The Substance Use Prevention and Recovery (SUPR) State Advisory Council serves as an advisory body to the Division of Behavioral Health and the division director on substance abuse policy, prevention and treatment activities in the state of Missouri. The Council is created by Missouri Statute, to be found in Section 631.020, Missouri Revised Statutes.

The SUPR council is comprised of up to twenty-five members appointed by the Director of DBH. Members have professional, research, and/or personal interests in the division’s purpose. At least one-half of the members shall be consumers, and one member shall represent veterans and military affairs. No more than one-fourth of the members shall be vendors or members of boards of directors, employees or officers of vendors, or spouses of any of the above mentioned, if such vendors received more than fifteen hundred dollars ($1,500) per year under contract with the Department of Mental Health. Members of boards of directors of not-for-profit corporations shall not be considered vendors. Each member shall be appointed for an initial term of one, two, or three years to allow for a rotation of one-third of the members each year. Further, each appointed member may be re-appointed to no more than one additional three-year term. Each member serves until a successor has been appointed.

Upon the request of the Director of the Division of Behavioral Health or the Director of the Department of Mental Health, the Council shall review and make recommendations on any matter submitted to it in writing or verbally by either of the directors. If you are interested in becoming a member, please submit the membership application and a current resume Attn: Rosie Anderson-Harper, Department of Mental Health, Division of Behavioral Health, 1706 East Elm Street, Jefferson City, MO 65102.

State Advisory Council Membership

State Advisory Council Bylaws

DBH SAC Recruitment Flyer and Membership Application

Meeting Information

The divisions formerly known as the Division of Alcohol and Drug Abuse and Division of Comprehensive Psychiatric Services have integrated into one Division of Behavioral Health. The Division Director has made the decision to maintain two separate State Advisory Councils at this time; however the two councils currently meet jointly.

Council Members will be notified prior to the meeting. An RSVP is appreciated.

Meetings will be held at the Department of Mental Health in Conference Room B, Jefferson City, Missouri
10:00 a.m. to 3:00 p.m. unless otherwise noted.

2019 State Advisory Council Meeting Dates

2018 State Advisory Council Meeting Dates

2017 State Advisory Council Meeting Dates

2016 State Advisory Council Meeting Dates

2015 State Advisory Council Meeting Dates

State Advisory Council Agendas

State Advisory Council Minutes

State Advisory Council Meeting Handouts