State Operated Psychiatric Hospitals and Facilities

The Division of Behavioral Health (DBH), formerly the Divisions of Alcohol and Drug Abuse and Comprehensive Psychiatric Services, operates eight adult inpatient facilities, one children’s psychiatric hospital, and one children’s residential center. With limited exceptions, state operated facilities provide intermediate or long term stay inpatient hospital treatment for individuals with complex, treatment resistant mental illness and whose illness, treatment and recovery are complicated with legal issues and constraints. Individuals who need acute, short term psychiatric hospitalization are generally referred to and served by their closest community hospital or local community mental health center.

Facility Listing