YOUTH AND TOBACCO IN MISSOURI

Youth Access Laws
No Tobacco Sales to Persons under Age 18: Missouri state law prohibits the sdlling of tobacco
products to anyone under the age of 18 years. Merchants are also required to post a state law sign at
every tobacco display, including cigarette machines. (RSMO 407.926-407.927)
State Law Enforcement: The Department of Public Safety—Division of Liquor Control has the
authority to enforce the state's laws related to the control and sale of tobacco. (RSVIO 407.934)
Vending Machines: As of January 1, 2002, vending machines are required to be located within em-
ployee's line of sight or be equipped with a locking device. Vending machines located in areas where
patrons must be over the age of 18 or in places not generally accessible to the general public are ex-
empt from this requirement. (RSMO 407.931)
Minor Possession: No person under the age of 18 shall purchase, attempt to purchase, or possess
tobacco products unless in the course of employment. Persons under the age of 18 will have their to-
bacco products confiscated. (RSVIO 407.933)
Tobacco Registry: The Department of Revenue is required to establish and maintain a listing of
establishments that sdll tobacco products in the state. (RSMO 407.934)
Federal Regulation: Federal Synar regulation, administered by the U.S. Department of Health and
Human Services, requires all states to establish laws that make it unlawful to sdl or distribute tobacco
products to any individual under the age of 18 years and to enforce such laws in a manner that can rea-
sonably be expected to reduce youth access to tobacco products. It also requires states to annually
measure compliance through random, unannounced inspections. All states are expected to achieve a
violation rate of no more than 20 percent. (42 U.S.C. 300x-26 and 45 C.F.R. 96.130)

Current Status

Youth Lifetime Use: In 2003, nearly 67 percent of Missouri high school students surveyed reported
having tried cigarette smoking — down from the 76.7 percent reporting lifetime use in 2001 but still
higher than the national average of 53.7 percent [2, 9].

Youth Current Use: In 2003, 21.4 percent of Missouri high school seniors reported current use of
cigarettes, down significantly from 35.4 percent in 2001. While during most of the 1990’s Missouri’s
rate of high school senior smokers was higher than the corresponding national average, the most recent
rate reported for the state falls below the national average of 24.4 percent.
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Merchant Compliance: In 2003, an estimated 8.9 percent of Missouri merchants unlawfully sold
cigarettes and smokeless tobacco to individuals under the age of 18 years—down somewhat from the
previous year's rate of 11.0 percent. For the past four years, the State has realized a non-compliance
rate below the long-term Synar target rate of 20%. The State has used a combination of law enforce-
ment and merchant education activities in order to bring down the non-compliance rate from a high of
40 percent (baseline year) to arate less than the 20 percent target rate [25].
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State Initiatives Aimed at Youth Tobacco Access

Law Enforcement Surveillance: The Division of Liquor Control has 33 field agents to enforce both
alcohol and tobacco laws. Citizen or local law enforcement complaints initiate surveillance investiga-
tions. During FY2003, 25 arrests and one guilty disposition were made for violations of Sale of To-
bacco to Minors (407.931.3); 370 arrests and 23 guilty dispositions were made for violations of
Possession or Attempt to Purchase Tobacco by Minors (407.933.1); and two arrests but zero guilty
dispositions were made for violations of Misrepresentation of Age to Purchase Tobacco by Minors
(407.933.2). The Division of Liquor Control also provides server training covering alcohol and to-
bacco laws to all interested retailers.

Merchant Education Program: During 2003, the Department of Mental Health—Division of Alcohol
and Drug Abuse conducted a comprehensive merchant education program that included outlet educa-
tional visits, compliance checks, and feedback to clerks and owners/managers [25].

Educational Visits: Visits to tobacco outlets were made to provide merchants with information re-
garding the state's laws on youth access to tobacco products. From April through June 2003, the pre-
vention teams conducted walk-in visits to tobacco retailers in the state.  These retailers generally
received three visits during this time period. Informational brochures, tobacco signs, and calendars
were given to store employees. In total, 23,858 walk-in visits were conducted in which contact was
made with the store owner, manager, and/or other employees. Owner contacts numbered 2,008 and
manager contacts numbered 7,107. Over 6,000 outlets received at least one visit.

Compliance Checks (includes Synar _checks): Compliance checks are conducted in which a
youth age 16 or 17 attempts to purchase a tobacco product. If the mode of purchase is over-the-
counter, the event is considered a successful unconsummated buy if the retail clerk fails to request ID
or the age of the youth prior to requesting payment for the tobacco product and fails to refuse the sale.
If the mode of purchase is vending machine, the event is considered a successful unconsummated buy if
the youth is able to insert a quarter into the vending machine and leave the premises without interven-
tion by store employees whereby they request ID or the age of the youth. During these checks, the
youth inspectors purchase no tobacco products. |If the check results in a successful (unconsummated)
buy, the clerk receives a caution card. The check is followed-up by a caution letter to the
owner/manager generally within two weeks of the check. If the store employee refuses the sale, then
the store employee is given a congratulatory card. These checks are followed up with a congratulatory
letter to the owner/manager of the retail establishment. From August 1, 2002 through July 31, 2003,
there were 4,719 checks (including Synar checks), with 502 (10.64%) resulting in the issuance of cau-
tion cards.
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