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DISCHARGE 

 

DISCHARGE PHILOSOPHY 

Discharge is the term used when a person is removed or disenrolled from all Division of DD 

services in the state of Missouri.  This is not to be confused with being discharged from a 

particular agency or from a support coordinator’s (formally known as service coordinator) case 

load. When an individual leaves a program or geographic area, but will still be utilizing Division 

services in another place or with another agency, that person should be transferred, not 

discharged. All services of the Regional Office are offered to individuals on a voluntary basis.  

Unless limited by law, any individual may terminate his or her relationship with the Regional 

Office at any time, either verbally or in writing.  Individuals who seek to discontinue their 

enrollment are encouraged to ask their Support Coordinator to assist them in identifying other 

agencies or services which they would find suitable or appropriate.  

 

DISCHARGE CIRCUMSTANCES 

A person may be discharged from services when: 

► Requested by the individual or person legally responsible, unless it is determined that the 

individual is dangerous to himself or others. 

► Ineligibility is established through re-determination of eligiblity. 

► The person cannot be contacted or chooses not to participate in the development of an 

individual service plan. .  

► The person is no longer a legal resident of the state of Missouri. 

► The person dies. 

 

DISCHARGE PROCEDURES 
1. If discharge is requested by the individual or person legally responsible, the support 

coordinator will: 

► Send written notification to the family of the intent to discharge including a copy of 

the brochure “Your Right to Appeal.”  

► Assist them in identifying other agencies or services which they would find suitable 

or appropriate.  

► Provide 30 day follow up after discharge to ensure new program/agency services are 

adequate to meet the individual’s needs. 

► Complete the Discharge/Inactivation Summary within 30 days and forward it to their 

supervisor/designated staff for review and placement in the individual record. 

► Update the individual’s status with medical records according to the internal policy of 

the local Regional Office. 

► Notify the business office of discharge for appropriate financial documentation. 

 

2. If ineligibility is determined by re-evaluation, the support coordinator will: 
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► Notify the individual/legal guardian 60 days prior to the re-determination that 

eligibility for services is being reviewed and that the individual/guardian may provide 

any information that they may wish to have reviewed during this process. 

► If ineligibility is established during a re-determination, written notification is sent to 

the individual/family of the intent to discharge including a copy of the brochure 

“Your Right to Appeal.”  

► Assist them in identifying other agencies or services which they would find suitable 

or appropriate.  

► Provide 60 day follow up after discharge to ensure new program/agency services are 

adequate to meet the individual’s needs. 

► Complete the Discharge/Inactivation Summary within 30 days and forward it to their 

supervisor/designated staff for review and placement in the individual record. 

► Update the individual status with medical records according to the internal policy of 

the local Regional Office. 

► Notify the business office of discharge for appropriate financial documentation. 

 

3. If discharge occurs because the person cannot be contacted or chooses not to participate in the 

development of an Individual Service Plan the support coordinator will:  

► When the support coordinator is unable to make contact or otherwise locate an 

individual or family within a 60 day time period, the person may be discharged by 

sending the individual or family a letter stating that due to no contact the person will 

be discharged from services.  The letter also needs to include that the person should 

feel free to apply for services again should they require assistance.  The letter may be 

sent by regular mail.  

► Complete the Discharge/Inactivation Summary within 30 days and forward it to the 

supervisor/designated staff for review and placement in the individual record. 

► Update the individual’s status with medical records according to the internal policy of 

the local Regional Office. 

► Notify the business office of discharge for appropriate financial documentation. 

 

4. If discharge occurs due to the individual’s move outside of the state of Missouri, the support 

coordinator will: 

► Send written notification to the family of the intent to discharge including a copy of 

the brochure “Your Right to Appeal.”  

► Assist them in identifying other agencies or services which they would find suitable 

or appropriate in the new state. (State Developmental Disabilities Agency sites  

http://www.mo.gov/disability/ ) 

► Complete the Discharge/Inactivation Summary within 30 days and forward it to their 

supervisor/designated staff for review and placement in the individual record. 

► Update the individual’s status with medical records according to the internal policy of 

the local Regional Office. 

► Notify the business office of discharge for appropriate financial documentation. 

 

http://www.mo.gov/disability/
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5. If the person dies, please follow the death of an individual procedure in Chapter J – Quality 

Assurance. 

 


