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Division Guideline #36 

Date:   December 9, 2013 

Title: Transition Ages Reference Guide  

Application:   Support coordinators 
  

This reference guide is a tool for support coordinators and describes target populations, age ranges and 

transition ages for programs that may serve children and youth who also qualify for services from the 

Division of Developmental Disabilities (DD). 

 

MO HealthNet 

 

MO HealthNet is Missouri’s name for the Medicaid Program.   Support coordinators are encouraged to 

assist all individuals eligible for services from the Division of DD to apply for MO HealthNet.   There 

is no age limit for MO HealthNet, but an individual’s age may determine in which MO HealthNet 

program the person is eligible. 

Support coordinators who serve youth who are not eligible for MO HealthNet due to their parents’ 

income or resources should assist the youth and parent or guardian to apply for MO HealthNet at least 

90 days prior to the youth’s 18 birthday.     Please refer to the guideline at this link: 

http://dmh.mo.gov/docs/dd/Guideline32.pdf 

MO HealthNet for Kids 

 This program provides healthcare coverage for children whose family income falls within 

certain guidelines: 

o Under 19 years of age; 

o Lives in Missouri and intends to remain;  

o United States citizen or an eligible qualified non-citizen; 

o Cooperate with Child Support Enforcement (CSE) in the pursuit of medical support; 

and  

o Family income meets the income guidelines. 

 

A summary about MO HealthNet is posted on this website:  

http://dss.mo.gov/mhd/providers/pdf/puzzledterm.pdf 

http://dmh.mo.gov/docs/dd/Guideline32.pdf
http://dss.mo.gov/mhd/providers/pdf/puzzledterm.pdf
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o Complete the application on line 

o Download and print the application 

Healthy Children and Youth Program (HCY) 

HCY is Missouri’s name for the Early Periodic Screening, Diagnosis and Treatment Program 

(EPSDT), mandated by federal Medicaid law in 1989. 

 The EPSDT program is known as HCY in Missouri; 

 Serves children and youth eligible for MO HealthNet birth to age 21; 

 HCY ensures children have regular health screens and have access to all medically necessary 

services required to treat their medical condition or disability.   

 Missouri HCY programs include: 

o Primary, preventive and acute care 

o Dental care 

o Orthodontics (when medically necessary) 

o Behavioral health services 

o Case management 

o Durable medical equipment and supplies 

o Personal care 

o Private duty nursing 

o Speech, occupational, and physical therapy  

o Environmental assessments for lead  

 

Division of DD 

Eligibility for services from the Division of DD may be determined at any age.  State regulations 

require redetermination at ages 5, 18 and 22.  Waiver level of care must be determined annually for all 

ages.  This applies to people who have a waiver slot assigned to them or for someone on a waiting list, 

this is not for everyone. 

DD eligibility at a glance: 

 A DD intake worker coordinates the application; screening/assessment process and eligibility 

determination; or in some areas, County Boards coordinate the intake application; 

 A developmental disability can be defined as intellectual disability, cerebral palsy, epilepsy, 

head injury, autism, or a learning disability related to a brain dysfunction, or any other mental 

or physical impairment which occurs before the age of 22; 

 At least 2 substantial functional limitations in the following areas: 

o Self-care 

o Language development - receptive  

o and expressive 

o Learning  

o Self-direction 

o Independent living/Economic self-sufficiency 

o Mobility 

http://dss.mo.gov/mhk/accept.htm
http://dss.mo.gov/mhk/pdf/886-4367_0108.pdf
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o Redeterminations for DD services for individuals served are at 5, 18 and 22 years of 

age; 

 There are separate eligibility requirements for DD waiver services.  

