Merchant Compliance with Access Laws
In 2008, an estimated 9.6 percent of Missouri merchants, when tested, failed to refuse the sale of
cigarettes to individuals under the age of 18 years. This is lower than the maximum 20 percent allowed
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by federal Synar regulation but higher than the prior year’s measured rate of 5.6 percent. The State has
used a combination of law enforcement and merchant education activities in order to bring down the
non-compliance rate from a high of 40 percent in 1996 (baseline year) to a rate less than 20 percent.

Current Cigarette Use Among High School Students
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Data source: Youth Risk Behavior Survey (http://www.cdc.gov/HealthyYouth/yrbs/index.htm)

Current Status of Youth Tobacco Use

From the most recent survey data, about 54 percent of Missouri high school students surveyed reported
that they had ever tried cigarette smoking and about 25 percent reported use in the past 30 days. These
figures are down considerably from those reported in 1995 when 76 percent reported having ever tried
cigarettes and 40 percent reported current use. The next Missouri Youth Risk Behavior Survey is
scheduled for 2009.

State Initiatives Aimed at Youth Tobacco Access

To address youth access to tobacco, the state uses a combination of enforcement and merchant
education activities throughout the year. Responsible for enforcing the state tobacco laws, the Division
of Alcohol and Tobacco Control (ATC) performed about 270 enforcement checks between October 2007
and June 2008. Of these checks, 95 were issued citations due to non-compliance. Merchant education
activities are conducted by the Division of Alcohol and Drug Abuse (ADA) including distribution of “age
checker” calendars, periodic informational mailings, and compliance tests that do not involve
enforcement. If a merchant is found non-compliant during a compliance test, the clerk receives a
warning card and a follow-up letter is sent to the owner/manager discussing the importance of checking
identification and denying the sale of tobacco products to youth. ADA completed about 3,900
compliance tests between October 2007 and July 2008. Trainings are also offered to merchants. In
March and May 2007, merchant visits were conducted at about 5,750 outlets whereby merchant
education materials and state law signs were distributed.

Missouri Department of Mental Health, Division of Alcohol and Drug Abuse Page A-28




