The State Advisory Council for Comprehensive Psychiatric Services (CPS) was first established in 1977 by a Governor's Executive Order. Similar councils exist in every state and U.S. Territory because of the passage of federal law 99-660 in 1986, continuing through Public Law 101-639 and Public Law 102-321 in 1992. These federal laws require States and Territories to perform mental health planning in order to receive federal Mental Health Block Grant funds. These laws further require that stakeholders, including mental health consumers, family members, and parents of children with serious emotional disturbances, must be involved in these planning efforts through membership in the council. Members are appointed by the Director of the Division of Comprehensive Psychiatric Services.

The council is comprised of 25 members who advise and make recommendations to improve the system of care in mental health. Through public education and advocacy efforts, consumers and family members have become an integral part of defining priorities for the division on issues surrounding housing, employment, recovery-oriented community services, crisis intervention, and children's system of care. The Council membership is required by federal law to have a majority of mental health consumers, including parents of children receiving services and family members. In addition, representation is required from the following state agencies: Social Services, Medicaid, Corrections, Vocational Rehabilitation, Education, Housing and Mental Health. The remainder of the council is made up of private and state-contracted providers, Missouri Protection and Advocacy, and other advocacy groups. The Council currently meets six times per year. The meeting schedule is posted on this website through the link below.

State Advisory Council Brochure

State Advisory Council Membership Application

Additional information for the CPS State Advisory Council

The divisions formerly known as the Division of Alcohol and Drug Abuse and Division of Comprehensive Psychiatric Services have integrated into one Division of Behavioral Health. The Division Director made the decision to maintain two separate State Advisory Councils at this time.