 Link to DD intake: http://dmh.mo.go/Intake.htm 

Individuals with Disabilities Education Act (IDEA) Part C 

 Part C of  IDEA, known as First Steps in Missouri, is the early intervention program for infants 

and toddlers, birth to age 3, who have delayed development or diagnosed conditions that are 

associated with developmental disabilities; 

 First Steps makes sure families have the necessary supports, services, and resources; 

 To make a referral call 1-866-583-2392 to be connected to a point of entry in your area. 

 https://www.mofirststeps.com/ 

 

Individuals with Disabilities Education Transition Planning  

Youth who receive special education services under the IDEA 2004, and especially young adults of 

transition age, should be involved in planning for life after high school as early as possible and no later 

than age 16.  

 The Individual Education Plan (IEP) includes a “transition plan” when the individual turns 16 

and is updated annually; however, it may be decided to begin earlier to meet their needs; 

 The individual should be included in the IEP meetings when any transition planning will be 

discussed; 

 Coordination with other agencies involved for a successful transition.  Other agencies should be 

invited to the IEP meeting, but consent must be obtained to invite the outside agencies; 

 A successful transition may include:  Employment, educational and community based options.  

 Link to Department of Elementary and Secondary Education (DESE) Transition:  

http://dese.mo.gov/se/ep/transition_progs.htm 

 Additional resource for transition:   http://missouritransition.org/moodle/ 

 

Vocational Rehabilitation (VR) 

Section 110 of the Rehabilitation Act of 1973 requires states to provide employment and training 

services that can assist people with disabilities in becoming employed. To be eligible, an individual 

must have a physical or mental impairment that causes problems with working and needs VR services 

to be successfully employed.     

 VR services are to assist an individual to prepare for, secure, retain or regain employment; 

however, the primary role of VR is planning and preparing for when an individual 

graduates or departs school; 

 Eligibility for VR services is determined by the VR counselor on an individual basis; 

 Referrals can be initiated by the local school district, student, family member, or other 

educational or community resource agency/organization;  

 Individuals may receive one or more of the following transition-related services, which 

include but are not limited to: 

o Vocational planning 

http://dmh.mo.go/Intake.htm
https://www.mofirststeps.com/
http://dese.mo.gov/se/ep/transition_progs.htm
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o Career guidance and counseling 

o On-the-job training 

o Assistance with finding a job 

o Independent living services at centers for independent living 

 

 VR and Special Education prepare the transition from school to employment, education, 

specialized training, etc.;   

 The local school district is primarily responsible, but students with disabilities may be eligible for 

VR services to ensure a smooth transition. 

Link to VR:  http://dese.mo.gov/se/ep/vr.htm 

 

Department of Mental Health (DMH), Division of Behavioral Health 
 

People eligible for services from the Division of DD may also be eligible for services through the 

DMH behavioral health system.    Programs serve children and youth with severe emotional 

disturbance, adults with serious mental illness, and individuals of all ages who abuse substances. 

 

Transition from Children’s to adult Mental Health System   

 The children’s mental health currently serves children and young adults through the age of 25, 

if the treatment team determines that, developmentally, a consumer needs both children and 

adult services during the transition period.  Children in state custody may continue to receive 

services through the children’s mental health system until released from the court, usually by 

age 21.   Interagency discussions are underway to increase the age for consistency with other 

state programs. 

Department of Health and Senior Services (DHSS) 

 

People eligible for services from the Division of DD may also be eligible for services through the 

DHSS.     

 Division of Senior and Disability Services (DSDS):    Serves individuals with disabilities ages 

18 through 64 and seniors age 65 and older. 

 DSDS determines eligibility for Missouri’s state plan personal care program, and administers 3 

Home and Community Based (HCB) waivers (Elderly and Disabled, Adult Day Care and 

Independent Living) 

 Bureau of Special Health Care Needs (BSHCN):    Services infants, toddlers, children and 

youth through ages 21.   BSHCN determines eligibility and prior authorizes private duty 

nursing and personal care for MO HealthNet eligible from birth through age 20, and 

administers the Medically Complex waiver for individuals age 21 and over aging out of HCY 

services. 

 

This guideline will be reviewed and updated, if needed, within one year of issuance. 

http://dese.mo.gov/se/ep/vr.htm

